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e Line 19b has been added to the resident
return, Form NJ-1040, for reporting the ex-
cludable portion of any distribution from a
pension, annuity, or IRA to which a taxpayer
made contributions.

o Taxpayers with business losses may be eli-
gible for an income adjustment. See pages 13
and 22.

o Any reference in this bulletin to a spouse also
refers to a spouse that entered into a valid
same-sex marriage in another state or foreign
nation and a partner in a civil union (CU) rec-
ognized under New Jersey law.

This document is designed to provide guidance
to taxpayers and is accurate as of the date issued.
Subsequent changes in tax law or its interpreta-
tion may affect the accuracy of this publication.
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Introduction

Part-year residents are subject to tax on income
received from all sources (both inside and out-
side New Jersey) during the portion of the year
that they were residents of the State. Likewise,
part-year nonresidents are subject to tax on any
income received from New Jersey sources while
they were nonresidents. This bulletin explains:

e Who is a part-year resident/part-year non-
resident for New Jersey income tax purposes,
as well as who is a full-year resident or
nonresident;

e What your New Jersey income tax respon-
sibilities are as a part-year resident/part-year
nonresident;

e How to complete a part-year New Jersey
income tax return; and

e When a part-year resident must file both resi-
dent and nonresident income tax returns with
New Jersey in the same tax year.

NOTE: This bulletin covers filing requirements
for individual residents and nonresidents
only. The examples illustrate how to pre-
pare part-year returns for tax year 2013.
Thus, the forms and amounts (tax rates,
income exclusions, etc.) shown in the
text and examples may not reflect cur-
rent information for other tax years.

For information on estates and trusts, see Tax
Topic Bulletin GIT-12, Estates and Trusts, and

the instructions for the New Jersey Gross Income
Tax Fiduciary Return (Form NJ-1041).
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Definitions

For New Jersey income tax purposes, your
residency status depends on where you were
domiciled and where you maintained a perma-
nent place of abode during the tax year. In
general, when you change your domicile to

(or from) this State during the year, you are a
resident of New Jersey for part of the year (part-
year resident) and a nonresident of New Jersey
for part of the year (part-year nonresident).
Your move is generally considered a change of
residency status (resident to nonresident or vice
versa) if at the time you moved, you intended
to permanently leave one home and establish

a new, fixed, and permanent home somewhere
else.

Full-Year Resident
You were a full-year New Jersey resident if:

e New Jersey was your domicile for the entire
year, and you did not satisfy all three condi-
tions for nonresident status (below); or

e New Jersey was not your domicile, but you
maintained a permanent place of abode in
New Jersey for the entire year and you spent
more than 183 days in New Jersey. (Members
of the U.S. Armed Forces stationed in New
Jersey and their spouses/CU partners who are
not domiciled in New Jersey are not residents
under this definition.)

Full-Year Nonresident
You were a full-year New Jersey nonresident if:

e New Jersey was not your domicile, and you
spent 183 days or less here; or

e New Jersey was not your domicile, you spent
more than 183 days here, but you did not
maintain a permanent home here; or

e New Jersey was your domicile and you met
all three of the following conditions for the
entire year:

1. You did not maintain a permanent place
of abode in New Jersey; and

2. You did maintain a permanent place of
abode outside of New Jersey; and

3. You did not spend more than 30 days in
New Jersey.

Part-Year Resident/Part-Year Nonresident

If, as a result of a change of your domicile, you
met the definition of New Jersey resident or
nonresident for only part of the year, you are a
resident for part of the year (part-year resident)
and a nonresident for the remainder of that year
(part-year nonresident).

Domicile is any place you regard as your per-
manent home—the place to which you intend to
return after a period of absence (e.g., vacation
abroad, business assignment, educational leave,
etc.). You have only one domicile, although you
may have more than one place to live. Once
established, your domicile continues until you
move to a new location with the intent to estab-
lish a fixed and permanent home there. Moving
to a new location, even for a long time, does not
change your domicile if you intend to remain
only for a limited time.

Domicile is based on many factors, including
your intent, where you register to vote, maintain
a driver’s license and vehicle registration, have
family ties, etc. You can have only one domicile
at a time. The burden of proof is upon the per-
son asserting a change of domicile to show that
the necessary intention existed to abandon his or
her domicile in one location and to establish a
fixed and permanent home in another.
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Permanent place of abode is a residence (a
building or structure where a person can live)
that you maintain permanently as your house-
hold, whether you own it or not. It usually
includes a residence your spouse/civil union
partner owns or leases.

A residence, whether inside or outside of New
Jersey, is not permanent if you maintain it only
during a temporary or limited period of time, no
matter how long, for the accomplishment of a
particular purpose (e.g., temporary job assign-
ment). Likewise, a home used only for vacations
1s not a permanent place of abode.

If New Jersey is your domicile, you will be
considered a resident for New Jersey tax pur-
poses unless you meet all three conditions for
nonresident status. See Full-Year Nonresident
on page 2. Likewise, if New Jersey is not your
domicile, you will be considered a New Jersey
resident only if you maintain a permanent place
of abode in New Jersey and spend more than
183 days here.

Filing Requirements

Your filing status and gross income determine
whether you have to file a New Jersey income
tax return. Age is not a factor in determining
whether a person must file. Even minors (in-
cluding students) and senior citizens must file if
they meet the income filing requirements.

To find out whether or not you are required to
file a New Jersey income tax return, use the
“Who Must File a New Jersey Income Tax Re-
turn” chart in either the resident (Form NJ-1040)
or nonresident (Form NJ-1040NR) return
booklet.

Time Period Covered by Return
(Full-Year or Part-Year)

The period covered by your return will be
twelve months (full-year return) or less

than twelve months (part-year return).

Most taxpayers use a calendar year (Janu-

ary 1-December 31) to record their income.
Fiscal year filers use a different period (e.g.,
July—June). This bulletin assumes that you are a
calendar year filer.

New Jersey has two personal income tax returns
for individuals: Form NJ-1040 for residents and
Form NJ-1040NR for nonresidents. New Jersey
does not have separate tax returns for part-year
residents or part-year nonresidents. You must
use either Form NJ-1040 or Form NJ-1040NR
(or both) depending on your residency status
during the year, and show the income you re-
ceived during the period of time covered by the
return. Part-year residents use the same form as
full-year residents (Form NJ-1040) and indicate
the period of their New Jersey residency above
Line 1. The return should show only the income
received during that period. Likewise, part-year
nonresidents use the same form as full-year
nonresidents (Form NJ-1040NR), and indicate
above Line 1 the period of time they were New
Jersey residents.

If you file a part-year nonresident return, you
will also file a part-year resident return, unless
you had no income during the part of the year
you were a resident. You must allocate your
income between the resident and nonresident
returns as appropriate. That is, report the in-
come you received during the time you were a
resident on your part-year resident return, and
report the income you received during the part
of the year you were a nonresident on your part-
year nonresident return.
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Examples

1.

Mary Smith was a New Jersey resident from
January 1 through December 31. She files

a “full-year” resident return which shows
income received during the twelve-month
period January—December.

Harry and Louise Evans were New Jersey
residents from May 1 to December 31. They
must file a “part-year” resident return and
report the income they received during their
period of residency (May—December).

NOTE: If they had income from New Jer-
sey sources between January 1 and
April 30, the period when their
residency status was “nonresident,”
they must file a New Jersey part-year
nonresident return too. See Part-Year
Nonresidents on page 6.

Jane Henderson was a full-year resident of
New York who worked in New Jersey from
July through November. She files a “full-
year” nonresident return because she was

a nonresident for the entire year. Her New
Jersey nonresident return will show the
income she received during the period she
was a nonresident i.e., January—December.

Adam Crenshaw worked in New Jersey for
the entire year. For three months of the year
he was a New Jersey resident and for the re-
maining nine months, a Delaware resident.
Adam must file two New Jersey income

tax returns: (1) a “part-year” resident return
which shows the income he received during
the three months he was a New Jersey resi-
dent and (2) a “part-year” nonresident return
which shows his income during the period
he was a nonresident of New Jersey.

Residency Status and Income

Your residency status and income determine
whether you are required to file a New Jersey
income tax return.

Filing Thresholds

Gross Income
From All Sources

Filing Status for the Entire Year
Single
Married/CU Partner Filing $10,000

Separate Return

Married/CU Couple Filing
Joint Return

Head of Household $20,000

Qualifying Widow(er)/
Surviving CU Partner

Full-Year Residents—

o You must file a full-year New Jersey resident
income tax return if you were a New Jersey
resident for the entire year and your gross
income for the entire year was more than the
filing threshold (see chart above).

e You are not required to file a full-year New
Jersey resident income tax return if you were
a New Jersey resident for the entire year and
your gross income for the entire year was not
more than the filing threshold.

NOTE: If you are a full-year resident and your
income is below the amount at which
you would be required to file a tax re-
turn, you must file a New Jersey resident
return to claim a refund of income tax
withheld or estimated payments made.
You must also file a return to receive a
New Jersey earned income tax credit
even if you have no tax liability to New
Jersey.
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Part-Year Residents—

o You must file a part-year New Jersey resident
income tax return if you were a New Jersey
resident for part of the year and your gross
income from all sources for the entire year
was more than the filing threshold (see chart
on page 4) and you received any income
(whether from New Jersey sources or not)
during the part of the year you were a New
Jersey resident.

You are subject to tax on the income shown
on your part-year resident return if your gross
income for the entire year was more than the
filing threshold, even if the income you re-
ported on your part-year return for the period
of New Jersey residency was not more than
the filing threshold.

No New Jersey income tax is due if the in-
come you received during the entire year was
not more than the filing threshold. If your
gross income was not more than the filing
threshold, enclose a copy of your Federal
income tax return when you file your part-
year New Jersey return. If you did not file a
Federal return, enclose a statement with your
New Jersey return certifying that your income
for the entire year was not more than the fil-
ing threshold.

NOTE: When you are a part-year New Jersey
resident, you are a nonresident for the
remainder of that year. See the filing
requirements for Part-Year Nonresidents
on page 6.

Examples

1. During 2013, Jane Hanson, single, was a
resident of California for ten months and a
New Jersey resident for two months. Her

income as a California resident totaled
$23,000, and the income she received during
the two months she was a New Jersey resi-
dent was $2,900. Jane is subject to tax on
the $2,900 she received as a part-year New
Jersey resident because her income for the
entire year was more than the $10,000 filing
threshold.

Martha Gibson, single, was a New Jersey
resident from January through September
2013, when she moved to Florida and be-
came a resident there. Her income as a New
Jersey resident totaled $5,800 and her in-
come while a Florida resident was $600.
Martha is not required to file a New Jersey
part-year resident return, and she owes no
New Jersey income tax on the $5,800 she
received as a part-year New Jersey resident
because her income for the entire year was
not more than the $10,000 filing threshold.
However, Martha must file a return to claim
any refund of New Jersey income tax that
was either withheld or remitted through es-
timated payments. When she files her 2013
New Jersey return, Martha must enclose a
copy of her Federal income tax return or, if
no Federal return is filed, a statement certi-
fying that her income for the year was not
more than $10,000.

