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Introduction 
Residents, nonresidents, and certain estates and trusts 
must make estimated tax payments if they expect 
their New Jersey income tax liability for the year to 
be more than $400 after subtracting any anticipated 
withholdings, exemptions, deductions, and credits. 
This bulletin describes: the estimated tax require-
ments and ways to make the payments; how interest 
is imposed if you fail to make required payments; and 
how to complete Form NJ-2210, Underpayment of 
Estimated Tax by Individuals, Estates or Trusts.

The forms and worksheets in this publication are for  
illustration only. The amounts shown in the examples 
may not reflect current tax and interest rates.

Important
Any reference in this bulletin to a spouse also re-
fers to a spouse who entered into a valid same-sex 
marriage in another state or foreign nation and a 
partner in a civil union (CU) recognized under New 
Jersey law. 

Changes Coming for Tax Year 2017
•• Qualified taxpayers will be able to exclude more 

pension and other income on the New Jersey 
return. The increased exclusion amounts will 
be phased in over a four-year period. For tax 
year 2017, the exclusion amounts will be up to 
$40,000 (married/CU couple, filing joint return), 
$30,000 (single, head of household, or qualify-
ing widow(er)/surviving CU partner), or $20,000 
(married/CU partner, filing separate return).

•• Veterans who were honorably discharged or re-
leased under honorable circumstances from active 
duty in the Armed Forces of the United States will 
be eligible for an additional $3,000 exemption.

This document is designed to provide guidance 
to taxpayers and is accurate as of the date issued. 
Subsequent changes in tax law or its interpreta-
tion may affect the accuracy of this publication.

General Information	
New Jersey’s income tax is a “pay-as-you-go” tax. 
You must pay the tax as you earn or receive income 
throughout the year. There are two ways to pay your 
income tax:

•• Withholding. If you are an employee, your em-
ployer withholds income tax from your pay and 
sends the tax to the Division of Taxation on your 
behalf. Tax also may be withheld from other 
income, including bonuses and gambling win-
nings. You may request that tax be withheld from 
pensions.

•• Estimated Tax Payments. Estimated tax means 
the amount of income tax you estimate you 
will owe for the year, after you subtract with
holdings and other credits. If you do not pay your 
tax through withholding, or if you do not have 
enough tax withheld, you must make estimated 
tax payments yourself to meet the requirement to 
pay the income tax due periodically throughout 
the year. You must make estimated tax payments 
if your estimated tax is more than $400.

When filing your income tax return, you must report 
any withholdings, estimated tax payments, and/or 
other credits. Subtract those amounts from your total 
New Jersey income tax due. If you owe any addi-
tional tax, you must pay it at that time.  

You may have to make estimated tax payments if 
you have income that is not subject to withholding. 
This includes income from self-employment, retire-
ment income (pension, annuity, IRA withdrawal), in-
terest, dividends, capital gains, rental income, prizes, 
and awards. You also may have to make estimated 
tax payments if not enough income tax is being 
withheld from your wages or other income. In addi-
tion, you may have to make estimated tax payments 

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/civilunionact.shtml
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if you (or you and your spouse) have two or more 
sources of income that, when combined, place you in 
a higher tax bracket than the bracket(s) at which tax 
was withheld on the income.

You can avoid making estimated tax payments by 
asking your employer to increase the amount of tax 
withheld from your wages. To do this, complete 
Form NJ-W4 and give it to your employer. 

If you have pension or annuity income, you can 
complete Form NJ-W-4P to request that the payer 
withhold New Jersey income tax from those pay-
ments. For more information, see Tax Topic Bulletin 
GIT-1, Pensions and Annuities.

Nonresident individuals, estates, or trusts that sell 
or transfer real property in New Jersey must make 
an estimated income tax payment on the gain from 
the transfer or sale. The estimated payment can be 
prepaid at any of the Division’s regional offices or 
provided to the settlement agent at closing along 
with the appropriate GIT/REP form. The settlement 
agent then files the payment and/or documentation 
with the county recording officer at the time the deed 
is filed. For more information or to get the GIT/REP 
forms, see Realty Transfer Information and Require-
ments for Sale/Transfer of Real Property in New Jersey.

Consider the following when determining whether 
estimated tax payments are required.

Filing Threshold Amount. You are not required 
to file a New Jersey income tax return or pay tax 
if your gross income for the entire year from all 
sources is equal to or less than the filing threshold 
amount for your filing status. If you file as single 
or married/CU partner filing separately or are filing 
on behalf of an estate or trust, the filing threshold 
amount is $10,000. If your filing status is married/
CU couple filing joint return, head of household, or 
qualifying widow(er)/surviving CU partner, the fil-
ing threshold is $20,000.

Retirement Income Exclusion. The maximum 
amount you may exclude depends on your filing sta-
tus. Increased exclusion amounts will be phased in 
over a four-year period beginning with tax year 2017 
as shown below. 

Note:	 Only taxpayers whose total income for the 
entire year from Line 26, Form NJ‑1040 
(Line 26, Column A, Form NJ‑1040NR) is 
$100,000 or less are eligible for the retire-
ment income exclusion.

Filing Status: Married/CU couple filing jointly
	 Tax Year 	 Maximum Exclusion
	 2016	 $	 20,000
	 2017	 40,000
	 2018	 60,000
	 2019	 80,000
	 2020	 100,000

Filing Status: Single, Head of Household, or Quali-
fying Widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner
	 Tax Year 	 Maximum Exclusion
	 2016	 $	 15,000
	 2017 	 30,000
	 2018	 45,000
	 2019	 60,000
	 2020	 75,000

Filing Status: Married/CU partner filing separately
	 Tax Year 	 Maximum Exclusion
	 2016	 $	 10,000
	 2017 	 20,000
	 2018	 30,000
	 2019	 40,000
	 2020	 50,000

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tgi-ee/git1.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/realtytransfees.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/realtytransfees.shtml
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Estimated Tax Requirements
Any individuals (residents or nonresidents) who 
can reasonably expect their New Jersey income tax 
liability to be more than $400 after subtracting with-
holdings and other credits must make estimated tax 
payments to New Jersey. This includes estates and 
trusts other than those meeting the two-year limita-
tion and other criteria under Internal Revenue Code 
Section 6654(l)(2). You must file a Declaration of 
Estimated Tax Voucher (Form NJ‑1040‑ES) with 
your payment unless you are making a payment by 
credit card or electronic check (e-check).

