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State Treasurer Sworn In

The Hon. Glenn A. Grant, Judge in the Appellate Division, administered the oath on Sept. 20, 
2016, to Ford M. Scudder to serve as State Treasurer. The Treasurer’s wife, Cristina, held 
the Bible during the swearing-in ceremony, which was attended by Division Directors and 
members of the Senior Staff. Treasurer Scudder was confirmed by the State Senate, follow-
ing approval by the Senate Judiciary Committee. He had previously served as Acting State 
Treasurer since Nov. 9, 2015. He and Cristina reside in Little Silver with their two daughters.

Homestead Benefit 
Filing Under Way
New Jersey homeowners are now 
filing their 2014 Homestead Benefit 
Applications. The Division of Taxa-
tion mailed applications for the 2014 
homeowner benefit to more than 1.1 
million New Jersey residents over a 
three-week period that began in mid-
September 2016. During the same 
period, the Division sent emails con-
taining instructions for downloading 
the 2014 application packet to an 
additional 85,000 residents. The 
homeowners who received emails 
had filed online in a prior year and 

indicated that they wanted to receive 
future applications electronically. 

The filing deadline for 2014 
Homestead Benefit Applications 
is Nov. 30, 2016. At the time this 
newsletter was published, almost 
457,000 homeowners already had 
filed their applications.

To be eligible for the 2014 home-
stead benefit, applicants had to be 
New Jersey residents who owned 
and occupied a home in New Jersey 
that was their principal residence on 
Oct. 1, 2014, paid property taxes on 
that home and had 2014 New Jersey 
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local property tax

Revaluation 
Initiative
In November of 2015, the Division 
of Taxation initiated a review of all 
towns and counties in New Jersey to 
ensure that they were in compliance 
with the uniformity clause of the 
State Constitution, which requires 
a uniform distribution of the tax 
burden. The Division performed de-
tailed statistical analyses, including 
review of assessment to sales ratios 
and coefficients of deviation, for 32 
towns that had not had a revaluation 
in 25 years or more. Public hearings 
were held, and based on the data 
and all other relevant materials, four 
municipalities were ordered by the 
Director of the Division of Taxation 
to perform a revaluation. The Union 
and Hudson County Boards of Taxa-
tion ordered two additional towns in 
each of their counties. Because of the 
Division’s initiative, the Middlesex 
County Board of Taxation recently 
announced that it will order two mu-
nicipalities to conduct revaluations. 
All counties are now actively order-
ing needed revaluations one year 
after the Division’s efforts to ensure 
fairness and equity for taxpayers.   

local property tax

Tax Assessors’ 
Calendar
Oct. 1 (on or before)–
•• Agricultural land values for farm-

land assessed under Farmland As-
sessment Act published by State 
Farmland Evaluation Advisory 
Committee (F.E.A.C.).

•• Table of Equalized Valuations for 
State School Aid promulgated by 
Director, Division of Taxation.

homestead benefit  - from page 1

gross income of $75,000 or less 
($150,000 or less for homeowners 
65 or older or blind or disabled).

Benefit amounts vary based on the 
applicant’s income, filing status, 
property taxes and whether the ap-
plicant was age 65 or older or blind 
or disabled. 

Most homeowners can file their 
applications either online or by 
phone (1-877-658-2972). Applicants 
should read the instructions in the 
application packet before attempt-
ing to file. Homeowners who sold 
or plan to sell their home should pay 
particular attention to the instruc-
tions for their situation to ensure they 
complete the application correctly.

More information on the homestead 
benefit, including eligibility require-
ments, is available on the Division 
of Taxation’s website. 

Correction
2014 Homestead Benefit 

Worksheet
The 2014 Homestead Benefit 
Worksheet in the center of the 
2014 Homestead Benefit Appli-
cation packet contains a printing 
error. The web address in the top, 
left-hand corner of the Worksheet 
is incorrect. There should not be 
a period between “nj” and “taxa-
tion” in the address. The Division 
of Taxation regrets any inconve-
nience this error may have caused.

File your 2014 Homestead Benefit 
Application online. continued on page 3
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•• Initial Application, Form F.S.1, 
for blast or radiation fallout 
shelter exemption filed with tax 
assessor. 

•• Initial Application, Form WS-1, 
for water supply and sewerage 
disposal facilities exemption filed 
with tax assessor. 

Oct. 1–
•• All real property in taxing district 

valued for tax purposes (pretax 
year).