Full-Year Nonresidents—
o You must file a full-year New Jersey nonresi-

dent income tax return if you were not a New
Jersey resident for any part of the year and
your gross income for the entire year from all
sources (both inside and outside New Jersey)
was more than the filing threshold (see chart
on page 4) and you received any amount of

Rev. 12/13



Bulletin GIT-6

income from New Jersey sources during the
year.

e You are not required to file a full-year non-
resident return if you were a nonresident for
the entire year and your gross income from all
sources (both inside and outside New Jersey)
was not more than the filing threshold.

NOTE: If you are a full-year nonresident and
your income is below the amount at
which you would be required to file a tax
return, you must file Form NJ-1040NR
to claim a refund of income tax withheld
or estimated payments made.

Part-Year Nonresidents—

If you were a New Jersey resident for part of the
year, you were a nonresident for the remainder
of that year. File part-year resident and/or non-
resident returns as follows:

o You must file both a part-year resident return
and a part-year nonresident return if your
gross income from all sources for the entire
year was more than the filing threshold (see
chart on page 4) and you received income
(whether from New Jersey sources or not)
during the part of the year you were a resident
and you received any amount of income from
New Jersey sources during the part of the
year you were a nonresident.

File only a part-year resident return if you
received income (whether from New Jersey
sources or not) during the part of the year you
were a resident, but you had no income from
New Jersey sources during the part of the
year you were a nonresident. See Part-Year
Residents on page 5.

o You must file only a part-year nonresident
income tax return if your gross income from
all sources for the entire year was more than
the filing threshold and you had income from
New Jersey sources during the part of the
year you were a nonresident and you had no
income during the part of the year you were a
resident.

No New Jersey income tax is due if the in-
come you received from all sources during
the entire year was not more than the filing
threshold. If your gross income was not more
than the filing threshold and you are filing a
return to claim a refund of income tax with-
held or estimated payments made, or you are
eligible for a New Jersey earned income tax
credit or other credit, enclose a copy of your
Federal income tax return when you file your
part-year New Jersey return. If you did not
file a Federal return, enclose a statement with
your New Jersey return certifying that your
income for the entire year was not more than
the filing threshold.

o You need not file either a resident or a non-
resident return if you received no income
during the part of the year you were a resi-
dent, and no income from New Jersey
sources during the part of the year you were a
nonresident.

Filing Status Considerations
Spouse/Civil Union Partner With

Different Residency Status

In general, you must use the same filing status
on your New Jersey return as you do for Federal
income tax purposes. If you do not file a Federal
return, but you are filing a New Jersey return,
use the same filing status that you would have
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used if you had filed a Federal return, unless you
are a partner in a civil union. For more informa-
tion see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-4, Filing Status.

If a married couple files a joint Federal income
tax return, they must also file a joint New Jersey
income tax return. If spouses file separate Fed-
eral returns, separate State returns must also be
filed. However, if you are a civil union couple,
your filing status for New Jersey may not match
your Federal filing status for the year.

o One spouse/civil union partner New Jersey
resident, other spouse/civil union partner
nonresident for entire year. If during the
entire taxable year one spouse/civil union
partner was a resident and the other a non-
resident, separate New Jersey returns may be
filed (the resident files a resident return and
the nonresident files a nonresident return),
even if the couple files a joint Federal return.
They compute income and exemptions as if
Federal married, filing separate returns had
been filed. The spouses/civil union partners
have the option of filing a joint return as resi-
dents, in which case their joint income (from
both inside and outside New Jersey) would be
taxed as if both were residents.

o Married/civil union couples, both nonresi-
dents, only one has income from New Jersey
sources. If both spouses/civil union partners
were nonresidents of New Jersey during the
entire taxable year and only one earned, re-
ceived, or acquired income from New Jersey
sources, the one who had income from New
Jersey sources may file a separate New Jer-
sey return, even if a joint Federal return was
filed. The one with income from New Jersey
sources computes income and exemptions as

if a Federal married, filing separate return had
been filed. The married/civil union couple has
the option of filing a joint return, in which
case, their joint income must be shown on the
nonresident return. For more information on
completing the nonresident return, see
instructions for Form NJ-1040NR.

Remember: A nonresident return must be filed
if you received any amount of income from New
Jersey sources as a nonresident, and your in-
come from all sources (both inside and outside
New Jersey) for the entire year was more than
the filing threshold: $20,000 ($10,000 if filing
status is single or married/CU partner, filing
separate return). See chart on page 4.

How Residents and

Nonresidents Are Taxed
Residents. New Jersey residents are subject to
tax on their income from all sources, whether
the income is from inside or outside of New
Jersey. As a part-year New Jersey resident you
must report on your resident return all the in-
come you received during the period of time
you were a New Jersey resident, whether in the
form of money, goods, property, benefits, or ser-
vices, unless specifically excluded by law. Mar-
ried/civil union couples filing jointly must report
the income of both spouses/civil union partners.

The following are some examples of income
you must report if earned or received while you
were a resident of New Jersey: wages, fees, or
commissions earned in New Jersey or elsewhere
(including a foreign country); interest received
on a bank account whether located in or out of
New Jersey; gain from the sale of property both
in and out of New Jersey; net gambling win-
nings, including New Jersey lottery winnings
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from prize amounts exceeding $10,000; net
profits from business, regardless of where the
business is located; etc.

Remember: When completing your part-year
resident return, report only the income you
received during the time period covered by your
resident return.

Part-year residents must prorate all exemptions,
deductions, and credits, as well as the pension
and other retirement income exclusions, to re-
flect the period covered by their return. For
example, a full-year New Jersey resident is en-
titled to a $1,000 personal exemption; whereas a
resident for six months is entitled to a personal
exemption of only $500. See Completing a Part-
Year Resident Return on page 9.

For more information on completing the resi-
dent return, see instructions for Form NJ-1040.

Nonresidents. For nonresidents, New Jersey in-
come tax liability is based on the percentage of
their total income that comes from New Jersey.

The income section of the New Jersey nonresi-
dent return has two columns—Column A, in-
come from everywhere and Column B, income
from New Jersey sources. In the first column,
report your income from all sources (both inside
and outside New Jersey) as if you were a resi-
dent, and in the second column, list only income
that was derived from New Jersey sources.
Pennsylvania residents see page 20.

In accordance with Federal legislation (Service-
members Civil Relief Act, P.L.. No. 108-189)
nonresident servicepersons are not required to
include their military pay in either their “income
from everywhere” (Column A) or “income from

New Jersey Sources” (Column B) on the New
Jersey nonresident income tax return.

In addition, under the Federal Military Spouses
Residency Relief Act (P.L. 111-97) a military
service member’s nonmilitary spouse/civil
union partner who meets certain requirements
is allowed to keep a tax domicile while moving
from state to state. Under the Act, a qualified
nonmilitary spouse/civil union partner is con-
sidered a nonresident and is nof subject to New
Jersey gross income tax on income (wages)
earned from services performed in New Jersey.
A nonresident civilian spouse/civil union partner
1s, however, subject to tax on all other types of
income earned from New Jersey sources.

For more information, see Tax Topic Bulletin
GIT-7, Military Personnel.

Remember: When completing your part-year
nonresident return, report in each column only
the income you received during the time period
covered by your nonresident return.

As a nonresident, your tax is computed on your
income from all sources as if you were a New
Jersey resident, and then prorated according to
the ratio that your New Jersey income bears to
your income from both inside and outside New
Jersey. In other words, your final New Jersey
income tax liability is based on the percentage
of your income that comes from New Jersey.

For more information on completing the non-
resident return, see instructions for Form
NJ-1040NR.
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COMPLETING A PART-YEAR RESIDENT RETURN

Important Points:
¢ Enter dates of your New Jersey residency above Line 1.
e Report income, withholdings, and payments for period of New Jersey residency only.
e Prorate exemptions, deductions, exclusions, and credits based on residency period.
¢ If you also complete a part-year nonresident return, allocate your income, withholdings, and pay-
ments between the two returns as appropriate.
If you were a New Jersey resident for
NJ RESIDENCY ONLY part of the taxable year, give the MM DID / Y'Y MM / DD / YIY
STATUS period of New Jersey residency: From To
1. NJ Residency Status. Show the beginning counts as a month of residence. For exam-
and ending dates of your residency in New ple, if you were a New Jersey resident from
Jersey during the year. If you were a resident January 27, 2013, to July 21, 2013, you were
for 15 days or more of a month, that month a resident for six months.
14. Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation (Enclose W-2) 14
Be sure to use State wages from Box 16 of your W-2(s). See instructions................. 2 )
15a. Taxable interest income (See instructions) 15a
(Enclose Federal Schedule B if over $71,500) ...........cooeieiieieiieneieeie e seseseerenes y ’
15b. Tax-exempt interest income (See instructions) 15b
(Enclose Schedule) DO NOT include on Line 15a .............. ’ ’
16, DIVIAENAS ... bbb s 16 s ,
17. Net profits from business (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part |, Line 4) 17
(Enclose copy of Federal Schedule C, Form 1040)..........ccccoieiiniiieiinesieseeeeee e y
18. Net gains or income from disposition of property (Schedule B, Line 4)....................... 18 ’ y
19a. Pensions, Annuities, and IRA withdrawals (See instructions)...............cccccevviiniennene. 19a , ,
19b. Excludable Pensions, Annuities, and IRA withdrawals ........ 19b , ,
20. Distributive Share of Partnership Income (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part Il, Line 4) 20
(See instructions) (Enclose Schedule NJK-1 or Federal Schedule K-1)...........ccccc..... y ,
21. Net pro rata share of S Corporation Income (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part Ill, Line 4) 21
(See instructions) (Enclose Schedule NJ-K-1 or Federal Schedule K-1) ............c....... ’ ’
22. Net gains or income from rents, royalties, patents & copyrights 22
(Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part IV, LIN€ 4)........cooiiiieie et ) )
23. Net Gambling Winnings (See iNStructions) .............cccoooiiiiiiicii e 23 ) y
24. Alimony and separate maintenance payments received ..............ccocceiiiiieiinicccenne 24 ,
b
25. Other (Enclose Schedule) (See iNStruCtions).............ccceeviiiiiciiiiecie e 25
b
2. Income. Complete Lines 14-25. Enter the of income during your period of residency in
total amount you received in each category New Jersey (dates shown above Line 1).
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26. Total Income (Add Lines 14, 15a, 16, 17, 18, 19a, and 20 through 25)............cccceee..

26

27a. Pension Exclusion (See iNStruCtioNS) .........c.ooiiiiiiiiiiiiierie e

27a

27b. Other Retirement Income Exclusion (See Worksheet and instructions)......................