You may be required to make estimated tax pay-
ments to New Jersey even if you are not required to 
file federal estimates. Likewise, part-year residents 
and nonresidents must make New Jersey estimated 
tax payments if they meet the requirements. 

Due Dates. For estimated tax purposes, the year is 
divided into four payment periods, each with a spe-
cific payment due date. For calendar year taxpayers, 
the periods are January 1 – April 1, April 2 – June 1, 
June 2 – September 1, and September 2 – Decem
ber 31. If you do not pay enough tax on the income 
you receive for a given period by the payment due 
date, you may be charged interest. (See Interest on 
Underpayment on page 7.)

You may pay your New Jersey estimated tax in 
full on or before April 15 of the current tax year, 
or in equal installments due on or before April 15, 
June 15, and September 15 of the current tax year, 
and January 15 of the following year. When a due 
date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, 
that payment is due on the following business day.

Fiscal year taxpayers must estimate their tax for the 
period covered by their fiscal year, and change the 
payment due dates to correspond with the 15th day 
of the fourth, sixth, and ninth month of their fiscal 

year, and the first month after the end of their fiscal 
year.

If you were required to make quarterly estimated 
payments and you neglected to make estimated pay-
ments until the second, third, or fourth quarter, all 
past installments are due with your first filing, and 
the remaining installments are payable as if all quar-
terly estimated payments had been filed on time.

Income Changes. After filing one or two quarterly 
estimated payments during the year, you may experi-
ence an unanticipated increase or decrease in income, 
credits, exemptions, or deductions. When filing the 
next quarterly estimate, adjust your payment accord-
ingly. The instructions for Form NJ‑1040‑ES contain 
an Estimated Tax Worksheet and an Amended Com-
putation Schedule that will assist you in calculating 
the amended figures to be reported. If you no longer 
need to make estimated payments, you do not have to 
notify the Division of Taxation. 

If you were not originally required to make esti-
mated payments and you unexpectedly receive a 
sum of money during the year that, when added to 
your income, necessitates estimated filing, make an 
estimated payment by the next due date. You may 
pay the estimated tax in full on the next due date, or 
in equal installments on the remaining payment due 
dates. (See Due Dates above.)

Farmers. If your estimated New Jersey income from 
farming (including oyster farming) for the tax year 
is at least two-thirds of your total estimated income 
for the tax year, you may file a declaration of esti-
mated tax at any time on or before January 15 of 
the following year without penalty. Fiscal year filers 
may file on the 15th day of the first month of the fol-
lowing tax year. However, farmers filing estimated 
declarations by January 15 must pay estimated tax in 
full at the same time.
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January Payment. If you are a calendar year filer 
and file your New Jersey income tax return (Form 
NJ‑1040, Form NJ‑1040NR, or Form NJ‑1041) by 
February 15 following the end of the tax year, and 
you pay any remaining balance due in full with your 
return, it is not necessary to file the fourth quarter es-
timate, due on January 15. This also applies to origi-
nal estimated payments due because unanticipated 
income was received after September 1.

Estimating Income
To determine your estimated income for the year, 
use the Estimated Tax Worksheet in the instructions 
for Form NJ‑1040‑ES. An example of a completed 
worksheet appears on page 5.

In the example, the taxpayer completes the work-
sheet before April 15 and makes four estimated pay-
ments, beginning with the first on or before April 15. 
When paying by check or money order, the taxpayer 
should indicate on each Form NJ-1040-ES (Declara-
tion of Estimated Tax Voucher) the payment amount 
of $105 enclosed with each quarterly estimate. A 
taxpayer who completes the worksheet in August 
submits two Form NJ-1040-ES vouchers (Voucher 3 
and 4), indicates $210 on each voucher, and encloses 
a check or money order for $210 with each voucher. 
Do not send in the Form NJ-1040-ES vouchers when 
paying by e‑check or credit card. (See Making Esti-
mated Payments below.)

You also can use a blank income tax return (Form 
NJ‑1040, Form NJ‑1040NR, or Form NJ‑1041) to 
estimate income and tax. Using a blank tax return to 
calculate estimated tax is recommended since this 
form has all the income, credit, and deduction lines 
that will automatically remind you to take all in
come, credits, deductions, and payments into consid-
eration when calculating estimated tax payments. If 
you cannot readily project your income for the cur-
rent year, you should use the previous year’s income 
as a basis for determining the current year’s income. 

If you expect an increase (or decrease) in any cat-
egory of income, increase (or decrease) your income 
figure(s) accordingly.

Making Estimated Payments
If you have made estimated tax payments in the past, 
you may receive a packet that includes four pre-
printed estimated tax vouchers (Form NJ-104-ES) 
and envelopes. If you are making estimated payments 
for the first time, or you did not receive preprinted 
vouchers, you can get Form NJ‑1040‑ES vouchers and 
instructions online. 

Note:	 If your circumstances change and you no 
longer need to make estimated payments, 
you do not have to notify the Division of 
Taxation. This is true even if you received 
a packet of preprinted Form NJ-1040-ES 
vouchers.