•• $250 veteran’s property tax de-
duction eligibility established 
(pretax year).

•• $250 real property tax deduc-
tion for senior citizens (age 65), 
disabled persons or surviving 
spouses/civil union partners (age 
55) eligibility established (pretax 
year). Age or disability status 
established by Dec. 31 (pretax 
year).

•• Added Assessment List and dupli-
cate filed with County Tax Board. 

•• Omitted Assessment List and 
duplicate filed with County Tax 
Board.

•• Limited Exemption and Abate-
ment Audit Trail report filed with 
Property Administration and the 
County Tax Board.

•• Taxable property value in all dis-
tricts designated by the munici-
pality, including district proposed 
in ordinance, certified by assessor 
as not exceeding 15% or 20% of 
the total taxable property assessed 
in the municipality (pretax year). 

•• Proposed preliminary revenue 
allocation plan and property tax 
increment base of district, esti-
mate of taxable value of assessed 
property, statement of tax abate-
ments or exemptions expected 
to be granted, etc. certified by 
assessor.

•• Exempt real property sold to 
nonexempt owner or any real 
property improved after Oct. 1 
and before Jan. 1 valued and as-
sessed as of the first day of the 
month following completion or 
sale of property.

•• True taxable value of improve-
ment, conversion or construction 
of property that has applied for 
exemption and/or abatement de-
termined by assessor.

Oct. 1 (after)–
•• Assessor notified of structural 

material depreciation occurring 
after Oct. 1 and before Jan. 1. 

Oct. 25 (on or before)–
•• Added Assessment Certification 

for Fire Districts, Form CNC-3, 
provided by assessor/collector. 

Nov. 1 (on or before)–
For  Monmouth  County,  see 
Monmouth County Assessment 

Demonstration Program 
below.	

•• Initial Statements, Forms I.S., and 
Further Statements, Forms F.S., 
for property tax exemption filed 
with tax assessor.

•• Notice of Disallowance of farm-
land assessment issued by tax 
assessor.

•• Assessor  comple tes  Form 
CNC-3 and forwards original to 
tax collector.

Nov. 15–
For Monmouth County, see Mon-
mouth County Assessment Demon-
stration Program below.	

•• Deadline for filing proposed com-
pliance plans with Division of 
Taxation and County Tax Board.

•• Deadline for taxing districts’ ap-
peals of Table of Equalized Valu-
ations to New Jersey Tax Court.

Dec. 1 (prior to)–
•• Deadline for filing Form FA-1, 

Application for Farmland Assess-
ment (pretax year), in cases where 
assessed values reflect revalua-
tion of all property.

Dec. 1 (on or before)–
•• Appeals from added assessments 

filed with County Tax Board, or 
30 days from the date collector 
of the taxing district completes 
bulk mailing of tax bills for added 
assessments, whichever is later.

•• Appeals from omitted assess-
ments filed with County Tax 
Board, or 30 days from the date 
collector of the taxing district 
completes bulk mailing of tax 
bills for the omitted assessments, 
whichever is later.

Interest 6.25%
The interest rate assessed on amounts 
due for the period Jan. 1, 2016 – 
Dec. 1, 2016, will be 6.25%.

The assessed interest rate history is 
listed below.
	 Effective	 Interest
	 Date	 Rate
	 1/1/10	 6.25%
	 1/1/11	 6.25%
	 1/1/12	 6.25%
	 1/1/13	 6.25%
	 1/1/14	 6.25%
	 1/1/15	 6.25%
	 1/1/16	 6.25%

assessors’ calendar - from page 2
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Dec. 20 (on or before)–
•• County Tax Board certifies to 

Director, Division of Taxation the 
aggregate decline, if any, in the 
true value of vacant land, com-
paring current year to base year.

Dec. 31 (on or before)–
•• Legal advertisement of avail-

ability of Tax List for public 
inspection.

•• Applications for veterans’ deduc-
tions and senior citizens, disabled 
persons and surviving spouses/
civil union partners property tax 
deductions must be filed with 
assessor during the pretax year, 
thereafter with collector during 
the tax year. 

The complete Work Calendar is 
available on the Division’s website.

