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Introduction 

This bulletin explains how and when to file 

New Jersey sales and use tax returns. It in-

cludes illustrated, step-by-step instructions 

on completing and filing both the quarterly 

returns and monthly remittances used by 

most businesses (Forms ST-50 and ST-51) 

and the Annual Business Use Tax Return 

(Form ST-18B) used by certain qualifying 

�nonvendors.� 

 

General Information 
Retail sales of most merchandise and certain 
services sold within New Jersey are subject to 
State sales tax at the current rate of 6%. Request 
Tax Topic Bulletin S&U-4, New Jersey Sales 
Tax Guide, for information on the taxability of 
products and services. 

Use tax is a compensating tax which the buyer 
must pay directly to the State whenever sales tax 
is not collected by the vendor of certain taxable 
products or services acquired for use in New 
Jersey. Use tax is calculated at the same rate as 
sales tax. For more information, request our 
publication ANJ-7, Use Tax in New Jersey. 

Leases and Rentals. The New Jersey Sales and 
Use Tax Act makes a distinction between leases 
and rentals for sales and use tax purposes. Rent-
als are short-term transactions with an original 
contract term of no more than 28 days and are 
treated as retail sales. Any sales tax due on the 
rental charge is paid by the renter (the person 
who pays to rent the item). A lease is a long-
term transaction with an original contract term 
of more than 28 days. The lessor (generally, the 
owner of the property) is responsible for paying 
use tax based on either the purchase price of the 
property or the total amount of payments attribu-
table to the lease directly paid by the lessee (not 
including separately stated nontaxable charges, 
such as finance charges). For more information, 
request Tax Topic Bulletin S&U-12, Leases and 
Rentals. 
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Sales and Use Tax Returns. Every entity regis-
tered in New Jersey to collect sales tax or to re-
mit use tax must file a sales and use tax return 
on a regular basis using the appropriate form(s). 
The amount of tax due for each filing period 
must be remitted to the State on or before the 
date on which the return is due. 

The Division of Taxation sends quarterly return 
and monthly remittance forms to businesses 
when they first register for sales and use tax 
purposes, and annually thereafter. Most regis-
trants receive Forms ST-50 and ST-51. How-
ever, certain businesses must use other sales and 
use tax return forms. See Other Sales and Use 
Tax Returns below. 

Sales and use tax returns (Forms ST-50/ST-51) 
are issued in a coupon booklet which contains 
eight monthly remittance coupons (ST-51) and 
the four quarterly returns (ST-50). All forms are 
preprinted with the name, address, and New 
Jersey taxpayer identification number of the 
business, as well as the period covered by the 
return and the filing due date. 

Taxpayers who remit sales and use tax payments 
by means of electronic funds transfer (EFT) re-
ceive coupon booklets containing only the four 
quarterly returns (Form ST-50). These quarterly 
returns must be filed even though payments 
were remitted via electronic funds transfer. See 
Electronic Funds Transfer on page 8. 

Taxpayers may file Forms ST-50/ST-51 online 
at the Division of Taxation�s Web site in lieu of 
submitting a paper form. For more information, 
see Filing Returns on page 3 and Electronic 
Funds Transfer on page 8. 

New registrants should receive their return 
forms approximately four weeks after register-

ing. New coupon booklets are automatically sent 
each July to businesses registered for sales and 
use tax. If you do not receive your booklet with-
in a reasonable amount of time, contact the 
Division of Taxation�s Customer Service Center 
at 609-292-6400 or write to: 

NJ  DIVISION  OF  REVENUE 
PO  BOX  252 
TRENTON  NJ  08646-0252 

See instructions for Obtaining Forms on page 11. 

Failure to receive the required forms does not 
relieve you of the obligation to file a return and 
remit any tax when it is due. If you do not have 
the necessary forms, you should file informally. 
See Informal Returns, on page 10 for more 
information. 

Other Sales and Use Tax Returns. Taxpayers 
reporting sales and use tax using one of the 
forms listed below do not file Forms ST-50/ 
ST-51. These taxpayers must complete and file 
the forms according to the instructions which 
accompany them: 
• Cape May County Tourism Sales Tax 

(Form ST-350) 
• Sales and Use Tax - Salem County 

(Form ST-450/ST-451) 
• Combined State Sales and Use Tax/Urban 

Enterprise Zone Sales Tax (Form UZ-50) 
• NJ/NY Combined State Sales and Use Tax 

(Form ST-20/ST-21) 
• Annual Business Use Tax Return 

(Form ST-18B) (For more details, see page 4) 
• Sales and Use Tax Energy Return (Form 