Payment of Estimated Tax
Once you have determined that you are required 
to make estimated payments, there are a variety of 
ways you can make your payments. You may pay 
your estimated tax in full by the first due date or in 
four equal installments. Estimated payments may be 
made by:

Check or Money Order. Enter your Social Security 
number(s) or federal employer identification num-
ber (estates and trusts), and indicate the amount of 
the installment payment. Mail each voucher along 
with your payment for the amount due. If you are 
not using preprinted vouchers, you must enter your 
name(s) and address in the spaces provided. If your 
filing status is married/CU couple, filing a joint re-
turn, list each spouse’s Social Security number in 
the order these numbers appear on your income tax 
return. Make your check or money order payable to 
State of New Jersey – TGI.

www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml


 

Rev. 12/16

Estimating Income Taxes

5

*The figures shown are for illustration only.

 *2017 ESTIMATED TAX WORKSHEET FOR INDIVIDUALS  (Keep for your records)  – DO NOT FILE
(Estates and trusts should use a Fiduciary Return, Form NJ-1041, to calculate estimated tax)

	 1.	 TOTAL INCOME EXPECTED IN TAXABLE YEAR (before exclusions).......................................	 1._ _______________

	 2.	 Total Pension and OTHER RETIREMENT INCOME EXCLUSION.....................................	 2._ _______________

	 3.	 NEW JERSEY GROSS INCOME (Subtract Line 2 from Line 1)..................................................	 3._ _______________

	 4.	 a.	 Number of Exemptions___________  $1,000................................ 	4a._________________
		  b.	 Number of Exemptions___________  $3,000................................ 	4b._________________
		  c.	 Number of Exemptions___________  $1,500................................ 	4c._________________
			   To determine number of exemptions on Line 4a, 4b, 4c, see instructions.

	 5.	 Medical Expenses in excess of 2% (.02) of gross income (Line 3), 
	 	 	 qualified Archer MSA contributions, and health insurance costs 
	 	 	 of the self-employed......................................................................... 	 5._________________

	 6.	 Alimony and separate maintenance payments...................................... 	 6._________________

	 7.	 Qualified Conservation Contribution...................................................... 	 7._________________

	 8.	 Health Enterprise Zone Deduction......................................................... 	 8._________________

	 9.	 Alternative Business Calculation Adjustment..........................................	 9._________________

10.	 Total exemptions and deductions (Add Lines 4a through 9)........................................................	 10.________________

11.		 Taxable Income (Subtract Line 10 from Line 3)...........................................................................	 11.________________

	12.	 Property Tax Deduction (See instructions NJ-1040)....................................................................	 12.________________

	13.	 NEW JERSEY TAXABLE INCOME (Subtract Line 12 from Line 11)...........................................	 13.________________

	14.	 TAX (See Tax Rate Tables)..........................................................................................................	 14.________________

	15.	 Credit for income taxes paid to other jurisdictions (See instructions NJ-1040)............................	 15.________________

	16.	 BALANCE OF TAX (Subtract Line 15 from Line 14)....................................................................	 16.________________

	17.	 New Jersey income tax withheld or to be withheld................................ 	17._________________

18.	 Other Credits.......................................................................................... 	18._________________ 	

19.	 Total Payments/Credits (Add Lines 17 and 18)............................................................................	 19.________________

20.	 ESTIMATED TAX (Subtract Line 19 from Line 16).......................................................................	 20.________________

		  If the amount on Line 20 is more than $400, estimated tax payments are required.
21.	 Computation of installments: 
	 	 If first declaration is due to be filed on:
	 April 18, 2017................	enter 1/4 of Line 20 here 
	 June 15, 2017................	enter 1/3 of Line 20 here 	
	S eptember 15, 2017......	enter 1/2 of Line 20 here, or	
	 January 17, 2018...........	enter full amount of Line 20 here
	 and in the space provided on your voucher......................................	 21.________________

If you are applying an overpayment from the previous year, see instructions. 
.

30,000

30,000

0

2,000

2,000

28,000

0

0

28,000

420

420

2

0

0

0

420

105
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Note:	 Do not use the preprinted payment vouchers 
if you filed a joint return last year and this 
year you are filing your return using only 
your own Social Security number or you are 
filing a joint return with a different person.

Write your Social Security number(s) or federal em-
ployer identification number (estates and trusts), the 
form number (NJ‑1040‑ES), and the tax period the 
payment applies to on your check or money order. 
Mail your voucher and payment to:

State  of  New  Jersey

Division  of  Taxation

Revenue  Processing  Center

PO  Box  222
Trenton  NJ  08646-0222

Electronic Check (e-check). You may be able to 
make your estimated payments by e‑check. If you do 
not have Internet access, you can contact the Divi-
sion’s Customer Service Center (609‑292‑6400) or 
visit a regional office to make an e-check payment. 
(You do not have to file a Form NJ-1040-ES voucher 
if you pay by e-check.) 

You will need your Social Security number and date 
of birth to make an e-check payment. Estates and 
trusts use their federal employer identification num-
ber and the date of the decedent’s death or the date 
the trust was created. You also can schedule e‑check 
payments of estimated tax in advance.

Note: 	 New Jersey will not accept e-check pay-
ments made using an account that is funded 
from a financial institution outside the 
United States.

Credit Card. You can make your estimated payments 
by credit card online or by phone (1-888-673-7694) 
using a Visa, American Express, MasterCard, or 

Discover card. You also can pay by credit card by 
contacting the Division’s Customer Service Center 
(609‑292‑6400) or by visiting a regional office. You 
do not have to file a Form NJ-1040-ES voucher if 
you pay by credit card.  