Monmouth County Assessment 
Demonstration Program
P.L. 2013, c.15, established a Real 
Property Assessment Demonstration 
Program to make the assessment of 
real property more precise by using 
technology driven procedures and 
protecting funding of municipal bud-
gets from the impact of losses due to 
appeal refunds. Monmouth County 
was the first county to adopt this 
program, which began Oct. 1, 2013. 
The following dates on the assessors’ 
calendar have been revised for mu-
nicipalities in Monmouth County: 

Nov. 1 (on or near)–
•• Legal advertisement of avail-

ability of Tax List for public 
inspection.

Nov. 1–
•• Preliminary assessment list com-

pleted by assessor and certified to 
County Tax Board (pretax year).

Nov. 15–
•• Assessor to notify each taxpayer 

by mail of the current assessment 
and preceding year’s taxes (pretax 
year).

Nov. 25 (on, before or after)–
•• Assessor to file certification of 

bulk mailing of Notification of 
Assessment with the County Tax 
Board within 10 days of comple-
tion of mailing. If County Tax 
Board completes bulk mailing, 
the County Tax Administrator 
prepares the certification within 
10 days of the date the bulk mail-
ing was completed.

End of November–
•• Deadline for taxing districts’ ap-

peals of Table of Equalized Valu-
ations to New Jersey Tax Court. 

The complete 2016 Monmouth 
County Work Calendar is available 
on the Division’s website. 

Criminal 
Enforcement
•• On April 1, 2016, as a result of 

a joint criminal investigation 
between the Office of Criminal 
Investigation (OCI) and the Bur-
lington County Prosecutor’s Of-
fice, defendants Donald, Denise 
and Dianna Horner were arrested 
on charges of filing false tax re-
turns for the years 2010 through 
2013. Donald and Denise Horner 
were also charged with failure 
to pay income taxes based on 
$178,890 of unreported income 
related to the Delran Emergency 
Squad during the years 2010 
through 2013. The case awaits ap-
plication for Pretrial Intervention 
by the defendants.

•• On April 11, 2016, in Middlesex 
County Court, Henry De La Rosa, 
owner of the Busanka Restaurant 
in Port Reading, New Jersey, was 
sentenced to three years’ proba-
tion and ordered to pay restitution 
of $53,391 for failure to file and 
remit Sales and Use Taxes to the 
State of New Jersey for tax years 
2010 through 2014. This case 
was prosecuted by the Middlesex 
County Prosecutor’s Office and 
investigated by OCI’s Financial 
Investigations Unit.

•• On April 12, 2016, Elizabeth 
Harris was arrested outside her 
residence in Paterson, New Jer-
sey and charged with two counts 

continued on page 5

assessors’ calendar - from pg. 3

Current Amnesty Programs
The following jurisdiction is conducting a tax amnesty program. During the designated amnesty period, taxpay-
ers have a chance to pay back taxes with reduced (or eliminated) penalty and/or interest. For more information, 
including eligibility requirements, or to obtain an application, visit the jurisdiction’s website.

Pennsylvania	 4/21/17 – 6/19/17	 www.revenue.pa.gov/taxamnesty
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of filing a fraudulent return, one 
count of providing false informa-
tion and one count of theft relat-
ing to her 2014 and 2015 NJ-1040 
tax filings. This case was a direct 
result of cooperation among vari-
ous units within the Division of 
Taxation and information devel-
oped from an OCI search warrant. 

•• On April 26, 2016, Fort Lee Po-
lice conducted a motor vehicle 
stop that resulted in the seizure 
of 22.0 cartons of contraband 
cigarettes, two receipt books, 
various phones and $10,040 in 
U.S. currency. All evidence was 
seized by OCI special agents of 
the Special Investigations Unit. 
Jose L. Delosangeles and Jose 
G. Delosangeles, both of New 
York City, were arrested and 
charged with third-degree pos-
session of counterfeit New Jersey 
cigarette stamps, third-degree 
failure to maintain records and 
fourth-degree engaging in con-
duct requiring licensure without 
registration. Both subjects were 
issued summons complaints and 
released without incident. Fort 
Lee Police also charged the sub-
jects with fourth-degree transpor-
tation of contraband cigarettes.

•• On April 27, 2016, the State 
Grand Jury returned a multiple-
count indictment against 10 al-
leged members and associates 
of the New York-based Geno-
vese organized crime family on 
charges including first-degree 
racketeering for allegedly reaping 
millions of dollars in New Jersey 
through loansharking, unlicensed 
check cashing, gambling, money 
laundering, including launder-
ing of drug proceeds, and tax 
evasion. Another defendant was 

continued on page 6

charged in connection with the 
laundering of drug money, and the 
wives of three of the defendants 
were charged with tax fraud and 
failure to pay tax. This was a joint 
investigation by the New Jersey 
Division of Criminal Justice and 
the Waterfront Commission of 
New York Harbor conducted 
with assistance from the New 
York and Queens County District 
Attorneys’ Offices and other law 
enforcement agencies, including 
OCI. 