ST-50EN) for vendors of energy (electricity 
and natural gas and utility service). Energy 
vendors are required to make all monthly 
sales tax payments by electronic funds 
transfer. 
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Filing Returns  
Quarterly and Monthly Filings 
(Forms ST-50 and ST-51) 
1st and 2nd Months of Each Quarter 
The sales and use tax coupon booklet contains a 
monthly remittance (Form ST-51) for the first 
and second months of each calendar quarter 
(January, February, April, May, July, August, 
October, and November). A monthly remittance 
must be filed for each of these months in which 
the amount of tax due exceeds $500. When the 
amount due for any of these months is $500 or 
less, payment for that month may be remitted 
with the next quarterly return. Amounts paid 
with monthly remittances should be included on 
Line 7, Total Monthly Payments, of the quar-
terly return (Form ST-50). 

For step-by-step instructions see Completing 
Form ST-51 on page 5.  

3rd Month of Each Quarter 
Every three months, all businesses which are on 
a reporting basis for sales and use tax purposes 
are required to report the total amount of quar-
terly receipts and tax due on a New Jersey Sales 
and Use Tax Quarterly Return (Form ST-50). 
The March, June, September, and December 
coupons are ST-50 forms. A quarterly return 
must be filed whether or not there is any tax due 
for that particular quarter. The total amount of 
any quarterly sales and use tax due (after taking 
credit for monthly payment(s) for the quarter) 
must be remitted with Form ST-50.  

For step-by-step instructions see Completing 
Form ST-50 on page 6.  

Online Filing 
Taxpayers may file sales and use tax returns 
(Forms ST-50/ST-51) electronically from the 
Division of Taxation�s Web site at 
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ 

To use this service, you must enter your New 
Jersey taxpayer identification number and sales 
tax personal identification number (PIN). Your 
New Jersey identification number and PIN are 
located on the first page of your sales and use 
tax coupon booklet or you may request a sales 
tax PIN by e-mail at taxation@tax.state.nj.us. 

After filing, you will be provided with a confir-
mation number for your records. If you are re-
quired to make a payment when filing Forms 
ST-50/ST-51 online, you must make your 
payment by credit card, electronic check 
(e-check), or electronic funds transfer.  

Filing Forms ST-50/ST-51 online replaces the 
requirement to file a paper return.  

Guidelines for Preparing Forms 
To avoid delays in processing your paper sales 
tax returns and checks, follow these simple steps: 

• Do not staple the tax form and check together. 
• Do not fold the tax form or the check. 
• Do not tape the tax form to the inside of the 

envelope. 
• Use only the preprinted tax forms in the 

booklet. These forms contain valuable infor-
mation which will ensure that your tax pay-
ment is credited to the proper account and tax 
period. 

• Do not use a facsimile form printed by a com-
mercial software package. Instead, transcribe 
the tax information from the facsimile onto 
the preprinted form. 

• Use the correct tax form for the tax period. 
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• Send only the tax form and payment. Do not 
include anything else in the envelope. If your 
check has a stub, remove it and save it for 
your files. 

• Use the window envelopes provided. 
• Make sure the return address is displayed 

through the envelope window. 
• Make your check or money order payable to 

�Sales and Use Tax.� 
• Print your identification number on your 

check or money order. 
• Make sure the tax form is properly signed. 

Due Dates for Forms ST-50/51 
Both monthly remittances and quarterly returns 
are due by the 20th day of the month following 
the period covered by the return. For example, if 
a monthly remittance (Form ST-51) is required 
for the month of November, it must be filed no 
later than December 20. The quarterly return 
(Form ST-50) for the last calendar quarter must 
be filed by January 20. If any due date falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the return is 
due on the next business day. See Postmark 
Date on page 11. 

Nonreporting Businesses 
When a business which is registered to collect 
sales tax and/or remit use tax finds that it is not 
required to do so (e.g., the business sells only non-
taxable items or items for resale, and also does not 
incur any use tax liability on its own taxable pur-
chases), it may file a Request To Be Placed On A 
Non-Reporting Basis (Form C-6205-ST). This 
form is available on the Division of Taxation�s 
Web site at www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ or 
you can obtain a copy by calling the Automated 
Tax Information System at 1-800-323-4400 
(from Touch-tone phones within New Jersey, 
New York, Pennsylvania, Maryland, or Dela-

ware) or 609-826-4400 (from Touch-tone phones 
anywhere). Select the Forms Request System and 
choose the Business Registration and Reporting 
Forms category from the main menu. To request 
Form C-6205-ST, press �0� and you will be 
prompted to leave a voice mail message with the 
form name and number and your name and ad-
dress, since this form is not specifically listed. If 
you do not have a Touch-tone phone or need ad-
ditional information, contact the Division of Tax-
ation�s Customer Service Center at 609-292-6400. 