Overpayments Carried Forward
If you overpaid your New Jersey income tax last 
year and you elected to credit all or part of that 
overpayment to the following year’s estimated taxes, 
include that credit when calculating this year’s es-
timated payment(s). The credit will automatically 
be applied to your first quarterly installment, but 
if you prefer, you may apply the credit partially 
or fully to any installment. Some taxpayers divide 
the credit evenly so that their installment payments 
also are equal. When applying your credit, subtract 
the amount of the credit you are applying from the 
installment amount due for the period, then pay the 
balance. If you are completing a voucher, indicate 
only the amount you are actually paying.

Credit for Estimated Tax on Return. When 
you file your resident, nonresident, or fiduciary tax 
return, take credit on your return (Line 50, Form 
NJ-1040; Line 46, Form NJ-1040NR; Line 31, Form 
NJ-1041) for all the estimated tax payments you 
made for the tax year. Amounts to include are:

•• Estimated tax payments made for the current tax 
year, including any payments made by nonresi-
dent individuals, estates, and trusts in connection 
with the sale or transfer of real property in New 
Jersey

•• Overpayment from last year’s return that was 
credited to this year’s estimated tax

•• Payments made by an S corporation on behalf of a 
nonresident/nonconsenting shareholder (nonresi-
dent individuals, estates, and trusts only).

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/eservicesother.shtml#git
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ot1.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/eservicesother.shtml#git
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ot1.shtml
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Note:	 Do not include tax paid by a partnership on 
behalf of a nonresident individual, estate, 
or trust on the line for reporting estimated 
payments. A nonresident partner must re-
port such payments on either Line 47 of the 
nonresident return (Form NJ-1040NR) or 
on Line 32a of the fiduciary return (Form 
NJ-1041).

Spouses may make joint estimated tax payments 
unless they are separated under a decree of divorce/
dissolution or separate maintenance or they have 
different taxable years. If joint payments are made, 
but the spouses choose to file separate income tax 
returns, the estimated tax paid may be treated as the 
estimated tax of either spouse, or it may be divided 
between them, as they agree. If the spouses make 
separate estimated tax payments and file separate tax 
returns, each spouse may take credit only for his or 
her own payments.

If you changed your name because of marriage/
civil union, divorce/dissolution, etc., and you made 
estimated tax payments using your former name, en-
close a statement with your return explaining all the 
payments you and/or your spouse made for the tax 
year and the name(s) and Social Security number(s) 
under which you made payments.

If your spouse died during the year and estimated 
payment(s) were made under both your Social Secu-
rity numbers, enclose a statement with your return 
listing the Social Security numbers and the amounts 
submitted under each.

Records
Complete the Record of Estimated Tax Payments 
schedule in the instructions for Form NJ-1040-ES 
each time you make an estimated payment. This 
schedule will provide you with a record of your esti
mated payments when you file your tax return for 

this year. You also can verify the amounts of your 
estimated payments online.

Interest on Underpayment
You will be charged interest on the underpayments 
if you do not pay (by withholdings or estimated pay-
ments) at least 80% of your tax liability during the 
year (662⁄3% for farmers) and your total tax is more 
than $400 after subtracting any allowable credits. 
This is true even if you pay all the taxes due by the 
filing deadline (April 15) for your tax return unless 
you meet one of the exceptions on Form NJ-2210. 
The amount of your underpayment is the difference 
between what you actually paid and the lesser of 
80% of this year’s total tax (662⁄3% for farmers) or 
100% of last year’s total tax. However, no interest 
will be assessed if you meet one of the exceptions 
discussed later in this bulletin, or you had no tax li-
ability on the previous year’s tax return (which cov-
ered a full year).

Example 
A taxpayer has a total tax liability on Line 44 of 
Form NJ‑1040 of $1,000. The taxpayer had $500 in 
New Jersey withholdings, made timely estimated 
payments that totaled $200, and paid the remaining 
$300 of tax due with Form NJ-1040 on April 15. An 
underpayment of estimated tax exists even though 
the taxpayer paid all taxes due by the return filing 
deadline. This is because the taxpayer paid only 
$700 in the form of withholdings, timely estimated 
payments, or other credits — less than the required 
80% ($800) of the total tax liability. Interest will be 
assessed unless the taxpayer meets one of the excep-
tions on Form NJ-2210.

If your estimated payments are made late, interest 
charges will be assessed on the underpayment from 
the due date of the payment(s) to the actual payment 
date(s).

www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/eservicesother.shtml#git
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Interest is assessed at the rate of 3% above prime 
rate from the date the underpayment was incurred 
(due date of the estimated payment) to the date the 
underpayment was paid, but only up to April 15.

Calculating Interest on 
Underpayment
If you think you owe interest on an underpayment of 
estimated tax, there are two ways to determine the 
amount due:
•• If you do not want to calculate the interest and re-

port it when you file your tax return, the Division 
of Taxation will calculate the amount due and bill 
you, or

•• You can calculate the interest by completing 
Form NJ-2210 and enclosing it with your return.

Form NJ-2210
Complete Form NJ-2210 to determine underpay-
ments of estimated tax, and to calculate the interest 
due on the underpayments. If you are completing 
and enclosing Form NJ-2210, mark the indica-
tor at Line 46 on Form NJ‑1040 or Line 43, Form 
NJ‑1040NR. Enter the amount due on Line 46, 
Form NJ-1040 or Line 43, Form NJ‑1040NR.

The following example illustrates how to complete 
Form NJ-2210, Part I, to determine the amount of 
underpayment for each quarter.