27b

27c. Total Exclusion Amount (Add Line 27a and Line 27D) .........ccceveniiiiiiniiiencieeee

28. New Jersey Gross Income (Subtract Line 27c¢ from Line 26).........ccccocvvveviiinccnncns
See instructions.

27c

28

3. Pension and Other Retirement Income
Exclusion.
(a) Pension Exclusion (Line 27a). The pen-
sion exclusion is only available to taxpayers
who had total income for the entire year of
$100,000 or less before subtracting any pen-
sion exclusion. If you were a New Jersey
resident for only part of the taxable year, you
must use your fotal income for the entire
year to determine whether or not you qualify
for the pension exclusion. If you qualify,
prorate the pension exclusion amount by the
number of months you were a New Jersey
resident by using the formula below. For this
calculation 15 days or more is a month. Use
the prorated pension exclusion amount when
completing Line 27a.

NOTE: When you and your spouse/civil
union partner file a joint return and
only one of you is 62 or older or dis-
abled, you may claim the full amount
of the prorated exclusion. However,
only the income of the one who is 62
or older or disabled may be excluded.

(b) Other Retirement Income Exclusion
(Line 27b). If you (and/or your spouse/civil
union partner if filing jointly) were 62 or
older on the last day of the tax year, you may
qualify to exclude other income on Line 27b.
There are two parts to the total exclusion:
Part I, the unclaimed portion of your prorated
pension exclusion, and Part II, a special ex-
clusion for taxpayers who are unable to re-
ceive Social Security or Railroad Retirement

PRORATING THE PENSION EXCLUSION:

Total Pension Exclusion Amount x Months of NJ Residence

= Prorated Pension Exclusion Amount

12

Example

A 65-year-old, single taxpayer who was a New
Jersey resident for 4 months of the 2013 tax year
prorates the pension exclusion amount like this:

$15,000 x % = $5,000

10
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benefits. Do not complete Worksheet D in
the NJ-1040 instruction booklet to calculate
the total exclusion amount you are eligible
to claim. Instead, calculate your total exclu-
sion as follows:

Part I. Total the earned income (wages, net
profits from business, partnership income,
and S corporation income) you received for
the entire year. If your earned income for the
entire year was $3,000 or less and you did
not use your entire prorated pension exclu-
sion at Line 27a, you may be able to use the
unclaimed pension exclusion at Line 27b
provided total income for the entire year be-
fore subtracting any pension exclusion was
$100,000 or less.

Part II. If you are unable to receive Social
Security or Railroad Retirement benefits, but
would have been eligible for benefits had
you fully participated in either program, you
may also be eligible for an additional exclu-
sion, whether or not you used all of your
prorated pension exclusion on Line 27a.

NOTE: When you and your spouse/civil
union partner file a joint return and
only one of you is 62 or older, you
may claim the full amount of the pro-
rated exclusion. However, only the
income of the one who is 62 or older
may be excluded.

More Information. For more detailed
information on pension, annuity, and IRA
withdrawal income and the New Jersey
income exclusions, see Tax Topic Bulletins
GIT-1, Pensions and Annuities, and GIT-2,
IRA Withdrawals. For information on Roth
IRAs, see Technical Bulletin TB-44, Roth
IRAs. For information on calculating your
partnership and S corporation income, see
Tax Topic Bulletins GIT-9P, /ncome From
Partnerships, and GIT-9S, Income From

S Corporations.

Rev. 12/13
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29. Total Exemption Amount (See instructions to calculate amount)............cccooiiiiiiiiiiiiiiicis 29 ,
(Part-Year Residents see instructions)
30. Medical Expenses (See Worksheet and inStruCtions) ............coviieiriiiieii e 30 y
31. Alimony and Separate Maintenance Payments ............ccoieiiiiiiiiiiie e 31 y
32. Qualified Conservation ContribUtION .............coiiiiiii e s 32 ’
33. Health Enterprise Zone DedUCHION...........cotiiiiiaiieiie ettt sttt ettt e s ane e s b eesneesieen 33 )
34. Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment (Schedule NJ-BUS-2, Line 11) ......cccocoeiieinieiicnniiennen. 34 y
35. Total Exemptions and Deductions (Add Lines 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, ad 34) ...rroovvvvvvvvveeeeeeeeessssseeseees 35 ,
36. Taxable Income (Subtract Line 35 from Line 28) If zero or less, MAKE NO ENTRY. ..... 36 , ,
4. Exemptions. You must prorate the exemp- From Line 12a x $1,000 =

tion allowance amount based on the number
of months you were a New Jersey resident.
For this calculation, 15 days or more is a
month. First determine the full value of your
exemptions as follows:

From Line 12b x $1,500 =
Total Exemption Amount

Once you have calculated your Total Ex-
emption Amount, use the formula below and
then enter the prorated exemption amount on
Line 29.

PRORATING THE EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE:

Total Exemption Amount x Lmgls OfNJl 2Remdence = Prorated Exemption Amount

5. Deductions. (b) Alimony and Separate Maintenance Pay-
(a) Medical Expenses (Line 30). You may ments (Line 31). You may deduct alimony
deduct certain medical expenses for which and separate maintenance payments paid for
you were not reimbursed by insurance or the period of time you were a New Jersey
any other plan, qualified Archer medical resident. Child support payments are not
savings account (MSA) contributions, and deductible.
health insurance costs of the self-employed.
Complete Worksheet E in the resident return (¢) Qualified Conservation Contribution
instruction booklet (Form NJ-1040) to cal- (Line 32). You may deduct the amount of
culate your deduction for medical expenses. any qualified conservation contribution you
Include only those expenses that were in- made during th? period of time you were a
curred and paid during the period of time New Jersey resident.
you were a New Jersey resident.
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Part-Year Residents

(d) Health Enterprise Zone (Line 33). Eli-
gible taxpayers engaged in providing “pri-
mary care” medical and/or dental services

at a qualified practice located in or within
five miles of a designated Health Enterprise
Zone (HEZ) may qualify for a deduction.
For information on eligibility requirements
and how to calculate the HEZ deduction, see
Technical Bulletin TB-56, Health Enterprise
Zones.

(e) Alternative Business Calculation Adjust-
ment (Line 34). If you report net business
loss(es) on Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Business

Income Summary Schedule, you may be
eligible for an income adjustment based on
the business income (losses) incurred for
the period of time you were a New Jersey
resident. Complete Schedule NJ-BUS-2 in
the resident return instruction booklet (Form
NJ-1040) to calculate the amount of your
adjustment.

NOTE: New Jersey does not allow deduc-
tions for adjustments taken on the
Federal return such as employee
business expenses or IRA and Keogh
Plan contributions.

Rev. 12/13
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37a. Total Property Taxes Paid (See instructions)................ 37a
1) 1)
37b. Fillin oval if you were a New Jersey homeowner on October 1, 2013 ............. ()
) . . 37c
37c. Property Tax Deduction (S€€ INSTIUCHONS) ........ccuiitiiiiiie e ’

Worksheet F — Property Tax Deduction/Credit

Review the eligibility requirements before completing Worksheet F. Part-year residents see instructions.

Complete both columns of this worksheet to find out whether the Property Tax Deduction or the Credit is better for you. If you claim a credit for taxes paid
to other jurisdictions, complete only lines 1 and 2 of this worksheet. Then complete Schedule A and Worksheet |.

1. Property Tax. Enter the property taxes you paid in 2013 from Line 37a of Form NJ-1040.
Property tax reimbursement (Senior Freeze) applicants do not enter the amount from Line 37a. See instructions. 1.

2. Property Tax Deduction. Enter the amount from line 1 of this worksheet or $10,000, whichever is less.
(Lesser of line 1 or $5,000 if you and your spouse/CU partner file separate returns but maintain the same
principal residence.) Also enter this amount on line 4, column A below. See instructions. 2.

STOP if you are claiming a credit for taxes paid to other jurisdictions. Complete
only lines 1 and 2. Then complete Schedule A and Worksheet I. See instructions.

Column A Column B
3. Taxable Income (Copy from Line 36 of FOrm NJ-1040) .......ccceiiiiiiineiieiieini st 3. 3.
4. Property Tax Deduction (Copy from line 2 of this worksheet) .... 4 4. -0-
5. Taxable Income After Property Tax Deduction (Subtract line 4 from line 3) ......ccccoeeoiiiiiiiiiincnnnn. 5. 5.
6. Tax you would pay on line 5 amount (From Tax Table/Tax Rate Schedules) .........ccccccocivviineinnns 6. 6.
7. Subtract line 6, column A from line 6, column B and enter the result here 7.
8. Is the line 7 amount $50 or more ($25 if you and your spouse/civil union partner file separate returns but maintain the same principal
residence)?
< Yes. You receive a greater tax benefit by taking the Property Tax Deduction. Make the following entries on Form NJ-1040.
Form NJ-1040 Enter amount from:
Line 37¢c Line 4, column A
Line 38 Line 5, column A
Lines 39 and 40 Line 6, column A
Line 49 Make no entry
< No. You receive a greater tax benefit from the Property Tax Credit. (Part-year residents, see instructions before answering “No.”) Make
the following entries on Form NJ-1040.
Form NJ-1040 Enter amount from:
Line 37c Make no entry
Line 38 Line 5, column B
Lines 39 and 40 Line 6, column B
Line 49 $50 ($25ifyou and your spouse/civil union partner file separate returns but maintain the same
principal residence). Part-year residents, see instructions.
(Keep for your records)
6. Total Property Taxes Paid (Line 37a). paid to the municipality on their principal
Enter the property taxes, or rent constituting residence for 2013 and enter the total on
property taxes (18% of rent), due and paid Line 37a.

on your qualified principal residence dur-

ing your period of residency in New Jersey. Homeowner on October 1, 2013
Homeowners who received a homestead (Line 37b). If you owned and occupied a
benefit as a credit on their August 2013 hor}ie in New Jersey that was your principal
property tax bill must add the amount of residence on October 1, 2013, and property

that credit to the amount of property taxes taxes were paid on that dwelling, fill in the
oval on this line. Do not fill in the oval if, on
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Part-Year Residents

October 1, 2013, you were a tenant or you
were not a homeowner.

Property Tax Deduction/Credit (Line 37¢/
Line 49). A part-year resident may be
eligible to claim a deduction (up to 100%

of property taxes due and paid or up to
$10,000, whichever is less) or refundable
credit (up to $50) for property taxes, or rent
constituting property taxes (18% of rent),
due and paid during their period of residency.

If you do not claim credit for taxes paid to
another jurisdiction, complete Worksheet F
to determine the amount of your property
tax deduction and whether you should

elect to take the property tax deduction on
Line 37¢, Form NJ-1040 or the property tax
credit on Line 49. If you claim credit for
taxes paid to another jurisdiction, first com-
plete lines 1 and 2 of Worksheet F and then
complete Schedule A and Worksheet I to
make this determination. Enter on line 1 of
Worksheet F the amount of property taxes or
18% of rent due and paid during your period
of residency from Line 37a, Form NJ-1040.