All requests to be placed on a nonreporting basis 
must be signed by an officer of the corporation or 
the owner (sole proprietor or any partner) of the 
business. Once you receive notification that you 
have been placed on a nonreporting basis, you are 
no longer required to file sales and use tax returns 
unless you incur a sales and/or use tax liability. 

Seasonal Businesses 
In addition to the required quarterly return, 
seasonal businesses must file a monthly remit-
tance for each month the business is open, re-
gardless of the amount of tax due. 

Annual Business Use Tax Return  
(Form ST-18B) 
Nonvendor Businesses Eligible 
�Nonvendors� are those businesses or other 
entities registered with the State that neither sell 
taxable goods or services nor lease taxable prop-
erty to others (e.g., dentists, lawyers). 

Nonvendors whose average annual use tax lia-
bility for the three preceding calendar years is 
$2,000 or less are not required to file monthly 
remittances and/or quarterly sales and use tax 
returns, but may instead file an Annual Business 
Use Tax Return (Form ST-18B) to report any 
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taxable purchases made during the calendar year 
upon which use tax is due. Such qualified non-
vendors need not file Form ST-18B for any cal-
endar year in which no use tax is due. Nonven-
dors whose average annual use tax liability for 
the three previous calendar years exceeds $2,000 
must file monthly remittances and quarterly 
sales and use tax returns (Forms ST-50 and 
ST-51). They may not use Form ST-18B. 

NOTE: Only nonvendor businesses may qualify 
to use the Annual Business Use Tax 
Return (Form ST-18B). Businesses that 
are required to collect and remit sales 
tax, or lessors of taxable property must 
report and remit their sales and use tax 
on Forms ST-50 and ST-51. 

Nonvendors who qualify to file Form ST-18B 
but are currently filing regular sales and use tax 
returns (i.e., Forms ST-50 and ST-51), or who 
are on a nonreporting basis for sales tax, must 
change their eligibility status to �business use 
tax� before they may file the Annual Business 
Use Tax Return (Form ST-18B). To request 
business use tax eligibility call the Client Regis-
tration Bureau at 609-292-1730 or write to: 

NJ  DIVISION  OF  REVENUE  
CLIENT  REGISTRATION  BUREAU 
PO  BOX  252 
TRENTON  NJ  08646-0252 

Due Date for Form ST-18B 
The Annual Business Use Tax Return (Form 
ST-18B) covers purchases made during the 
calendar year (January 1 through December 31) 
and must be filed by May 1 of the following 
year if any use tax is due. If May 1 falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the return is 
due on the next business day. See Postmark 
Date on page 11. 

Completing Form ST-51 
Line 1 � Amount of Tax Due 
Multiply total monthly taxable receipts (gross 
receipts minus exempt sales) by the sales tax 
rate. Do not include amounts collected for sales 
tax. Enter on Line 1 the larger of this figure or 
the actual amount of sales tax collected for that 
month. Also include any use tax that is due. 

Line 2 � Penalty and Interest  
Compute any penalty and interest charges in-
curred for late payment and/or late filing and 
enter the amount on Line 2 (see Penalties, Inter-
est, and Collection Fees on page 11). If you are 
unable to determine this amount, the State will 
calculate the penalties and interest and send you 
a bill. 

Line 3 � Total Amount Due  
Add Lines 1 and 2. Enter the total on Line 3.  

Sign and date the remittance where indicated. 
Using one of the envelopes provided, mail the 
remittance with a check or money order for the 
amount on Line 3, payable to �Sales and Use 
Tax.� Do not staple, paper clip, or tape anything 
to your payment or the remittance form. 

Example 
The Valley Auto Rental Agency, Inc. began 
business on April 20. Sales tax collected for the 
month of April was $396. In May, the agency 
was open for the full month and had $1,860 due 
in sales tax. The following illustration shows 
this vendor�s completed Form ST-51 for the 
month of May. The remittance and payment of 
the amount on Line 3 is due by June 20. Since 
the amount of sales tax collected in April did 
not exceed $500, that amount may be remitted 
when filing the quarterly return (Form ST-50) 
due on July 20. 
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  State of New Jersey Sales and Use Tax 
Monthly Remittance  ST-51 

       
 

 

 FOR MONTH ENDING 

MAY 31 

THIS RETURN DUE 

JUNE 20 
1. Amount of Tax Due $   1 8 6 0

! 
0 0  

    

  
 

223-441-234/000    1    VALL 
2. Penalty and Interest $      

! 