•• On April 29, 2016, Steven Turner 
of New Hope, Pennsylvania, 
was convicted of one count of 
third-degree failure to pay taxes 
as a result of his failure to pay 
his income tax liability for 2008. 
Restitution totals $248,731.39. 
Third-degree crimes carry a 
sentence of three to five years in 
State prison and a criminal fine of 
up to $15,000. Members of OCI’s 
Technical Enforcement Unit 
conducted the investigation and 
the Mercer County Prosecutors 
Office prosecuted the case.

•• On May 23, 2016, Dr. Michael 
H. Rieber, former Deputy Mayor 
of Livingston, New Jersey, was 
indicted on three counts of filing 

fraudulent New Jersey 
Gross Income Tax re-
turns and one count of failing to 
pay New Jersey income tax for 
the years 2009, 2010 and 2011. 
All the counts were third-degree 
crimes. It is alleged that Michael 
Rieber utilized fraudulent part-
nerships, claiming overinflated 
expenses, resulting in large losses 
to offset legitimate partnership 
income. As agreed in the appli-
cation for Pretrial Intervention, 
Dr. Rieber is to pay the State 
$250,000 (tax, interest and pen-
alty). This case was investigated 
by OCI and prosecuted by the 
New Jersey Division of Criminal 
Justice.

•• On June 16, 2016, OCI spe-
cial agents and the Division of 
Criminal Justice, after a joint 
investigation into allegations of 
identity theft, Social Security 
fraud and New Jersey tax viola-
tions, executed a search warrant 
on six locations (five personal 
residences and one business). 
Maria Frank and Shirley Frank 
were arrested for identity theft 
and Social Security fraud while 
Sonny Frank, Rocky Frank and 
Alex Frank were issued complaint 

Enforcement Summary Statistics
Third Quarter 2016

Following is a summary of enforcement actions for the quarter ending 
Sept. 30, 2016.

Number	 Amount	         
•	 Bank Levies	 743	 $  2,623,038
•	 Certificates of Debt	 3,065	 52,536,796
•	 Seizures	 66	 2,144,924
•	 Auctions	 16	 90,269
•	 Warrants of Satisfaction	 3,695

criminal enforcement - from page 4
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plea deal on Jan. 7, 2016, but it 
expired without either of them 
accepting it. Alayat was warned 
that any attempt to leave the U.S. 
would be construed as an attempt 
to flee prosecution. She was ar-
rested Feb. 11, 2016, at JFK In-
ternational Airport attempting to 
board a flight to Amman, Jordan. 
Salahedin was arrested shortly 
after dropping Alayat off at the 
airport. OCI coordinated with 
the U.S. Department of Home-
land Security and Port Authority 
Police in the arrests. Alayat and 
Salahedin were indicted March 2, 
2016. Alayat also pled guilty in 
August to attempting to corruptly 
persuade a cooperating witness 
to lie to law enforcement about 
her identity by promising to pay 
$500. Alayat has been sentenced 
to a one-year prison term. Salahe-
din’s trial is set to begin Nov. 13, 
2016. 

	 This was a complex and mul-
tilevel, multistate transnational 
criminal case developed and car-
ried out by OCI special agents 
with the assistance of the federal 
government.  

Tax Briefs
Gross Income Tax 
No Credit for Pennsylvania Local 
Services Tax — A taxpayer asked 
the Division if he was permitted to 
claim a credit for taxes paid to an-
other jurisdiction on his New Jersey 
Gross Income Tax return for the 
amount he paid for the Pennsylvania 
local services tax (LST). 

New Jersey resident taxpayers may 
claim a credit on their resident in-
come tax return for taxes paid to any 
other state or political subdivision in 

summonses on the tax code viola-
tions. All subjects are members of 
the same family. For the period 
2010 through 2014, Sonny, Rocky 
and Alex Frank, along with their 
wives, are alleged to have filed 
fraudulent NJ-1040s and failed 
to pay tax due, and Alex Frank 
failed to file NJ-1040s. Bank ac-
counts containing more than $2 
million were frozen, four safe 
deposit boxes were searched 
and their contents seized. This 
included more than $500,000 in 
cash, high-end jewelry and a va-
riety of silver, gold and platinum 
coins. Agents from OCI’s Special 
Investigations Unit participated in 
the execution of search warrants. 
OCI’s Financial Investigations 
Unit led the investigation into the 
tax evasion charges.