Complete the balance of the worksheet ac-
cording to the instructions. The minimum
benefit for a full-year resident is $50 ($25

if you and your spouse/civil union partner
file separate returns but occupy the same
principal residence). You must prorate this
minimum benefit based on the number of
months you were a New Jersey resident. For
this calculation, 15 days or more is a month.
After prorating the minimum benefit, an-
swer the question at line 8 of Worksheet F
based on this prorated amount rather than the
minimum benefit amount. You will then be
able to determine whether you will receive a
greater tax benefit by taking the property tax
deduction or claiming the prorated credit.

More Information. For information on
claiming credit for taxes paid to another ju-
risdiction, see Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-3W,
Credit for Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions
(Wage Income), and GIT-3B, Credit for
Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions (Business/
Nonwage Income). For more detailed infor-
mation on the property tax deduction/credit,
see instructions for Form NJ-1040.

42.

43.

44,

Balance of Tax (Subtract Line 41 from Line 40).............ccoooiviiiiiiiiiiiicee
Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit...........coeeeiiiiiieiiiiieese e

Balance of Tax after Credit (Subtract Line 43 from Line 42)..........ccccccvveveenne

42

43

44

Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit. Enter
the amount of your Sheltered Workshop
Tax Credit from Part IV, line 12 of Form

GIT-317. Allocate the total amount of the
credit between your part-year resident and
part-year nonresident returns if appropriate.

Rev. 12/13
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48. Total New Jersey Income Tax Withheld (From enclosed Forms W-2 and 1099)................. 48 , i

49.  Property Tax Credit (S€€ INStIUCHIONS)...........cevueveruieeieresieeseeeeeeesesesee e 49

50. New Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2012 tax return..........cccccoooeeriinieenieennenn. 50 ’ y

51.  New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit (See inStructions)............ccceecuviieiniiiiienie e 51 ,
Fill in Fill in oval if you had the IRS figure your Federal Earned Income Credit (-
only one  Fill in oval if you are a CU couple claiming the NJ Earned Income Tax Credit (-

52. EXCESS New Jersey UI/WF/SWF Withheld (See instructions) (Enclose Form NJ-2450) ........ 52 ’

53. EXCESS New Jersey Disability Insurance Withheld (See instructions) 53
(ENCIOSE FOrM NUJ-2450) ......oiiuiiiiieie ettt et s b e nne e sabeesaeeebeeesaeebeennneas ’

54. EXCESS New Jersey Family Leave Insurance Withheld (See instructions) 54
(ENCIOSE FOM NU-2450) ......cciiiitiiiieii ittt b ettt ne e snnenn y

55. Total Payments/Credits (Add Lines 48 through 54) ...........oooooooooieeeeeesosesssseeceeeeessessess e 55 , ,

8. Tax Withheld/Property Tax Credit/ (b) Line 49. If you are claiming a property
Estimated Payments. tax credit rather than a property tax deduc-
(a) Line 48. Enter the amount of New Jersey tion, enter the amount of your prorated
income tax withheld from wages you earned credit.
or other payments you received while you . N Fest
were a New Jersey resident. If your employer (¢) Line 50. Enter the amount of estimated
combined wages you earned as a resident payments to New Jersey for the period of
and wages you earned as a nonresident on time you were a resident. If you made esti-
the same W-2, and you earned some of those mated payments both as a resident and as a
wages from New Jersey while a nonresi- nonresident, enter on your part-year resident
dent, include here only tax withheld during r.etu?r} the payment(s) made to meet the ta)'(
the period you were a resident. Allocate the liability for your period of New Jersey resi-
New Jersey income tax withheld between dency. Enter on the part-year nonresident
your part-year resident and part-year non- returp th? payment(s) made to satisfy your
resident returns. If you did not earn any of tax liability during the part of the year you
the wages on the W-2 while a nonresident were a nonresident. Also enter amounts, if

b . . . .

report the total New Jersey tax withheld on any, paid to qualify for an extension of time
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Part-Year Residents

Worksheet H

Earned Income Tax Credit
. Enter the amount of your Federal earned income credit from your 2013 Federal Form 1040 or Form 1040A ...........cooceiiiiicennns 1.
Fill in the first oval below Line 51 if you asked the IRS to calculate your Federal earned income credit.

Civil union couples, see instructions.

. Enter 20% of amount on line 1 here and on Line 51, Form NJ-1040. Part-year residents, see instructions. ....................... 2.

(Keep for your records)

9. New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit

(Line 51). Most residents who are eligible
and file for a Federal earned income credit
can also receive a New Jersey credit in the
amount equal to 20% of the Federal ben-
efit. Complete Worksheet H to calculate the
amount for Line 51, Form NJ-1040. How-
ever, you must prorate your credit based on
the number of months you were a New Jer-
sey resident. For this calculation 15 days or
more is a month.

You must file Form NJ-1040 to receive a
New Jersey earned income tax credit, even if
you are not required to file a return because
your gross income is below the minimum
income threshold (see Part-Year Residents on

page 5).

NOTE: If your filing status is married/CU
partner, filing separate return, you
may not claim a New Jersey earned
income tax credit.

If you asked the Internal Revenue Service to
calculate your Federal earned income credit,
be sure to fill in the first oval below Line 51,
Form NJ-1040. (Civil union couples should

not fill in this oval even if one or both of
you are eligible for a Federal credit and
asked the IRS to calculate the amount. See
the instructions for Civil Union Couples
below.) The IRS will provide information to
the Division of Taxation in October 2014.
Please allow at least 4—6 weeks for the Divi-
sion to process the information and issue a
check for your New Jersey earned income
tax credit.

Civil Union Couples. 1f you file a joint
Federal return, complete Worksheet H to
calculate your NJEITC. If you did not file a
joint Federal return and want to determine
if you are eligible for the NJEITC, prepare a
Federal return as if you were married, filing
jointly and calculate the amount of the Fed-
eral earned income credit, if any, you would
have been eligible to receive on a joint Fed-
eral return. Once you have determined the
amount of the Federal credit you would have
received as joint filers, you must use that
amount on Worksheet H to calculate your
New Jersey credit. Be sure to fill in only the
second oval below Line 51 indicating you
are a civil union couple.

PRORATING THE NEW JERSEY EARNED INCOME TAX CREDIT:
Months of NJ Residence

Total New Jersey EITC Amount X

= Prorated New Jersey EITC Amount

12
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NJ-1040-H
2013

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

PROPERTY TAX CREDIT APPLICATION

Married/CU Couple, filing joint return
Married/CU Partner, filing separate return
Head of household

00000

Qualifying widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner

Single NJ RESIDENCY STATUS

6. If you were a New Jersey resident for From
ONLY part of the taxable year, give the
period of New Jersey residency:

mim|/|Df|D|fY]|lY

o |M|[m]/lD]||D|]Y]||Y

7a. On December 31, 2013, were you age 65 or older?

7b. On December 31, 2013, were you blind or disabled?

8. On October 1, 2013, did you own and occupy a home in New Jersey as your principal residence?

9.

10. Enter your NEW JERSEY GROSS INCOME

Do Not File This Property Tax Credit Application If You:

* Have Filed Or Will File a 2013 New Jersey Resident Return, Form NJ-1040; Or

*  Were a New Jersey Homeowner on October 1, 2013; Or

*  Were Under Age 65 and NOT Blind or Disabled on December 31, 2013; Or

« Had New Jersey Gross Income for 2013 of More Than $20,000 (More Than $10,000
if Filing Status is Single or Married/CU Partner, Filing Separate Return).

Yourself

Spouse/CU Partner

Yourself

Spouse/CU Partner

S Yes < No
S Yes <> No
S Yes < No
S Yes < No

If you (and your spouse/CU partner) did not meet the age or disability requirements, do not file Form NJ-1040-H. See instructions.

If “Yes,” STOP. Do not file Form NJ-1040-H. See instructions.

S Yes < No

Indicate whether at any time during 2013 you either owned a home or rented a dwelling in New Jersey as your principal residence on which
property taxes (or rent) were paid. Fill in the appropriate oval. If you were both a homeowner and a tenant during the year, fill in “Both.”

<> Homeowner < Tenant

<> Both

< Neither (Fill in only one)

If “‘Homeowner” or “Tenant” or “Both,” you may be asked to provide proof of property taxes or rent paid on your principal residence.
If you were neither a homeowner nor a tenant, STOP. You are not eligible for a property tax credit. Do not file Form NJ-1040-H.

.......... 10

H bl

Enter the amount of income you would have reported on Line 28, Form NJ-1040 if you had filed the tax return. See instructions.

10. Property Tax Credit Application Only.

Certain eligible senior/disabled homeowners
and tenants can use the Property Tax Credit
Application (Form NJ-1040-H) instead of
Form NJ-1040 to apply for the property tax
credit only.

Use Form NJ-1040-H only if you:

e Were 65 or older, blind, or disabled on
December 31, 2013, and

e Had gross income from everywhere
for the entire year of $20,000 or less
($10,000 or less if filing status is single
or married/CU partner, filing separate re-
turn), and

e Have not filed and will not file a 2013 New
Jersey resident income tax return, and

¢ Did not own your principal residence in
New Jersey on October 1, 2013.

Do not file Form NJ-1040-H if you owned
and occupied your principal residence in New
Jersey on October 1, 2013. Your property tax
credit will automatically be included with
your homestead benefit, provided you file a
homestead benefit application.

New Jersey Gross Income (Line 10). When
completing Line 10, Form NJ-1040-H you
must include your gross income for the entire
year from all sources (both inside and outside
New Jersey).

18
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Part-Year Residents

COMPLETING A PART-YEAR NONRESIDENT RETURN

Important Points:

o Enter the dates you were a New Jersey resident above Line 1.

e Report income, withholdings, and payments for period of New Jersey nonresidency only.

e When reporting your income, fill out both Column A and Column B completely.

e Prorate exemptions, deductions, exclusions, and credits based on nonresidency period.

¢ If you also complete a part-year resident return, allocate your income, withholdings, and payments
between the part-year resident and part-year nonresident returns as appropriate.