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml
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Example
Peter has a tax liability of $800 on Line 44 of his Form NJ‑1040. He has $360 in New Jersey income tax 
withholdings. He made one estimated payment of $150 on January 15. Peter completes Form NJ‑2210, 
Part I, as follows:

PART I	 FIGURING YOUR UNDERPAYMENT

	 1.	 Tax (Line 44, Form NJ-1040)..................................................................................................................	 1.	 800

	 2.	 Enter the total of Lines 48, 49, 51, 52, 53, and 54, Form NJ-1040........................................................ 	 2.	 360

	 3.	 Subtract Line 2 from Line 1 (If less than $400, do not complete the rest of this form)........................... 	 3.	 440

	4a.	 Multiply the amount on Line 1 by .80 (80%) (Two-thirds for qualified farmers)...................................... 	 4a.	 640

	4b.	 Enter last year’s tax (From last year’s Form NJ-1040, Line 44)............................................................. 	 4b.	 600

	 	            PAYMENT DUE DATES
		  (A)	 (B)	 (C)	 (D)
		  April 15	 June 15	S ept 15	 Jan 15
	 5.	 Use the lesser amount on either Line 4a or 4b and divide by 

four. Enter the result in each column............................................ 	 5.	 150	 150	 150	 150

	 6.	 Estimated tax paid and tax withheld per period (see instructions). 
If each column on Line 6 is greater than the corresponding  
column on Line 5, do not complete the rest of this form............... 	 6.	 90	 90	 90	 240

	 7.	 Enter the overpayment (Line 13) from the previous column. 
(Complete Lines 7 through 13 for one column before completing 
the next column.)..........................................................................	 7.		  0	 0	 0

	 8.	 Add Line 6 and Line 7..................................................................	 8.	 90	 90	 90	 240

	 9.	 Enter the total underpayment (Line 11 plus Line 12) from the 
previous column...........................................................................	 9.		  60	 120	 180

10.	 Enter Line 8 minus Line 9. If zero or less, enter zero................... 	 10.	 90	 30	 0	 60

11.	 Remaining underpayment from previous period. If Line 10 is 
zero enter Line 9 minus Line 8 otherwise enter zero................... 	 11.		  0	 30	 0

12.	 UNDERPAYMENT (If Line 5 is greater than Line 10, enter  
Line 5 minus Line 10)...................................................................	 12.	 60	 120	 150	 90

13.	 OVERPAYMENT (If Line 10 is greater than Line 5, enter 
Line 10 minus Line 5)...................................................................	 13.

When there is an underpayment in any column on Line 12, complete Form NJ-2210, Part II, to determine if 
any of the four exceptions eliminate interest charges on the underpayment for the quarter. Since Peter has an 
underpayment of estimated tax for all four quarters, he will complete Part II.

The following examples illustrate how to complete Form NJ-2210, Part II and the worksheets for Exceptions 
2, 3, and 4.
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Exceptions
The law allows certain exceptions that eliminate the 
imposition of interest charges on underpayments of 
estimated tax. Complete Form NJ‑2210 (and work
sheets) to determine if you meet any of the excep-
tions. Meeting any of the four exceptions for any 
quarter eliminates interest charges on the underpay-
ment for that quarter. One, two, three, or all four 
exceptions may be requested if necessary. You may 
meet different exceptions for each quarter. Once you 
have met an exception for each of the four quarters, 
it is not necessary to complete the worksheets for 
any other exceptions. In general, you should attempt 
the exceptions in the following order: Exception 1, 
Exception 4, Exception 3, Exception 2. For this bul-
letin, the exceptions will be explained in numerical 
order.

Exception 1
To qualify for Exception 1:
•• You must have filed a tax return and had a tax li-

ability with New Jersey for the prior year; and
•• Your prior year return must have covered the full 

year (12 months).

If you meet these qualifications and during the tax 
year you paid 100% of your prior year’s tax liability 
(in the form of timely estimated payments in four 
equal installments and/or withholdings), you will 
meet Exception 1 for one or more quarters. If you 
meet Exception 1 for all four quarters, it is not nec-
essary to file Form NJ-2210. The Division will auto-
matically verify these amounts.

Example
Peter had a prior year tax liability of $600. As stated earlier, Peter’s tax on Line 44, Form NJ-1040 was $800, 
his New Jersey withholdings were $360, and he made one estimated payment of $150 on January 15. This is 
how Peter completes Form NJ-2210, Part II, for Exception 1. 

You meet an exception and eliminate the interest charge on the underpayment of estimated tax for a quarter 
when the amount on Line 14 (the amount paid to date) is equal to, or more than, the amount on the exception 
line (Line 15, 16, 17, or 18) in the same column. Peter did not meet Exception 1 for any quarter.

PART II	 EXCEPTIONS
	 (See instructions, complete worksheets for exceptions 2, 3, and 4 and enclose computations for each exception claimed.) 

If you meet exception 1 at Line 15, do not file this form. 
These amounts will be automatically verified by the Division of Taxation.

14.	 Total amount paid and withheld from January 1 through 	 		  APRIL 15	 JUNE 15	S EPT 15	 JAN 15
	 payment due date shown. (Do not include withholdings after 

December 31.) (See instructions)..................................................... 	 14.	 90	 180	 270	 510

				    25% of Tax	 50% of Tax	 75% of Tax	 100% of Tax

15.	 Exception 1 – Enter prior year’s tax.................	 $600	 15.	 150	 300	 450	 600 

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/prntgit.shtml


 

Rev. 12/16

Estimating Income Taxes

11

Exception 2
In Exception 2, you calculate what your tax would be using last year’s income, but this year’s exemptions and 
tax rates.

Example
Peter’s gross income (Line 28, Form NJ‑1040) last year was $31,000. He claimed three exemptions (of $1,000 
each) on his return this year. He did not claim a credit for taxes paid to another jurisdiction. Peter completes 
the Exception 2 Worksheet and Part II as follows:

Peter did not meet Exception 2 for the first three quarters. However, since Line 14 in the fourth quarter column 
(January 15) is equal to or more than Line 16 in the same column, Exception 2 “worked” for the fourth quar-
ter underpayment. When Peter submits his Form NJ‑2210 with his return, no interest will be assessed on the 
fourth quarter underpayment. Drawing a single diagonal line across the column (as illustrated in the example) 
will remind you that you have met an exception for that period. When an exception is met, you do not need to 
calculate interest for that period.