•• On June 16, 2016, one of two 
defendants in an OCI cigarette 
smuggling case was accepted into 
a Pretrial Intervention Program 
and the other defendant was in-
dicted by a Grand Jury. Sentenc-
ing is pending. A compliance 
inspection at the Krauszer’s in 
Riverside, New Jersey, on Oct. 2, 
2015, revealed a large inventory 
of untaxed tobacco products and 
a large sum of cash believed to 
be the proceeds of the prima facie 

contraband activity. OCI charged 
two owners of the business with 
failure to file a tax return and 
failure to maintain records. The 
judge ordered the defendants to 
pay a total of $4,575.11 in tax 
restitution based on the inventory 
of tobacco products seized dur-
ing the inspection. Additionally, 
the Court ordered that half of the 
$20,736 cash seized during the 
inspection be forfeited. 

•• A New Jersey-based criminal case 
initiated by OCI special agents 
involving multiple jurisdictions 
was brought to the attention of 
the U.S. Attorney’s Office. On 
June 16, 2016, Laila Alayat of 
Elmwood Park, New Jersey, pled 
guilty to conspiracy to traffic in 
contraband cigarettes and wit-
ness tampering for her part in a 
transnational cigarette smuggling 
operation centered in New Jersey. 
The scheme allegedly used shell 
businesses to purchase at least 
$9.5 million worth of Virginia-
stamped cigarettes and transport 
them to New Jersey for illegal 
resale. Alayat, 37, faces up to 15 
years in prison when sentenced. 

	 Complaints filed in U.S. District 
Court in Virginia in February 
2016 alleged Alayat and Eyad 
Salahedin, also of Elmwood 
Park, along with others acting on 
their behalf, purchased millions 
of dollars worth of cigarettes 
from Virginia wholesale club 
stores using cash and keeping 
each purchase below $10,000 
so federal forms reporting their 
names would not be required. The 
government alleged that of 1,735 
cash transactions between March 
2014 and August 2015 at Virginia 
Sam’s Club stores totaling $6.3 
million, none exceeded $10,000. 
The defendants were offered a continued on page 7

Public Auction 
Information

Announcements of upcoming 
public auctions of seized prop-
erty are published on the Divi-
sion of Taxation’s website under 
Auction Information. Select the 
name of the business from the 
list for details about that auction.

criminal enforcement - from pg. 5
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accordance with N.J.S.A. 54A:4-1. 
N.J.S.A. 54A:4-1(a) provides that a 
“resident taxpayer shall be allowed 
a credit against the tax otherwise due 
under this act for the amount of any 
income tax or wage tax imposed for 
the taxable year by another state of 
the United States or political subdi-
vision of such state…” 

The LST is a local tax payable by 
all individuals who hold a job or 
profession within a taxing jurisdic-
tion in Pennsylvania that imposes the 
tax. It is similar to an occupational 
privilege tax. Each individual who 
works in a taxing jurisdiction for any 
length of time during the tax year is 
liable for the LST. 

The Division responded that because 
the LST is not an income tax or a 
wage tax, the taxpayer cannot claim 
a credit for taxes paid to another ju-
risdiction on his New Jersey Gross 
Income Tax return for the LST.

Litter Control Fee
Related-Company Transactions — 
The Division received an inquiry 
from a taxpayer that purchases 
products from suppliers, then resells 
those products to a related company 
that is wholly owned by the same in-
dividuals or companies that own the 
taxpayer. The related company then 
sells the products to its customers in 
its retail stores. The taxpayer wanted 
to know whether the transactions 
between the related companies are 
subject to the Litter Control Fee.

The Litter Control Fee is a user fee 
imposed on all gross receipts from 
sales of litter-generating products 
sold in New Jersey by any manu-
facturer, wholesaler, distributor or 
retailer of litter-generating products 
engaged in business in the State. A 
retailer with less than $500,000 in 

annual sales (both retail and whole-
sale) of litter-generating products is 
exempt from the Litter Control Fee. 
N.J.S.A. 13:1E-216. In order for 
the exemption to apply, the annual 
amount of all sales of goods defined 
as “litter-generating” products that 
are made within New Jersey for use 
and consumption within New Jersey 
must be less than $500,000.