Your Social Security Number Last Name, First Name and Initial (Joint filers enter first name and initial of each—Enter spouse’s/CU partner’s last name ONLY if different) 5 \abel
ace label
| | on form if all
Spouse’s/CU Partner's Home Address (Number and Street, including apartment number or rural route) Change of Address O [IEiEY
Social Security Number Insf(z:r(;?raélcotn
I .
Otherwise,
+You must enter your SSN(s) above #| City, Town, Post Office Zip Code print or
State of Residency (outside NJ) typedyogé hame
and aadress.
NJ RESIDENCY  |f you were a New Jersey resident for ANY part of the From To
STATUS taxable year, give the period of New Jersey residency. MONTH DAY  YEAR MONTH DAY YEAR
Filing Status 6. Regular X Yourself [ Spouse/ [ Domestic
(Check only ONE box) CU Partner Partner
1. O Single )E( 7. Age 65 or Over [ Yourself [] Spouse/CU Partner
2. O Married/CU Couple, filing joint return ﬁ 8. Blind or Disabled [ Yourself [ Spouse/CU Partner
. - P
3. O Married/CU Partner, filing separate return -:- 9. Number of your qualified dependent children
(o]
Name and SSN of Spouse/CU Partner N 10. Number of other dependents
S . . .
4. O Head of household 11. Dependents attending colleges (See instructions)
5. O Qualifying widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner | [12. Totals (For Line 12a—Add Lines 6, 7, 8, and 11)
(For Line 12b—Add Line 9 and Line 10)

1. Residency Status. NOTE: When you file a part-year nonresident

(a) Complete the “State of Residency (out-
side NJ)” box below your social security
number(s) at the top of the return. Indicate
the place outside New Jersey where you
lived for the period of nonresidency. If you
lived at more than one location, give the
most recent.

(b) Show the beginning and ending dates of
your residency in New Jersey during the tax
year.

return, you are likely to be required

to file a part-year resident return, too.
(See page 6.) The part-year resident re-
turn covers the period of New Jersey
residency shown above Line 1, and

the part-year nonresident return cov-

ers the portion of the year you were not
a resident of New Jersey. If you were

a nonresident for 15 days or more of a
month, that month counts as a month of
nonresidence. For example, if you were a
New Jersey resident from September 27,
2013, to December 31, 2013, you were a
nonresident for nine months. See Exemp-
tions on page 22.
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(Column A) (Column B)
Check Amount (See Line 52).......... |:| AMOUNT OF GROSS INCOME AMOUNT FROM
’ 4 (EVERYWHERE) NEW JERSEY SOURCES

14. Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation ............ccccceeviieiiiiieennnen. 14 14
15, INEEIEST ..o e 15 15
16, DIVIAENAS ...ttt 16 16
17. Net profits from business (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part |, Line 4).........cccccevieninnnnnne. 17 17
18. Net gains or income from disposition of property (From Line 60) ............cccccceerernnee. 18 18
19. Net gains or income from rents, royalties, patents, and copyrights

(Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part 1, LiN€ 4).......ccoiiiieiiieeeseese e 19 19
20. Net gambling winnings (See INStrUCtoNS) ........cccveiiiiiiiiiiieiieee e 20 20
21. Pensions, Annuities, and IRA WithdrawalS...........cccooooeeiiiiiieiiieiiiei i 21 _
22. Distributive Share of Partnership Income (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part lll, Line 4)...... 22 22
23. Net pro rata share of S Corporation Income (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part IV, Line 4)... | 23 23
24. Alimony and separate maintenance payments received...........ccooveeiiiiiiniiiee e 24 24
25. Other—State Natureand Source e 25 25
26. TOTAL INCOME (Add Lines 14 through 25) .......cccccciiinieniniiienieiineeee s 26 26
27a. Pension Exclusion (See INStruCtions)............uiiiiiiiiiiiii i 27a
27b. Other Retirement Income Exclusion (See Worksheet and Instructions) ................... 27b 27b
27c. Total Exclusion Amount (Add Line 27a and Line 27b)..........cccovvueeiueeiiieiieiiieeeeenn 27c 27¢c
28. Gross Income (Subtract Line 27¢ from Ling 26)........c.cooeiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieeie e 28 28
2. Income. Complete both Columns A and B, Jersey. Therefore, if you are a Pennsylvania

Lines 14-26. Include only income you re-
ceived for the part of the year you were a
nonresident. Report in Column A income

from all sources (both inside and outside Column B.

New Jersey) as if you were a resident; in
Column B, show your income from New
Jersey sources. Follow the instructions in
the nonresident return instruction booklet
for completing each line. For every entry in
Column A, there should be an entry on the
corresponding line in Column B. If none of
the income in Column A is from New Jersey
sources, enter “0” in Column B. In certain
circumstances, the amount in Column B can 3.
exceed the amount in Column A. No entry is

resident, you must report all your wages
(including wages earned in New Jersey) in
Column A, and “0” should be entered in

This exception applies only to wages.
Pennsylvania residents are subject to New
Jersey tax on other types of income from
New Jersey sources. For example, winnings
from a casino or racetrack located in New
Jersey or net profits from a business located
in New Jersey must be reported in both Col-
umn A and Column B.

Pension and Other Retirement Income
Exclusion.

needed on Line 21, Column B since pension, (a) Pension Exclusion (Line 27a).

annuity, and IRA withdrawal income is not
taxable to nonresidents.

Pennsylvania residents are not subject
to income tax on wages they earn in New

Column A: If you were a New Jersey non-
resident for only part of the taxable year
and had total income from all sources for
the entire year of $100,000 or less before

20
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subtracting any pension exclusion, you
may qualify for a pension exclusion if you
meet the other eligibility requirements. If
you qualify, prorate the exclusion by the
number of months you were a New Jersey
nonresident. For this calculation 15 days or
more is a month. See page 10 for a descrip-
tion of how to prorate the pension exclusion
amount.

NOTE: When you and your spouse/civil
union partner file a joint return and
only one of you is 62 or older or dis-
abled, you may claim the full amount
of the prorated exclusion. However,
only the income of the one who is 62
or older or disabled may be excluded.

Column B: No entry is necessary in Col-
umn B since pension, annuity, and IRA
withdrawal income is not taxable to
nonresidents.

(b) Other Retirement Income Exclusion
(Line 27b, Columns A and B). 1f you (and/
or your spouse/civil union partner if filing
jointly) were 62 or older on the last day of
the tax year, you may qualify to exclude
other income on Line 27b. There are two
parts to the total exclusion: Part I, the un-
claimed portion of your prorated pension ex-
clusion, and Part II, a special exclusion for
taxpayers who are unable to receive Social
Security or Railroad Retirement benefits. Do
not complete Worksheet D in the NJ-1040NR
instruction booklet to calculate the total
exclusion amount you are eligible to claim.
Instead, calculate your total exclusion as
follows:

Part I. Total the earned income (wages, net
profits from business, partnership income,
and S corporation income) you received
from all sources for the entire year. If your
earned income for the entire year was
$3,000 or less and you did not use your en-
tire prorated pension exclusion at Line 27a,
you may be able to use the unclaimed pen-
sion exclusion at Line 27b provided total
income from all sources for the entire year
before subtracting any pension exclusion
was $100,000 or less.

Part II. If you are unable to receive Social
Security or Railroad Retirement benefits, but
would have been eligible for benefits had
you fully participated in either program, you
may also be eligible for an additional exclu-
sion, whether or not you used all of your
prorated pension exclusion at Line 27a.

NOTE: When you and your spouse/civil
union partner file a joint return and
only one of you is 62 or older, you
may claim the full amount of the pro-
rated exclusion. However, only the
income of the one who is 62 or older
may be excluded.

More Information. For information on cal-
culating your partnership and S corporation
income, see Tax Topic Bulletins GIT-9P,
Income From Partnerships, and GIT-9S,
Income From S Corporations. For more
information on pension, annuity, and IRA
withdrawal income and the New Jersey in-
come exclusions, see Tax Topic Bulletins
GIT-1, Pensions and Annuities, and GIT-2,
IRA Withdrawals.

Rev. 12/13
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30. Total Exemption Amount (See inStructions)............cceieeiieiiiiienieceeeeeee 30
31. Medical Expenses (See Worksheet and Instructions)...........cccccoeeeeeiiinennnenn. 31
32. Alimony and separate maintenance payments ...........ccccccceeiiieeiniiee e 32
33. Qualified Conservation Contribution...........c.cccooviiiiiiiiiiiiiieee e 33
34. Health Enterprise Zone Deduction .............ccocuieiiiiiiiiieiiee e 34
35. Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment (Schedule NJ-BUS-2, Line 11).. 35
36. Total Exemptions and Deductions (Add Lines 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, and 35)....... 36
37. TAXABLE INCOME (Subtract Line 36 from Line 29, Column A)...................... 37
4. Exemptions. You must prorate the exemp- From Line 12a x $1,000 =
tion allowance amount based on the number From Line 12b x $1,500 =

of months you were a New Jersey nonresi-
dent. For this calculation 15 days or more
is a month. First determine the full value of
your exemptions as follows:

Total Exemption Amount

Once you have calculated your Total Ex-
emption Amount, use the formula below and
then enter the prorated exemption amount on
Line 30.

PRORATING THE EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE:
Months of NJ Nonresidence

Total Exemption Amount X

= Prorated Exemption Amount

12
5. Deductions. (c) Qualified Conservation Contribution
(a) Medical Expenses (Line 31). You may (Line 33). You may deduct the amount of
deduct certain medical expenses for which any qualified conservation contribution you
you were not reimbursed by insurance or made during the period of time you were a
any other plan, qualified Archer medical New Jersey nonresident.
savings account (MSA) contributions, and ]
health insurance costs of the self-employed. (‘?) Health Enterprise ZO{ae (Lin? 3 ). Eh"
Complete Worksheet E in the nonresident re- gible taxpayers éngaged in providing ‘fprl-
turn instruction booklet (Form NJ-1040NR) mary c'are” medl'cal and/or ‘?ental Services at
to calculate your deduction for medical a quahﬁed practice located in or w1th1n five
expenses. Include only those expenses that miles of a de&gpated Health En.terprlse Zone
were incurred and paid during the period of (HEZ) may C!uél{fy fora Qeductlon. For infor-
time you were a New Jersey nonresident. mation on eligibility requirements and how
to calculate the HEZ deduction, see Technical
(b) Alimony and Separate Maintenance Bulletin TB-56, Health Enterprise Zones.
Payments (Line 32). You may deduct ali-
mony and separate maintenance payments (e) Alternative Business Calculation 4djust—
paid for the period of time you were a New ment (Line 35). If you report net business
Jersey nonresident. Child support payments loss(es) on Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Business
are not deductible. Income Summary Schedule, you may be
eligible for an income adjustment based on
22 Rev. 12/13
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Part-Year Residents

the business income (losses) incurred for
the period of time you were a New Jersey
nonresident. Complete Schedule NJ-BUS-2
in the nonresident return instruction booklet
(Form NJ-1040NR) to calculate the amount
of your adjustment.

NOTE: New Jersey does not allow deduc-
tions for adjustments taken on the
Federal return such as employee
business expenses or IRA and Keogh
Plan contributions.