PART II	 EXCEPTIONS 
(See instructions, complete worksheets for exceptions 2, 3, and 4 and enclose computations for each exception claimed.)  
If you meet exception 1 at Line 15, do not file this form. 
These amounts will be automatically verified by the Division of Taxation.

14.	 Total amount paid and withheld from January 1 through 	 	 	 APRIL 15	 JUNE 15	S EPT 15	 JAN 15
	 payment due date shown. (Do not include withholdings after 

December 31.) (See instructions).......................................................... 	 14.	 90	 180	 270	 510
	 25% of Tax	 50% of Tax	 75% of Tax	 100% of Tax

15.	 Exception 1 – Enter prior year’s tax................... 	 $600	 15.	 150	 300	 450	 600
	 25% of Tax	 50% of Tax	 75% of Tax	 100% of Tax
16.	 Exception 2 – Tax on prior year’s gross income using this year’s 

exemptions and tax rates...................................................................... 	 16.	 105	 210	 315	 420

Exception II	 Tax on prior year’s Gross Income using this year’s exemptions and tax rates

1.	 Enter last year’s NJ Gross Income (Line 28, NJ-1040)....................................................................	 1.	 31,000

2.	 Enter this year’s Total Exemptions (Line 29, NJ-1040)....................................................................	 2.	 3,000

3.	S ubtract Line 2 from Line 1..............................................................................................................	 3.	 28,000

4.	 Compute Tax on Line 3 (this year’s tax rates)..................................................................................	 4.	 420

5.	 Enter Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions (Line 41, NJ-1040)................................	 5.	 0
6.	 Subtract Line 5 from Line 4. Enter the applicable percentage of this amount on Line 16, 

Part II of this form.............................................................................................................................	 6.	 420
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Exception 3
You calculate Exception 3 by annualizing your in-
come. To annualize your income, calculate Excep-
tion 3 for each installment period as follows:

1.	 Determine the amount of your New Jersey Gross 
Income (Line 28, Form NJ‑1040) that is appli-
cable to the months in the tax year that occurred 
prior to the month in which the installment was 
due (e.g., actual income from January, February, 
and March for an installment due April 15, actual 
income from January, February, March, April, 
and May for an installment due June 15). These 
amounts are determined by reviewing actual 
records (W‑2s, pay stubs, bank and other state-
ments, etc.). Enclose a copy of your calculations 
with Form NJ‑2210 if you are using Exception 
3 to eliminate interest on an underpayment. For 
calendar year taxpayers, the time period is indi-
cated in each column of the Exception 3 Work-
sheet. However, to determine the amount of New 
Jersey Gross Income for an estate or trust, use 
period ending dates of February 28, April 30, and 
July 31.

2.	 Multiply the income for the period by the 
number of months in the entire tax year (a full 
year would be 12). Then divide the result by 

the number of months that occurred in the tax 
year prior to the month in which the installment 
was due. For full-year calendar year taxpayers, 
the math has already been done on the Excep-
tion 3 Worksheet. In this case, simply multiply 
the income for the period (Line 1, Exception 3 
Worksheet) by the multiplier on Line 2 of the 
Exception 3 Worksheet. For an estate or trust, 
the multipliers are 6, 3, and 1.7143 respectively. 
This is your annualized income for each install
ment period.

3.	 Subtract the total amount claimed for personal 
exemptions (Line 29, Form NJ‑1040) from the 
annualized income in each column.

4.	 Calculate the New Jersey tax on the annualized 
income and then subtract any credit claimed for 
taxes paid to other jurisdictions (Line 41, Form 
NJ‑1040) for each period.

5.	 Multiply the tax calculated for each period by 
the applicable percentage (20% for the first quar-
ter, 40% for the second quarter, and 60% for the 
third quarter). Exception 3 may only be calcu-
lated for the first three quarters of the year.

Example
Peter’s gross income for each period was as follows:

January 1 – March 31	 $  7,890
January 1 – May 31	 $13,500
January 1 – August 31	 $24,650

He claimed three exemptions (of $1,000 each) on his return this year. He did not claim a credit for taxes paid to 
another jurisdiction. Peter completes the Exception 3 Worksheet and Part II as follows (see next page):
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As the Exception 3 Worksheet above shows, Peter met Exception 3 for the first and second quarters. Conse-
quently, no interest charges will be assessed for those two quarters.

EXCEPTION III	 Tax on this year’s Annualized Income (attach computations) 
Estates and trusts, do not use the period ending dates shown. Instead use the  
following ending dates: 2/28, 4/30, and 7/31. Also, estates and trusts cannot use the 
annualization amounts shown on Line 2 and must use 6, 3, and 1.7143 respectively.

	 1/1 - 3/31	 1/1 - 5/31	 1/1 - 8/31 
1.	 Enter the portion of NJ Gross Income (Line 28, NJ-1040) that is  

applicable to each period shown......................................................................... 	 1.	 7,890	 13,500	 24,650

2.	 Annualization amounts........................................................................................ 	 2.	 4	 2.4	 1.5

3.	 Annualized Income (multiply Line 1 by Line 2).................................................... 	 3.	 31,560	 32,400	 36,975

4.	 Enter Total Exemptions (Line 29, NJ-1040)......................................................... 	 4.	 3,000	 3,000	 3,000

5.	S ubtract Line 4 from Line 3................................................................................. 	 5.	 28,560	 29,400	 33,975

6.	 Compute Tax on Line 5........................................................................................ 	 6.	 430	 445	 525

7.	 Enter the portion of the Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions 
(Line 41, NJ-1040) that is applicable to each period........................................... 	 7.	 0	 0	 0

8.	 Subtract Line 7 from Line 6. Enter the applicable percentage of this amount  
on Line 17, Part II of this form............................................................................. 	 8.	 430	 445	 525

 PART II	 EXCEPTIONS 
(See instructions, complete worksheets for exceptions 2, 3, and 4 and enclose computations for each exception claimed.)  
If you meet exception 1 at Line 15, do not file this form. 
These amounts will be automatically verified by the Division of Taxation.