The Division advised the taxpayer 
that a sale of litter-generating prod-
ucts by one company to a related 
company that is wholly owned by 
the same individuals or companies is 
not subject to the Litter Control Fee. 
The company making the wholesale 
sales may take such sales as a deduc-
tion on the Litter Control Fee return 
(Form LF-5). 

Sales and Use Tax
Exempt Organizations: Occasional 
Fundraising Sales — A taxpayer 
asked whether a nonprofit organiza-
tion that has a valid Exempt Orga-
nization Certificate (Form ST-5) is 
exempt from collecting New Jersey 
Sales Tax for occasional fundrais-
ing sales.

The Division answered that the non-
profit organization is not required 
to collect Sales Tax if it makes only 
occasional fundraising sales, the 
sales events are relatively short in 
duration and all of the proceeds go 
to the exempt organization. N.J.A.C. 
18:24-9.11. Examples of qualifying 
occasional fundraising sales are: an 
annual book and/or greeting card 
sale lasting a few weeks; a gift mer-
chandise sale or a plant or craft sale 
that occurs several times a year and 
lasts one or two days.

Eyelash Extension Services — A 
salon owner inquired if charges 
for eyelash extension services 

performed in a salon are 
subject to New Jersey Sales 
Tax.

The New Jersey Sales and Use Tax 
Act imposes Sales Tax on the retail 
sale of enumerated services, unless 
an exemption or exclusion applies. 
N.J.S.A. 54:32B-3(b). Personal 
services are exempt from Sales Tax 
because these are not considered a 
“retail sale” under the Act. A per-
sonal service is one that involves 
the transfer of tangible personal 
property as an inconsequential ele-
ment of the service, for which no 
separate charge is made. N.J.S.A. 
54:32B-2(e)(4)(A). 

The Division advised the salon 
owner that eyelash extension ser-
vices performed in the salon are 
exempt from Sales Tax as a personal 
service. However, the salon owner 
was advised that the salon must pay 
Sales Tax on the supplies and equip-
ment used to provide the eyelash 
extension services. 

Thrift Store Exemption: NJ Work 
First Community Work Experience 
Program — The Division received 
an inquiry from an exempt organiza-
tion that was considering opening 
a thrift shop. The organization was 
planning to use workers from the NJ 
Work First Community Work Expe-
rience Program (CWEP) at the thrift 
store and wanted to know whether 
CWEP participants would be consid-
ered volunteers for purposes of the 
thrift shop exemption for nonprofit 
organizations.

An exempt organization that con-
tinuously operates a store, or the 
equivalent of a store, such as a 
mail-order or Internet business, is re-
quired to collect Sales Tax. N.J.S.A. 
54:32B-9(c)(2). There is, however, 

continued on page 8
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an exemption for a qualifying thrift 
store or shop. An exempt organiza-
tion that operates a store or shop is 
exempt from collecting Sales Tax 
on sales of donated merchandise if: 

•• At least 75% of the store mer-
chandise consists of donated 
items, and

•• At least 75% of the work to op-
erate the store is performed by 
volunteers.

Based on information provided by 
the New Jersey Department of Hu-
man Services, Division of Family 
Development, the CWEP gives in-
dividuals an opportunity to acquire 
skills, training, knowledge and work 
habits necessary to secure unsubsi-
dized employment. The placements 
are limited to nonprofit govern-
ment agencies or not-for-profit 
community-based employers. The 
participants receive public assistance 
in return for their work activity. 
Thus, the participants are compen-
sated for their work, even though the 
employers they are placed with do 

not directly pay them for the work 
performed. 

The Division advised that since the 
program participants that are placed 
through the CWEP are compensated 
for their work activity with public 
assistance benefits, they cannot be 
considered volunteers for purposes 
of meeting the thrift store exemption 
for exempt organizations. 

In Our Courts
Administration
Untimely Complaint – Joy L. De-
Maio v. Director, Division of Taxa-
tion; decided May 25, 2016; Tax 
Court Docket No. 011697-2015.

On May 7, 2009, the Division issued 
a notice of assessment for unpaid 
Cigarette Tax and Sales and Use Tax 
to Joy DeMaio (Plaintiff). Plaintiff 
did not protest, appeal or pay the 
assessment. The Division issued a 
notice and demand for payment of 
tax on Nov. 1, 2011. 