 
    

 VALLEY AUTO RENTAL AGENCY, INC. 
668 FAIRWAY AVE 

3. Total Amount Due 
  (Line 1 Plus Line 2) 

$   1 8  6 0
! 

0 0  

 HILLSDALE   NJ   07642  
  I verify and affirm that all tax information on this statement is correct. I am aware

that if any of the foregoing information provided by me is knowingly false, I am subject
to punishment. 

 

     

 Make Check  
Payable To:  

Sales & Use Tax 
PO Box 999 

(Taxpayer�s Signature Required) (Title)  

 Display return 
address in 

Trenton NJ 08646-0999 (Print Taxpayer Name)  (Date) 

 envelope window.  (                )  

   (Telephone)  
                

 

Completing Form ST-50 
Line 1 � Gross Receipts for Quarter 
Enter the total gross receipts (to the nearest 
dollar) from all transactions, including exempt 
transactions, which occurred during the three-
month reporting period covered by the return. 
Gross receipts must be reported on an accrual 
basis, not as collections are made. Do not in-
clude in gross receipts any amounts collected as 
sales tax. Also, do not include gross receipts 
from lease transactions here. Report use tax due 
on lease transactions on Line 5. 

Line 2 � Deductions  
Enter on Line 2 the amount of all sales (to the 
nearest dollar) included on Line 1 which are not 
taxable under New Jersey law. This includes 
out-of-State sales, sales for which a valid New 
Jersey exemption certificate was accepted in lieu 
of tax, and returns of goods that were sold dur-
ing the same quarter. For more information see 

the instructions for completing Forms ST-50/ 
ST-51 you received with your coupon booklet. 
The instructions include a Quarterly Deductions 
Worksheet to assist you in completing your 
allowable deductions from gross receipts. 

Line 3 � Balance Subject to Tax  
Subtract Line 2 from Line 1 and enter the result 
on Line 3. This is the amount of receipts which 
are subject to sales tax.  

Line 4 � Sales Tax Due  
Multiply the Balance Subject to Tax on Line 3 
by the sales tax rate. Enter on Line 4 the larger 
of this figure or the actual amount of sales tax 
collected during the quarter. 

Line 5 � Use Tax Due 
Enter on Line 5 the total amount of use tax due 
for taxable tangible personal property or taxable 
services used during the quarter on which no 
sales tax was paid. Also include here the total  
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amount of use tax due on lease transactions. 
You may use the worksheet at the back of your 
sales and use tax coupon booklet to assist you in 
calculating the total amount of use tax due on 
lease and nonlease transactions. 

Line 6 � Total Tax Due  
Enter the sum of Lines 4 and 5 on Line 6. 

Line 7 � Total Monthly Payments  
If you have already paid part of your quarterly 
liability in the form of a monthly remittance 
submitted with Form ST-51 for the first and/or 
second month of this quarter, or by electronic 
funds transfer, enter the total of these payments 
on Line 7. 

Line 8 � Quarterly Amount Due  
Subtract the amount on Line 7 from the amount 
on Line 6 and enter the result on Line 8. 

Line 9 � Penalty and Interest 
Penalty and interest charges are imposed for 
failure to file a return and/or pay sales and use 
tax by the due date. If you owe penalty and 
interest and are unable to calculate the amount, 
leave this line blank and you will receive a bill. 

Line 10 � Adjusted Amount Due  
Add Lines 8 and 9. Enter the sum on Line 10. 
This is the amount you must remit by check or 
money order with your return or through elec-
tronic funds transfer. Sales and use tax pay-
ments can also be made by electronic check 
(e-check) on the Division�s Web site 
(www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/) or by 

credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover/ 
Novus, or American Express). To pay by  
credit card call 1-800-2PAYTAX or go to 
www.officialpayments.com. A fee of 2.5% of 
the tax payment will automatically be added to 
the credit card transaction. 

Signatures 
Sign the return on the back and enter your title 
and a daytime telephone number where you can 
be reached if necessary. Persons who 
preparereturns for a fee are also required to sign 
the returns as �Preparer� and include their social 
security number or Federal preparer tax 
identification number and address. Include the 
company or corporation name and Federal 
identification number, if applicable. 

Using one of the envelopes provided, mail the 
return with a check or money order for the 
amount on Line 10, payable to �Sales and Use 
Tax.� Do not staple, paper clip, or tape anything 
to your payment or the return. 