14.	 Total amount paid and withheld from January 1 through	 		  APRIL 15	 JUNE 15	S EPT 15	 JAN 15
	 payment due date shown. (Do not include withholdings after 

December 31.) (See instructions).......................................................... 	 14.	 90	 180	 270	 510
	 25% of Tax	 50% of Tax	 75% of Tax	 100% of Tax

15.	 Exception 1 – Enter prior year’s tax................... 	 $600	 15.	 150	 300	 450	 600
	 25% of Tax	 50% of Tax	 75% of Tax	 100% of Tax

16.	 Exception 2 – Tax on prior year’s gross income using this year’s 
exemptions and tax rates...................................................................... 	 16.	 105	 210	 315	 420

	 20% of Tax	 40% of Tax	 60% of Tax	

17.	 Exception 3 – Tax on this year’s annualized income............................. 	 17.	 86	 178	 315	
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 EXCEPTION IV	 Tax on this year’s Actual Taxable Income over 3, 5, and 8-month periods. (attach computations)
	 1/1 - 3/31	 1/1 - 5/31	 1/1 - 8/31
			 
1.	 Enter the actual amount of NJ Taxable Income (Line 39, NJ-1040) that is  

applicable to each period shown.............................................................................................	 1.	 7,140	 12,250	 22,650

2.	 Compute Tax on Line 1............................................................................................................	 2.	 100	 172	 327

3.	 Enter the portion of the Credit for Income Taxes Paid to Other Jurisdictions 
(Line 41, NJ-1040) that is applicable to each period shown....................................................	 3.	 0	 0	 0

4.	 Subtract Line 3 from Line 2. Enter 90% of this amount on Line 18, Part II of 
this form...................................................................................................................................	 4.	 100	 172	 327

Exception 4
In Exception 4, you calculate the tax on your actual 
New Jersey taxable income for each installment pe-
riod. To calculate Exception 4 for each period:

1.	 Determine the amount of your New Jersey tax-
able income (Line 39, Form NJ‑1040) that is ap-
plicable to the months in the year that occurred 
prior to the month in which the installment was 
due. As in Exception 3, these amounts are deter-
mined by reviewing actual records (W‑2s, pay 
stubs, bank and other statements, etc.). Enclose 
a copy of your calculations with Form NJ‑2210 
if you are using Exception 4 to eliminate interest 
on an underpayment. For calendar year taxpay-
ers, the time period is indicated in each column 
of the Exception 4 Worksheet.

Note:	 Remember, when calculating your actual 
taxable income for the period, subtract 
your total exemptions and deductions 

(Line 35, Form NJ‑1040) and property tax 
deduction (Line 38, Form NJ‑1040) appli-
cable to the period, from your actual New 
Jersey gross income. In other words, sub-
tract prorated exemptions (3⁄12, 5⁄12, 8⁄12 of 
total) plus the actual alimony paid during 
the period, the actual deduction for medical 
expenses, the actual deduction for quali
fied conservation contributions, the actual 
health enterprise zone deduction, the actual 
alternative business calculation adjustment, 
and actual property tax deduction allowed 
for the period.

2.	 Calculate the New Jersey tax on the actual tax-
able income and then subtract any credit claimed 
for taxes paid to other jurisdictions (Line 41, 
Form NJ‑1040) applicable to each period.

3.	 Multiply the tax calculated for each period by 
90%. Like Exception 3, Exception 4 may only 
be calculated for the first three quarters of 
the year.

Example
Peter’s taxable income for each period was as follows:

			   January 1 – March 31		  $  7,140
			   January 1 – May 31		  $12,250
			   January 1 – August 31		  $22,650

He had no credit for taxes paid to another jurisdiction. Peter would complete the Exception 4 Worksheet and 
Part II as follows:
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After completing all four exceptions on Form NJ-2210, Part II, Peter did not meet an exception for the third 
quarter. Therefore, Peter owes interest on the underpayment for that quarter.

Calculating Interest Charges
If none of the exceptions eliminated interest charges 
on the underpayment for a period, calculate the in-
terest due for the period(s) using the Option 1 Table 
or the Option 2 Interest Rate Schedule in the Form 
NJ‑2210 instructions. You may use Option 1 only if:
•• You are a calendar year taxpayer; and
•• The estimated payments that you made during the 

year were paid by the appropriate due dates.

Example
Peter met exceptions for all but the third quarter 
underpayment. Line 5 of Form NJ‑2210 is $150 for 
each quarter (see page 8). Payments made for each 
quarter (Line 6, NJ‑2210) were: 1st quarter–$90; 2nd 
quarter–$90; 3rd quarter–$90, and 4th quarter–$240. 
Each installment was paid by the appropriate due 
date. Peter would complete Option 1 as follows (see 
next page):

PART II	 EXCEPTIONS 
(See instructions, complete worksheets for exceptions 2, 3, and 4 and enclose computations for each exception claimed.)  
If you meet exception 1 at Line 15, do not file this form. 
These amounts will be automatically verified by the Division of Taxation.