On Dec. 15, 2011, Plaintiff protested 
the notice and demand for payment 
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of tax, claiming that she did not 
purchase the cigarettes. On Jan. 20, 
2012, the Division issued a protest 
denial notice to Plaintiff, which 
stated that the period to protest or 
appeal the original notice of assess-
ment expired in August 2009 (90 
days after it was issued). The denial 
notice, which was sent by certified 
mail, advised Plaintiff that she had 
90 days to appeal the Division’s 
decision to Tax Court. The return 
receipt was signed but the date was 
not identified. On Jan. 26, 2012, the 
Division filed a certificate of debt. 
Plaintiff then sent letters to the Divi-
sion in February and April of 2012 
claiming that she never received the 
notice of assessment and did not 
know why the certificate of debt was 
filed against her.

On July 23, 2015, Plaintiff filed a 
complaint with the Tax Court chal-
lenging the notice of assessment and 
protest denial notice. The Division 
moved to dismiss Plaintiff’s com-
plaint due to untimely filing. 

The Court reviewed the sequence 
of events and found Plaintiff’s com-
plaint was untimely filed by more 
than three years. As such, the Court 
did not have jurisdiction to hear the 
case. The Court noted that the protest 
denial notice provided Plaintiff with 
the address for filing the complaint 
and the telephone number of the Tax 
Court Management Office to address 
any questions regarding filing the 
complaint.  

Gross Income Tax
Erroneous Refunds – Robert H. 
Hill and Sarah K. Hill v. Director, 
Division of Taxation; decided June 
17, 2016; Appellate Division Docket 
No. A-1980-13T1, affirming Tax 
Court 27 N.J. Tax 311 (2013).

Pay NJ Taxes Electronically
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/payelect.shtml

Electronic Check (E-Check)

 

Credit Card Pay online or by phone (1-888-673-7694).

	

Make a payment directly from 
your bank account online or 
by phone (609-292-6400).
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Robert Hill and Sarah Hill (Plain-
tiffs) were two minors who resided 
in Pennsylvania. Both were ben-
eficiaries of New Jersey resident 
trusts created by their grandparents. 
The trustee paid New Jersey tax 
on behalf of each Plaintiff on the 
income from the trusts for tax years 
2006 and 2007. The Plaintiffs’ father 
filed a refund claim for each, claim-
ing that neither Plaintiff received 
New Jersey source income in either 
2006 or 2007. The Division initially 
denied the refunds but subsequently 
approved and issued them in 2008.

In 2010, a tax audit determined 
that Plaintiffs received New Jersey 
source income from the trusts in tax 
years 2006 and 2007. As a result, 
the Division issued a notice of defi-
ciency to each Plaintiff.

The Tax Court determined that the 
trust income was taxable to New Jer-
sey and that N.J.S.A. 54A:9-4(c)(4) 
permitted the Division to recover the 
previously issued refunds because 
they resulted in an underpayment 
of Gross Income Tax. Based on 
prior court decisions pertaining to 
the Corporation Business Tax Act, 
the judge limited the Division’s 
ability to recoup erroneous Gross 
Income Tax refunds to situations 
where the refunds were paid as a 
result of purely clerical errors rather 
than judgment errors. The Court 
noted that Lennox, Inc. v. Director, 
Division of Taxation, 20 N.J. Tax 
464, 475 (Tax 2002) defined an 
error in judgment to refer “only to 
an erroneous final determination of 
the merits of a taxpayer’s liability 
for tax, resulting from a mistaken 
interpretation of substantive law 
or a misunderstanding of the facts 
relating to the determination.” Be-
cause the Division did not issue final 

determinations to the Plaintiffs, the 
Tax Court held that the refunds were 
recoverable as they were the result 
of clerical errors.  

Plaintiffs appealed the Tax Court 
decision. The Appellate Division 
affirmed substantially for the reasons 
expressed in the Tax Court opinion, 
finding the decision was well-
reasoned and based on controlling 
precedent.  

Earned Income Tax Credit – 
Nnebe v. Director, Division of Taxa-
tion; decided May 23, 2016; Tax 
Court Docket No. 000024-2015.