40. NEW JERSEY TAX (Multiply amount from Line 38 X % on Line 39).....cccceiieiiienien. 40
41. Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit (Enclose Form GIT-317. See instructions)...........cccoceeieeiieeiiienieeninnn. 41
42. Balance of Tax After Credit (Subtract Line 41 from Line 40) .........coouuiiiiiiiiiiiiieiiiie e 42
6. Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit. Enter GIT-317. Allocate the total amount of the
the amount of your Sheltered Workshop credit between your part-year resident and
Tax Credit from Part IV, line 12 of Form part-year nonresident returns if appropriate.
45. Total New Jersey Income Tax Withheld (From enclosed Forms W-2 and 1099) |45
46. New Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2012 tax return .................. 46 <€ Also enter on Line 46:
e Payments made in
47. Tax paid on your behalf by Partnership(s)..........cccceoveevienieieieiieseieerie s 47 connection with sale of
48. EXCESS NJ UI/WF/SWF Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450. NJ real property
SEE INSTUCHONS). ..ttt 48 e Payments by S .
49. EXCESS NJ Disability Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450. corporation for nonresi-
SO INSHIUCHIONS ) .......evvieeeeeeeeeeeeseeee e eeeeeee s eee s ee s eeesne e e s se sttt e eneneeees 49 dent shareholder
50. EXCESS NJ Family Leave Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450.
SE€ INSIUCTIONS) ..ot e 50
51. Total Payments/Credits (Add Lines 45 through 50)...........ccoiiiiieiiiiiiniiiieiee e ENTER TOTAL -* | 51
7. Tax Withheld/Estimated Payments. (b) Line 46. Enter the amount of estimated

(a) Line 45. Enter the amount of New Jer-
sey income tax withheld from wages you
earned or other payments you received while
you were a New Jersey nonresident. If your
employer combined wages you earned as a
resident and wages you earned as a nonresi-
dent on the same W-2, and you earned some
of those wages from New Jersey while a
nonresident, include here only tax withheld
during the period you were a nonresident.
Allocate the New Jersey income tax with-
held between your part-year resident and
part-year nonresident returns if you earned
wages from New Jersey as a resident and as
a nonresident.

payments to New Jersey for the period of
time you were a nonresident. If you made
estimated payments both as a resident and as
a nonresident, enter on your part-year resi-
dent return the payment(s) made to meet the
tax liability for your period of New Jersey
residency. Enter on the part-year nonresident
return the payment(s) made to satisfy your
tax liability during the part of the year you
were a nonresident. Also enter amounts, if
any, paid to qualify for an extension of time
to file.
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ALLOCATION OF WAGE AND SALARY

(Include this amount

PART Il INCOME EARNED PARTLY INSIDE (See instructions if compensation depends entirely on volume of business
AND OUTSIDE NEW JERSEY transacted or if other basis of allocation is used.)

61. Amount reported on Line 14 in Column A required to be allocated............cccooiiiiiiniiniiiinc e 61

62. Total days iN taXaDIE YA ........c.u ittt e ne s 62

63. Deduct nonworking days (Sundays, Saturdays, holidays, sick leave, vacation, etc.) ............cccceeiiieiiiennne 63

64. Total days worked in taxable year (Subtract Line 63 from Ling 62)..........cccceeiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieiin e 64

65. Deduct days worked outSIdE NEW JEISEY .........cciiiiiiiiiiiiieiii ettt st st snne e 65

66. Days worked in New Jersey (Subtract Line 65 from LiNe 64) ..........cccuiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieeiie et 66

(Line 66) =
67. ALLOCATION FORMULA (Line 64) . (Enter amount from Line 61)  (Salary earned inside N.J.)

on Line 14, Col. B)

8. Allocation of Wage and Salary Income

Earned Partly Inside and Outside New
Jersey. Complete this section only when
you have wage/salary income earned partly
inside and partly outside New Jersey and you Lines 61-67 accordingly.
cannot readily determine the amount of wage/

salary income derived from New Jersey. For
purposes of completing this section, “total
days” on Line 62 means the number of days
covered by your part-year return. Complete

24
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Part-Year Residents

Example

Part-Year Resident/Part-Year Nonresident

John Perry, age 35, and Joan Perry, age 32,
are married and file a joint Federal return.
They have two dependents: their one-year-old
son and Mr. Perry’s 67-year-old mother.

The family moved to New Jersey from New
York City on April 1. They rented an apart-
ment at 123 Elm St., Montclair, NJ 07042
from April 1 to December 31 for $750 a
month.

Husband worked for the same employer
in New Jersey all year; wages for the year,
$72,000.

Wife’s wages for part-time job from
September to December, $3,000.

Couple received $6,400 in interest on their
joint accounts and $480 in dividends for the
year.

On March 1, they sold 200 shares of jointly
held stock in ABC Corp. for $3,500, pur-
chased the previous year for $2,800.

They won $75 in the New York Lottery on
February 3 and $62 in the New Jersey Lottery
on July 29.

New Jersey income tax withheld: $1,983 for
Mr. Perry and $52 for Mrs. Perry.

Four estimated tax payments of $50 each
made to New Jersey on April 15, June 15,
September 15, and January 15 of the
following year.
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NJ-1040NR 2013 STATE OF NEW JERSEY INCOME TAX—NONRESIDENT RETURN
Your Social Security Number Last Name, First Name and Initial (Joint filers enter first name and initial of each—Enter spouse’s/CU partner’s last name ONLY if different) b abel
ace labe

999 | 34 | 0722 | Perry, John and Joan lace e
Spouse’s/CU Partner’s umber and Street, includin: ment number or rural rou Apreprint.ed
Social Security Number Hon'ieZAt:j;drEs“g;] gta d Street, including apartment ber or rural route) Change of Address Kl '?sfc::rg::;gn

999 | 01 | 3664 ' Civomse,
#You must e?nter your SSN(S) above & City, Town, Post Office State Zip Code type‘;rni)r:ror:ame
S"\T;%va$geFliy (outside NJ) Montclair NJ 07042 and address.
NJ RESIDENCY  |f you were a New Jersey resident for ANY part of the From 04-01-13 To 12-31-13
STATUS taxable year, give the period of New Jersey residency. MONTH DAY YEAR MONTH DAY YEAR

Filing Status . Regular X Yourself Spouse/ [ Domestic

1. O Single
2. X]Married/CU Couple, filing joint return
3. [OMarried/CU Partner, filing separate return

(Check only ONE box)

© ® N o

Name and SSN of Spouse/CU Partner
4. [JHead of household 11. Dependents attending colleges (See instructions)

10. Number of other dependents

NWZO——Tv=EmMXxXm

CU Partner Partner

. Age 65 or Over [0 Yourself [ Spouse/CU Partner
Blind or Disabled [J Yourself [ Spouse/CU Partner

. Number of your qualified dependent children

1

5. [JQualifying widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner 12. Totals (For Line 12a—Add Lines 6, 7, 8, and 11) 12al 2
(For Line 12b—Add Line 9 and Line 10)
13. Dependent’s Last Name, First Name, Middle Initial Dependent’s Social Security Number Birth Year
2 . Perry, Jake 999 , 52, 0222 2012
L
g v Perry, Mary 999 , 36 , 8819 1946
o
g c / /
d / /
GUBERNATORIAL Do you wish to designate $1 of your taxes for this fund? YeSI NO [Note: If you check the “Yes” box(es), it will
ELECTIONS FUND If joint return, does your spouse/CU partner wish to designate $1? Yes No|notincrease your tax or reduce your refund.
(Column A) (Column B)
Check Amount (See Line 82)....[_], | NAOUNT OF GR0sS | ot ERON
14. Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation 14 18000 |00 | 14 18000 |00
LT 0 T =TT SO OURS PP 15 1600 |00 | 15 0
16, DIVIAENGS ...ttt et b bbbttt b bbb eb et 16 120 (00| 16 0
17. Net profits from business (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part I, Lin€ 4) ........cocceeviviiiieeniieiniees 17 17
18. Net gains or income from disposition of property (From Line 60)...........ccccocevvviniveniennne 18 700 (00| 18 0
19. Net gains or income from rents, royalties, patents, and copyrights
(Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part 1, LINE 4) .....cceeeeeeeeeeeereeee et eee e 19 19
20. Net gambling winnings (See INStrUCtIONS)..........coviuiiiiriiiiniiircreee e 20 75100| 20 0
21. Pensions, Annuities, and IRAWIthdraWals ........................oooooooooooooooooooooooeeoeeoeeeeeeeeeeee 21 I
22. Distributive Share of Partnership Income (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part lll, Line 4) 22 22
23. Net pro rata share of S Corporation Income (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part IV, Line 4) .......... 23 23
24. Alimony and separate maintenance payments received ............cccoevveieniiieiiceniie e 24 24
25. Other—State Nature and SOUICE..........couiiiiiieiieeee e 25 25
26. TOTAL INCOME (Add Lines 14 through 25).........cccoieieieienerere e 26 20495 (00| 26 18000 |00
27a. Pension Exclusion (See INStrUCIONS) ...........couiiiiiiiiiiiiicie e 27a
27b. Other Retirement Income Exclusion (See Worksheet and Instructions)..............cc.ccccc.ec. 27b 27b
27c. Total Exclusion Amount (Add Line 27a and Line 27b) . 27c 27c
28. Gross Income (Subtract Line 27¢ from LiN€ 26) ..........coeviereiiiciiieieeeeieeeeeeeeeeees 28 20495 (00| 28 18000 |00
26 Rev. 12/13