14.	 Total amount paid and withheld from January 1 through 	 	 	 APRIL15	 JUNE 15	S EPT 15	 JAN 15
	 payment due date shown. (Do not include withholdings after 

December 31.) (See instructions).......................................................... 	 14.	 90	 180	 270	 510
	 25% of Tax	 50% of Tax	 75% of Tax	 100% of Tax

15.	 Exception 1 – Enter prior year’s tax................... 	 $600	 15.	 150	 300	 450	 600
	 25% of Tax	 50% of Tax	 75% of Tax	 100% of Tax

16.	 Exception 2 – Tax on prior year’s gross income using this year’s 
exemptions and tax rates...................................................................... 	 16.	 105	 210	 315	 420

	 20% of Tax	 40% of Tax	 60% of Tax	

17.	 Exception 3 – Tax on this year’s annualized income............................. 	 17.	 86	 178	 315
	 90% of Tax	 90% of Tax	 90% of Tax	

18.	 Exception 4 – Tax on this year’s income over 3, 5, and 8-month 
periods................................................................................................... 	 16.	 90	 154.80	 294.30	
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19.	 TOTAL INTEREST............................................................................................... 	 $	 7	 53

Example
If Peter had not met exceptions for any of the four quarters, he would have calculated the interest due as shown 
below:

*  This worksheet may not reflect current interest rates. The figures shown are for illustration only.

OPTION 1*
	 A	 B	 C	 D	 E	 F	 G
	 	 Amount Due	 Balance Due	 Total Due	 Total Paid	 Balance	 Multiplier*	 Interest
	 PERIOD	 (Line 5, NJ-2210)	 Previous Qtr.	 (Col. A + B)	 (Line 6, NJ-2210)	 (Col. C - D)	 	 (Col. E  Col. F)
			   (Col. E)

	 1.	 4/16 - 6/15	 	 	 	 	 	 .010	

	 2.	 6/16 - 9/15						      .015

	 3.	 9/16 - 1/15	 150.00	 0	 150.00	 90.00	 60.00	 .021	 1.26

	 4.	 1/16 - 4/15						      .015

	 TOTAL INTEREST	 1.26

Peter enters the total interest amount on Line 19, Form NJ-2210 and on Line 46, Form NJ-1040.

Q 
U 
A 
R 
T 
E 
R

Q 
U 
A 
R 
T 
E 
R

OPTION 1*
	 A	 B	 C	 D	 E	 F	 G
	 	 Amount Due	 Balance Due	 Total Due	 Total Paid	 Balance	 Multiplier*	 Interest
	 PERIOD	 (Line 5, NJ-2210)	 Previous Qtr.	 (Col. A + B)	 (Line 6, NJ-2210)	 (Col. C - D)	 	 (Col. E  Col. F)
			   (Col. E)

	 1.	 4/17 - 6/16	 150.00		  150.00	   90.00	   60.00	 .010	     0.60

	 2.	 6/17 - 9/16	 150.00	   60.00	 210.00	   90.00	 120.00	 .015	   1.80

	 3.	 9/17 - 1/16	 150.00	 120.00	 270.00	   90.00	 180.00	 .021	   3.78

	 4.	 1/17 - 4/16	 150.00	 180.00	 330.00	 240.00	   90.00	 .015	   1.35

	 TOTAL INTEREST	   7.53

The total interest amount would be reported on Line 19, Form NJ-2210 and on Line 46, Form NJ-1040.

19.	 TOTAL INTEREST............................................................................................... 	 $	 1	 26
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Should You File Form NJ-2210?

Do you expect 
to owe more 
than $400 after 
subtracting 
income tax 
withholding  
and credits  
from your 
total tax? (Do 
not subtract 
estimated tax 
payments.)

Do you expect 
your income  
tax withhold-
ing and credits 
to be at least 
80% (662⁄3% for 
farmers) of the 
tax that will be 
reported on  
your income  
tax return?

Do you expect your 
income tax withholding 
and credits to be at least 
100% of the tax reported 
on your last year’s New 
Jersey income tax return?  
Note: You must have had 
a New Jersey tax liabil-
ity and filed a tax return 
last year that covered a 
12‑month period.

  Yes  No  

No Yes Yes

NoYou do NOT need to complete Form NJ-2210.

You may reduce or eliminate underpayment interest 
charged to you by completing Form NJ-2210.
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Online
•	 Division of Taxation website:	

www.njtaxation.org

•	 Email general State tax questions: 
nj.taxation@treas.nj.gov

	 Do not include confidential information such as 
Social Security or federal tax identification num-
bers, liability or payment amounts, dates of birth, 
or bank account numbers in your email.

•	 Subscribe to NJ Tax E-News, the Division  
of Taxation’s online information service, at: 
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/listservice.shtml

For More Information
By Phone
•	 Call the Division of Taxation’s Customer	

Service Center at 609-292-6400.

•	 Text Telephone Service (TTY/TDD) for 
Hearing-Impaired Users: 1-800-286-6613  
(toll-free within NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD) 
or 609-984-7300. These numbers are acces-
sible only from TTY devices. Submit a text 
message on any New Jersey tax matter and 
receive a reply through NJ Relay Services 
(711).

Forms and Publications
•	 Visit the Division of Taxation’s website:
		  Forms – www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/forms.shtml
		  Publications – www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pubs.shtml
•	 Call the Forms Request System at 1-800-323-4400 (within NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD) or 

609-826-4400 (Touch-tone phones only) to have printed forms or publications mailed to you.  
Note: Due to budgetary constraints, supplies are limited and only certain forms and publications 
can be ordered through this System.

In Writing
New Jersey Division of Taxation 
Technical Information Unit 
PO Box 281 
Trenton, NJ 08695-0281

In Person
Visit a New Jersey Division of Taxation regional 
office. For the address of the regional office 
nearest you call the Automated Tax Information 
System at 1-800-323-4400 or visit www.state.nj.us/
treasury/taxation/ot1.shtml

http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/
https://www.state.nj.us/treas/taxation/contactus_tyttaxa.shtml
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/listservice.shtml
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/forms.shtml
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pubs.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ot1.shtml
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ot1.shtml
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