In 2010, Ebere Nnebe (Plaintiff) 
and his wife, who at the time were 
living in Hamilton, New Jersey, 
entered into a separation agreement 
whereby they would live apart but 
not divorce. Plaintiff gave sole and 
exclusive use of the home to his 
wife, and they shared joint custody 
of their children. Plaintiff filed his 
2012 NJ-1040 Gross Income Tax 
return using the Hamilton address, 
reporting his filing status as head of 
household, claiming his third child 
as his dependent and claiming the 
New Jersey Earned Income Tax 
Credit (NJEITC). In 2014, the Divi-
sion audited Plaintiff’s NJ-1040 and 
denied his NJEITC and his head of 
household filing status, finding that 
Plaintiff did not maintain a New 
Jersey residence for more than six 
months and that his principal resi-
dence was New York. 

Plaintiff argued that because the 
Internal Revenue Service (IRS) did 
not deny his federal 2012 Earned 
Income Credit (EIC), he was en-
titled to the NJEITC. The Tax Court 
responded that even though the IRS 
did not deny the federal EIC, the 
Division was not prevented from 

in our courts - from page 8 challenging and denying a 
claim for the NJEITC. 

The Tax Court ruled that a taxpayer 
has the burden of proving that he is 
entitled to a tax credit. The federal 
EIC requires that a claimant have a 
qualifying child who qualifies as a 
dependent and shares the same prin-
cipal place of abode with the claim-
ant for more than six months of the 
year. Additionally, a claimant who is 
married must qualify to file his/her 
return with the filing status of mar-
ried filing jointly or head of house-
hold. Plaintiff testified that all three 
children stayed with their mother 
every night and that he lived in New 
York during the week. Because the 
child for whom Plaintiff claimed 
the NJEITC lived with his wife, the 
child did not share Plaintiff’s abode. 
Consequently, the Court found that 
Plaintiff did not qualify to file his 
return using the head of household 
filing status. As a result, he was not 
eligible for the NJEITC. The Court 
dismissed Plaintiff’s complaint and 
upheld the Division’s denial of the 
NJEITC. 

In Our Legislature
Multiple Taxes
Business Employment Incentive 
Program (BEIP) Revised Payout 
Schedule — P.L. 2016, c.9, revises 
the payout schedule for the Business 
Employment Incentive Program 
(BEIP) tax credits originally estab-
lished by P.L. 2015, c.194. Under 
chapter 194, a business that was 
previously approved for a BEIP 
grant could elect to convert its grant 
to a tax credit. Under this new law, 
the credit for grant amounts accrued 
but not paid during calendar years 
2008 through 2013 is to be paid in 
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five installments over a five-year 
period beginning in 2017 as follows: 
5 percent of the accrued amount in 
year one, 20 percent of the accrued 
amount in year two and 25 percent 
of the accrued amount in years three, 
four and five. 

Tax Calendar 
The following three calendars pro-
vide listings of filing and payment 
dates for tax year 2016 (Jan. 1, 
2016 – Dec. 31, 2016) and tax year 
2017 (Jan. 1, 2017 – Dec. 31, 2017) 
for businesses and individuals:

•• Chronological List of Filing 
Deadlines — This calendar is for 
use by both businesses and indi-
viduals. If you are responsible for 
a return that is not in this calendar, 
please refer to the instructions 
that accompanied the return, or 
contact the Customer Service 
Center at 609-292-6400 for the 
appropriate filing deadline.

		  2016	 2017

•• Alphabetical Summary of Due 
Dates by Tax Type

	 	 2016	 2017

•• Payment Dates for Weekly 
Payers — An employer or other 
withholder of New Jersey Gross 
Income Tax is a “weekly payer” 
if the amount of tax it withheld 
during the previous tax year was 
$10,000 or more. 

		 2016 	 2017 
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       important
            phone
         numbers

Customer Service Ctr.....609-292-6400
Automated Tax Info....1-800-323-4400
........................................609-826-4400

Homestead Benefit Hotline
	 for Homeowners......1-888-238-1233
Property Tax Reimbursement  

Hotline.....................1-800-882-6597
Earned Income Tax Credit  

Information................609-292-6400
Business Paperless Telefiling  

System........................609-341-4800
Alcoholic Bev. Tax..........609-633-7068
Corp. Liens, Mergers, Withdrawals   

& Dissolutions...........609-292-5323
Director’s Office.............609-292-6400
Inheritance Tax...............609-292-5033
Local Property Tax.........609-292-7974
Motor Fuels Tax  

Refunds......................609-633-8870
Public Utility Tax............609-633-2634
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http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/chronolist16.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/chronolist17.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/alphasum16.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/alphasum17.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/paydates16.pdf
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/paydates17.pdf