Part-Year Residents

Name(s) as shown on Form NJ-1040NR
Perry, John and Joan

Your Social Security Number

999 | 34 | 0722

29. Gross Income (From page 1, LiN 28).......c.ccerieiriiiniirieineeeee et 29 20495 |00 | 29 18000 | 00
30. Total Exemption Amount (S€e iNStrUCHONS) .........covieeurerururerieirenierneneseeeeeeeeeeeees 30 1250 | 00
31. Medical Expenses (See Worksheet and INStructions) ............ccccoeevriiiiininicneene. 31
32. Alimony and separate maintenance Payments...........ccoocuveeieeeiieeiieeeenieesiee e 32
33. Qualified Conservation Contribution 33
34. Health Enterprise Zone Deduction 34
35. Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment (Schedule NJ-BUS-2, Line 11).......... 85
36. Total Exemptions and Deductions (Add Lines 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, and 35).............. 36 1250 | 00
37. TAXABLE INCOME (Subtract Line 36 from Line 29, Column A) .........c...ccooeiiruenene. 37 19245 | 00
38. Tax on amount on Line 37 (From Tax Table)..........c.ccoeirrirrieiiieeeeiee e 38 269 | 00
39. Income Percentage _B. (Line 29) = 87.83 %
A. (Line 29)
40. NEW JERSEY TAX
(Multiply amount from Line 38 269.00  x  87.83 o4 from LiNE 39 ..ot 40 236| 00
41. Sheltered Workshop Tax Credit (Enclose Form GIT-317. See instructions) ..............cccoeiiiiieiieiciiic e 41
42. Balance of Tax After Credit (Subtract Line 41 from Line 40).............ccoiiiiiiiiii e 42 236 00
43. Penalty for Underpayment of Estimated Tax. Check box O if Form NJ-2210 is enclosed............cccooeiiiniiininnene 43
44. Total Tax and Penalty (Add Line 42 @nd LiNE 43) .......ccueoiiiiieeieeiieiee ettt ettt ettt aeaa e anseseanseneaneaneanaennan 44 236( 00
45. Total New Jersey Income Tax Withheld (From enclosed Forms W-2 and 1099) ....... 45 496 | 00
46. New Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2012 tax return... . |46 50 | 00 | <& Also enter on Line 46:
. i e Payments made in
47. Tax paid on your behalf by Partnership(s) ..........cocoovoiiiiiiiiie 47 connection with sale of
48. EXCESS NJ UI/'WF/SWF Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450. See instructions)....... 48 . g;;riﬂnﬂogfgy
49. EXCESS NJ Disability Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450. See instr.) ..... 49 corporation for non-
50. EXCESS NJ Family Leave Insurance Withheld (Enclose Form NJ-2450. See instr.). |50 resident shareholder
51. Total Payments/Credits (Add Lines 45 through 50) ........ccoueiiiiiiieniiiie e ENTER TOTAL -* | 51 546 (00
52. If Line 51 is LESS THAN Line 44 enter AMOUNT YOU OWE (Enter check amount on Page 1)........cccccoeeevieiennns 52
53. If Line 51 is MORE THAN Line 44 enter OVERPAYMENT .......ccoiiitiiiitiitiiiitietiei ettt sieseees 53 310 |00
54. Deductions from Overpayment on Line 53 which you elect to credit to:
(A) YOUE 20714 TAX .eteitieiiteeieeeeeitee e st s sttt e et ae s sase e st abb e e s sbe e s et e nst e enbeeesnneesnneeens 54A
(B) N.J. Endangered Wildlife Fund 00 $10, O $20, O Other 54B xg-ll-EEI‘l:TRY ON LINE
(C)N.J. Children’s Trust Fund 0 $10, OO0 $20, O Other ENTER 54C 54A, B, C,D, E, F,OR G
(D) N.J. Vietnam Veterans’ Memorial Fund 00 $10, O $20, O Other AMOUNT 54D WILL REDUCE YOUR TAX
(E) N.J. Breast Cancer Research Fund O $10, O $20, O Other OF 54E REFUND
(F) U.S.S. N.J. Educational Museum Fund O $10, O $20, O Other | conTRIBUTION| [94F
(G) Designated Contribution [_|_| 0 $10, O $20, O Other 54G
55. Total Deductions From Overpayment (Add Lines 54A, B, C, D, E, F, and G)........cccoecveeeenne. ENTER TOTAL =* | 55
56. REFUND (Amount to be sent to you. Subtract Ling 55 from Line 53) ..........cccceiriiiiiiieiiieieeieeeeee e 56 310 |00

Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this return, including accompanying schedules and statements,

and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person other than taxpayer, this

declaration is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Pay amount on Line 52 in full.
Write social security number(s)
on check or money order and
make payable to:

STATE OF NEW JERSEY-TGI
Division of Taxation

Revenue Processing Center
PO Box 244

- > Trenton, NJ 08646-0244
Your signature Date Spouse’s/CU Partner’s Signature (if filing jointly, BOTH must sign.)
You may also pay by e-check or
credit card.
Rev. 12/13
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PART |

NET GAINS OR INCOME FROM
DISPOSITION OF PROPERTY

List the net gains or income, less net loss, derived from the sale, exchange, or other
disposition of property including real or personal whether tangible or intangible.

PART Ill ALLOCATION OF BUSINESS
INCOME TO NEW JERSEY

BUSINESS ALLOCATION PERCENTAGE (From Schedule NJ-NR-A)

Enter below, the line number and amount of each item of business income reported in Column A which is required to be allocated
and multiply by allocation percentage to determine amount of income from New Jersey sources.

(a) Kind of property and description g::)qt?ifetg E:}ODZ:,S;:C; (d) G;c;;zsales © gg th?tjls?ter:je(rsl:}?is ) (E"adailzsc;rél)oss)
o, day ) | M09 gl

57. 200 shs. ABC Corp. 2-15-12 3-1-13 3500 |00 2800 [ 00 700| 00

58. Capital GaiNs DISTHDULION .........eiiiiiiiiie et e et e st e et ae e e sbee e eaeeeasteeenbeeesaseesnbeeaabaesanseeenns 58

LT TR O (g oY = T OSSR 59

60. Net Gains (Add Lines 57, 58, and 59) (Enter here and on Line 18) (If Loss, enter ZERO) .........cccceveevvevriiennee. 60 700 | 00
PART Il m%g“ﬁEAEggN%';V:ﬁgE IQNIRSSIS:EARY (Sge instructiqns if compgnsgtion depends entirely on volume of business transacted

AND OUTSIDE NEW JERSEY or if other basis of allocation is used.)

61. Amount reported on Line 14 in Column A required to be allocated ............cccceiiieiiiiieiiiiiei e 61

62, Total days iN tAXADIE YA ......co.. ittt ettt et e bt e s bbbt e a b e et e e ae e ba e e e b e nnt e e nnnee s 62

63. Deduct nonworking days (Sundays, Saturdays, holidays, sick leave, vacation, etc.)........c.cccccceiveiriiiiiincninnennne. 63

64. Total days worked in taxable year (Subtract Line 63 from LiN€ B62) ..........ccceeiiieiiiiiiiiiiiieeniee et 64

65. Deduct days WOrked OULSIAE NEW JEISEY ........couiiiiiiiiiiaiiieite ettt sttt sae e bttt se e e s e eneenes 65

66. Days worked in New Jersey (Subtract Line 65 from LiNe 64).........cccieiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieeecreee e 66

67. ALLGEEEER A Et:zz gi; X (Enter amount from Line 61) - (Salary earned inside N.J.) I(_Iirrlmcelu1d46, t&l)sl'aBTount o

(See instructions if other than Formula Basis of allocation is used.)

From Line No. $ % =%
From Line No. $ % =%
From Line No. $ % =%

28
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Part-Year Residents

NJ-1040 STATE OF NEW JERSEY
2013 INCOME TAX-RESIDENT RETURN
Your Social Security Number Last Name, First Name, and Initial (Joint filers enter first name and initial of each - Enter spouse/CU partner last name ONLY if different)

919]9|—-13]4 —|0|7|2|2| Perry, John and Joan

Spouse’s/CU Partner’s Social Security Number Home Address (Number and Street, including apartment number or rural route) Change of Address @D
o [ofol-fof1]-[3]6[6]4]| 123EmSL
County/Municipality Code (See Table) City, Town, Post Office State Zip Code

[0] Montclair NJ 07042

If you were a New Jersey resident for

NJ RESIDENCY ONLY part of the taxable year, give the

of4|/[o1]/[1]3] w1

2|/[3]1]/[1]3

STATUS period of New Jersey residency: From
(Fill'in only one) Spouse/ Domestic [ | 2 | ENTER
6. Regular @ Yourself @® CU Partner < Partner NUMBERS

1. < single 7. Age65orOver < Yourself < Spouse/CU Partner K LERE
2. @@ Married/CU Couple, filing joint return 8. Blind or Disabled < Yourself <> Spouse/CU Partner 8
3. < Married/CU Partner, filing separate return N £ lif hil

Enter Spouse’s/CU Partner's Social Security 9 umber of your qualified dependent children ..............c.ccoooiiiiiiieninee 9 1

Number in the boxes provided above 10.  Number of other dependents ............cooieieiiiieiiii e 10 1
4. O Head of household 11. Dependents attending colleges (See instructions)................ 11

5. < Qualifying widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner |12. Totals (For Line 12a - Add Lines 6, 7, 8, and 11)

(For Line 12b - Add Lines 9 and 10)........cccccevveiennnne

12a 2 12b| |2|

13. Dependent’s Last Name, Dependent’s Social Security Number Birth Year
First Name, Middle Initial

Fill in oval if dependent does
not have health insurance
including NJ FamilyCare/
Medicaid, Medicare, private
or other (see instructions).

2__Perry, Jake [o]9]9] -[5]2]-[o][2]2]2] [2[0[1]2] =

»__Perry, Mary [o]9]9] - [3]6]-[8[8]1]9] [1[9]4]6] o

c LD I-Ci -t L[] =

d LI I-ChJ-tr il Ll S
GUBERNATORIAL Do you wish to designate $1 of your taxes for this fund? O Yes > No :V"a‘f(s')f youlin i‘:;;fsz"yw
ELECTIONS FUND If joint return, does your spouse/CU partner wish to designate $1? <> Yes <> No | taxorreduce your refund.

Pay amount on Line 56 in full.

If enclosing copy of death certificate for deceased If you do not need forms mailed to you next year, Write social security number(s) on

taxpayer, fill in (See instructions)...........c.ccceovvureenenene. O | fillin (See iNStructions) .........cceveveveveveveeeeeeeeeeererenenanas [ ;r;iglélgrtgw:oney order and make

Under the penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this income tax return, including accompanying schedules and state-
ments, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete. If prepared by a person other than taxpayer, this
declaration is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

> >

Your Signature Date Spouse’s/CU Partner’s Signature (if filing jointly, BOTH must sign) Date

STATE OF NEW JERSEY - TGI

Mail your check or money order with
your NJ-1040-V payment voucher
and your return to:

NJ Division of Taxation

Revenue Processing Center

PO Box 111

Trenton, NJ 08645-0111
IF REFUND:

NJ Division of Taxation

Revenue Processing Center

Check Amount (See Line 56) |:|
1

PO Box 555

Trenton, NJ 08647-0555
You may also pay by e-check or
credit card. For more information go

to: www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation

Rev. 12/13
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14.

15a.

15b.

16.

17.

18.

19a.

19b.
20.

21.

22.

23.

24.

25.

26.

27a.

27b.

27c.

28.

29.

30.

31.

32.

33.

34.

35.

36.

37a.

37b.
37c.
38.

39.

Wages, salaries, tips, and other employee compensation (Enclose W-2)
Be sure to use State wages from Box 16 of your W-2(s). See instructions
Taxable interest income (See instructions)

(Enclose Federal Schedule B if over $1,500) ..........ccooeieireieiieieeseseeeee e

NJ-1040 (2013) Page 2

14

0

0

0

ofo

15a

8

0

0

0|0

Tax-exempt interest income (See instructions) 15b

(Enclose Schedule) DO NOT include on Line 15a .............. )

DIVIAENGS ...t
Net profits from business (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part |, Line 4)

(Enclose copy of Federal Schedule C, FOrm 1040)..........ccoierieinienieeiieniee e

Net gains or income from disposition of property (Schedule B, Line 4)...........ccccceeennenn

Pensions, Annuities, and IRA withdrawals (See instructions) ............cccocceriieieiieenneen.

16

17

18

19a

19b

Excludable Pensions, Annuities, and IRA withdrawals ....... )

Distributive Share of Partnership Income (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part Il, Line 4)
(See instructions) (Enclose Schedule NJK-1 or Federal Schedule K-1)..............cccccoou.

Net pro rata share of S Corporation Income (Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part lll, Line 4)
(See instructions) (Enclose Schedule NJ-K-1 or Federal Schedule K-1)

Net gains or income from rents, royalties, patents & copyrights
(Schedule NJ-BUS-1, Part IV, Line 4)

Net Gambling Winnings (See iNStruCtioNS) ..........ccoiiiiiiieiiiieie et
Alimony and separate maintenance payments received ...............ccooveviieeieieie e sieenees
Other (Enclose Schedule) (See iNStruCtioNS)..........ccoooiiiiiiiiiiiii i

Total Income (Add Lines 14, 15a, 16, 17, 18, 19a, and 20 through 25).............cccccevvneen

Pension Exclusion (See instructions)

Other Retirement Income Exclusion (See Worksheet and instructions)................... 27b

Total Exclusion Amount (Add Line 27a and Line 27b) ...
New Jersey Gross Income (Subtract Line 27c from Line 26) See instructions..............

Total Exemption Amount (See instructions to calculate amount).............ccccoovieiiiennnn.
(Part-Year Residents see instructions)

Medical Expenses (See Worksheet and instructions) ...........c...c.coooeeiiiiiiiiiinicies
Alimony and Separate Maintenance Payments ............ccccoiviiiiiiieiniiiiicece e
Qualified Conservation Contribution ...........ccccoocoviiiiiiiiiiii
Health Enterprise Zone DeducCtion.............cccciiiiiiiiiiiii e
Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment (Schedule NJ-BUS-2, Line 11) .................
Total Exemptions and Deductions (Add Lines 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, and 34)......................

Taxable Income (Subtract Line 35 from Line 28) If zero or less, MAKE NO ENTRY........

27c

28

29

30

EHE

o] o

31

oo
BE

32

33

34

35

36

Total Property Taxes Paid (See instructions).................... 37a

Fill in oval if you were a New Jersey homeowner on October 1, 2013

Property Tax Deduction (See instructions)

NEW JERSEY TAXABLE INCOME (Subtract Line 37c from Line 36)
If zero or less, MAKE NO ENTRY

TaxX (From TaxX TabIE) ......oiuiiiiieiti e

37c

38

39

o||4>

||

o] [o]o
1]]o]o

30

Rev. 12/13



Part-Year Residents

NJ-1040 (2013) Page 3

40, TAX (FTOM LINE 39, PAGE 2) rvvvvveeeererreeeeeeesresseesesseeeeesssesssessesseessesssseesesssssessseseesesseesssseessseen 40 17(1011]1(]10]0
41. Credit For Income Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions 41
Enter other jurisdiction code (See instructions) ...........cccccoovvveviiiniciineens ’ .
42. Balance of Tax (Subtract Line 41 from Line 40)........cceeriiiiiiiiieiieeie et 42 y 1 y 0 1 1 . O 0
43. SNeltered WOrKSHOP TaAX CIEMIt ..........orrsooooeeeeeeeeess oo ssoeeseeeees oo 43 , ,
44. Balance of Tax after Credit (Subtract Line 43 from Line 42) ......................oooosrorr o 44 , 110 1]1
45. Use Tax Due on Internet, Mail-Order, or Other Out-of-State Purchases 45 0 0 0
(See Worksheet and instructions) If no Use Tax, enter ZERO (0.00). ......cccorireeienieneenieniesiienns y i .
46. Penalty for Underpayment of Estimated Tax. Fill in <= if Form NJ-2210 is enclosed.............. 46 y i
47. Total Tax and Penalty (Add Lines 44, 45, aNd 46)..........ccoccccrveseceressssseereessessesosssessseesesse 47 i 1] 111110(0
48. Total New Jersey Income Tax Withheld (From enclosed Forms W-2 and 1099) .................... 48 , 1115 3(9]]0(0
49. Property Tax Credit (See instructions) 20317150
50. New Jersey Estimated Tax Payments/Credit from 2012 tax return .........c.cccccovveeeieeieeniceneennnen, 50 , ] 1 5 0 0 0
51. New Jersey Earned Income Tax Credit (S€€ inStrUCtONS) ......c.c..ovoveuiriiieereriiiiecneeeiee e 51
Fill in Fill in oval if you had the IRS figure your Federal Earned Income Credit (] ’
only one Fill in oval if you are a CU couple claiming the NJ Earned Income Tax Credit <>
52. EXCESS New Jersey UI/WF/SWF Withheld (See instructions) (Enclose Form NJ-2450).......... 52 y
53. EXCESS New Jersey Disability Insurance Withheld (See instructions) 53
(ENCIOSE FOIM NU-2450)......0ciuiiiiiei ittt ettt sb b bt ea et ese e bt sb e st b b et e abeannane e ,
54. EXCESS New Jersey Family Leave Insurance Withheld (See instructions) 54
(ENclose FOrM NUJ-2450)........c.coiiiiiiiiei et et sn e s y
55. Total Payments/Credits (Add Lines 48 through 54) ..........ooooooocceoorooooeeisoes oo 55 , 117126 ) 510
56. If Line 55 is LESS THAN Line 47, enter AMOUNT YOU OWE .....ooooooccoooooes oo 56 , ,
Fillin < if paying by e-check or credit card. (If paying by check, remember to enter check amount on Page 1)
If you owe tax, you may make a donation by entering an amount on Lines 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, and/or 64 and adding this to your payment amount.
57. If Line 55 is MORE THAN Line 47, enter OVERPAYMENT oo osoesseers s 57 , J71115[]5]0
Deductions from Overpayment on Line 57 which you elect to credit to: )
BB, YOUF 2014 18X oo oo 58 , ] 2]10]0[]0]O0
59. N.J. Endangered Wildlife FUND............ormmeeerrreeeerrrrrreeenes Os10 O $20 O Other 59
ENTER
60. N.J. Children’s Trust Fund To Prevent Child Abuse ......... s10 [ $20 [J Other 60
AMOUNT
61. N.J. Viethnam Veterans’ Memorial Fund.................c.......... [J$10 [ $20 [ other 61
OF
62. N.J. Breast Cancer Research Fund .............cc.cccccoevrunnn. [J$10 [ $20 [ other 62
CONTRIBUTION
63. U.S.S. New Jersey Educational Museum Fund............... 010 [ $20 [J Other 63
64. Other Designated Contribution [J $20 [ other 64
(See instructions)
65. Total Deductions from Overpayment (Add Lines 58 through 64) ............ccccceeiiiiiiinienieeneeeen, 65 y y 2 O O . O 0
66. REFUND (Amount to be sent to you. Subtract Line 65 from Line 57).........ccccocveveivieeicieneenn. 66 y y 511]5 . 5(0

SIGN YOUR RETURN ON PAGE 1

Rev. 12/13
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Bulletin GIT-6

Worksheet F — Property Tax Deduction/Credit

Review the eligibility requirements before completing Worksheet F. Part-year residents see instructions.

only lines 1 and 2. Then complete Schedule A and Worksheet I. See instructions.

® N o g ko

Complete both columns of this worksheet to find out whether the Property Tax Deduction or the Credit is better for you. If you claim a credit for taxes paid
to other jurisdictions, complete only lines 1 and 2 of this worksheet. Then complete Schedule A and Worksheet .

1.

Property Tax. Enter the property taxes you paid in 2013 from Line 37a of Form NJ-1040.

Property tax reimbursement (Senior Freeze) applicants do not enter the amount from Line 37a. See instructions. 1. 1,215

Property Tax Deduction. Enter the amount from line 1 of this worksheet or $10,000, whichever is less.
(Lesser of line 1 or $5,000 if you and your spouse/CU partner file separate returns but maintain the same 1215
principal residence.) Also enter this amount on line 4, column A below. See instructions. 2. !

STOP if you are claiming a credit for taxes paid to other jurisdictions. Complete

Column A Column B

Taxable Income (Copy from Line 36 of Form NJ-1040) ..........cccccoiiiiniiiiiiii i 3. 58,410 58,410

Property Tax Deduction (Copy from line 2 of this worksheet) ............cccooeiiiiiiiii 4. 1,215 -0-

3
4
Taxable Income After Property Tax Deduction (Subtract line 4 from line 3) ...........ccccccoooiiiiiiiinnne 5. 57,195 5. 58,410
Tax you would pay on line 5 amount (From Tax Table/Tax Rate Schedules) .................cccoccvvuenee 6. 981 6 1,011

Subtract line 6, column A from line 6, column B and enter the result here ... 7. 30

Is the line 7 amount $50 or more ($25 if you and your spouse/civil union partner file separate returns but maintain the same principal
residence)?

< Yes. You receive a greater tax benefit by taking the Property Tax Deduction. Make the following entries on Form NJ-1040.
Form NJ-1040 Enter amount from:
Line 37c Line 4, column A
Line 38 Line 5, column A
Lines 39 and 40 Line 6, column A
Line 49 Make no entry

<« No. You receive a greater tax benefit from the Property Tax Credit. (Part-year residents, see instructions before answering “No.”) Make
the following entries on Form NJ-1040.
Form NJ-1040 Enter amount from:
Line 37c Make no entry
Line 38 Line 5, column B
Lines 39 and 40 Line 6, column B
Line 49 $50 ($25if you and your spouse/civil union partner file separate returns but maintain the same
principal residence). Part-year residents, see instructions.

(Keep for your records)
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Part-Year Residents

For More Information

Online

e Division of Taxation website:
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/

e Email general State tax questions:

nj.taxation@treas.state.nj.us

Do not include confidential information such as
social security or Federal tax identification num-
bers, liability or payment amounts, dates of birth,
or bank account numbers in your email.

e Subscribe to NJ Tax E-News, the Division
of Taxation’s online information service, at:

www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/listservice.shtml

In Person

Visit a New Jersey Division of Taxation re-
gional office. For the address of the regional
office nearest you call the Automated Tax In-
formation System at 1-800-323-4400 or visit

www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/otl.shtml.

By Phone
e (Call the Division of Taxation’s Customer
Service Center at 609-292-6400.

e Text Telephone Service (TTY/TDD) for
Hard-of-Hearing Users: 1-800-286-6613
(toll-free within NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD)
or 609-984-7300. These numbers are acces-
sible only from TTY devices. Submit a text
message on any New Jersey tax matter and
receive a reply through NJ Relay Services
(711).

In Writing

New Jersey Division of Taxation
Technical Information Branch
PO Box 281

Trenton, NJ 08695-0281

Forms and Publications

e Visit the Division of Taxation’s website:

Forms — www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/forms.shtml
Publications — www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pubs.shtml
e Call NJ TaxFax at 609-826-4500 from your fax machine’s phone.

e (Call the Forms Request System at 1-800-323-4400 (within NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD) or
609-826-4400 (Touch-tone phones only) to have printed forms or publications mailed to you.
Note: Due to budgetary constraints, supplies are limited and only certain forms and publications

can be ordered through this System.
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