Example 
Valley Auto Rental Agency, Inc. had gross 
receipts for the quarter of $101,100 including 
sales to other dealers for resale of $10,500. The 
agency had $3,576 in sales and use tax remain-
ing due for the quarter. 

The completed Sales and Use Tax Quarterly 
Return (Form ST-50) is illustrated below. 
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State of New Jersey Sales and Use Tax 
Quarterly Return ST-50  

 1. Gross Receipts for Quarter 
 (To Nearest Dollar) $  1 0 1 1 0 0

! 
0 0  

 

 

FOR QUARTER ENDING 

JUNE 30 
THIS RETURN DUE 

JULY 20  

2. Deductions 
 (To Nearest Dollar) $   1 0 5 0 0

! 
0 0  

  

 223-441-234/000 0 VALL 
 3. Balance Subject to Tax 

 (Line 1 minus Line 2) $   9 0 6 0 0
! 

0 0  
    

VALLEY AUTO RENTAL AGENCY, INC. 
668 FAIRWAY AVE 

 4. Sales Tax Due 
 (See Instructions for rate) $    5 4 3 6

! 
0 0  

 

HILLSDALE  NJ  07642  5. Use Tax Due $       
! 

 
   6. Total Tax Due 

 (Line 4 plus Line 5) $    5 4 3 6
! 

0 0  
 

Make Check  
Payable To:  

Sales & Use Tax  
PO Box 999 

 7. Total Monthly Payments $    1 8 6 0
! 

0 0  
 

Display return 
address in 

Trenton, NJ  08646-0999  8. Quarterly Amount Due 
 (Line 6 minus Line 7) $    3 5 7 6

! 
0 0  

 

envelope window. 
 9. Penalty and Interest $       

!  
 
 

 10. Adjusted Amount Due 
 (Line 8 plus Line 9) $    3 5 7 6

! 
0 0  

 
 

Electronic Funds Transfer 
Taxpayers with a prior year liability of $20,000 
or more in any tax are required to make their 
payments for all taxes by electronic funds trans-
fer (EFT). Other taxpayers may voluntarily sub-
mit payments by EFT with the approval of the 
Division of Revenue.  

When payments are made by electronic funds 
transfer, a Quarterly Sales and Use Tax Return 
(Form ST-50) must still be completed and filed 
by the 20th day of the month following the pe-
riod covered by the return. Taxpayers who are 
authorized for the EFT program may choose to 
file Form ST-50 online at the Division of Taxa-
tion�s Web site in lieu of a paper return. See 
Online Filing, page 3. 

For more information on the Electronic Funds 
Transfer Program visit the Division of Revenue�s 
Web site at www.state.nj.us/treasury/revenue/ 
or write to: 

NJ  DIVISION  OF  REVENUE 
EFT  UNIT 
PO  BOX  191 
TRENTON  NJ  08646-0191 

or contact the Division of Revenue at 609-984-
9830 or fax them at 609-292-1777. 

Correcting Errors 
Errors on monthly remittances (Forms ST-51) 
are adjusted on the next quarterly return (Form 
ST-50). When a mistake occurs on a quarterly 
return, file an Amended Quarterly Sales Tax 
Return (Form ST-607A). Also, file a Claim for 
Refund (Form A-3730) with the amendment if 
the correction results in an overpayment of tax 
for the quarter. 

Example 
You remit $975 in sales tax with your July 
monthly remittance (Form ST-51) and $745 for 
August, for total monthly payments of $1,720. 
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In September, you collect $650 in sales tax and 
refund $30 in sales tax to a customer who re-
turned an item purchased in July for $500. 

When you file your return for the quarter ending 
September 30, you will reflect the overpayment 
of sales tax resulting from the returned item by 
including a deduction of $500 on line 2 of Form 
ST-50. This reduces your quarterly taxable re-
ceipts on Line 3 from $39,495 to $38,995 and 
your tax liability for the quarter from $2,370 to 
$2,340. The balance due with the return is then 
$2,340 less $1,720 = $620, not $650. 

Suppose you forgot to include the $500 deduc-
tion for the returned item when you filed your 
quarterly return. Your Form ST-50 will show a 
tax liability for the quarter of $2,370. If you sub-
tract monthly payments of $1,720 and remit the 
$650 due, your account will be overpaid. To 
correct the mistake, file an Amended Quarterly 
Sales Tax Return (Form ST-607A) showing the 
correct figures and submit a claim for a $30 re-
fund on Form A-3730. 

Completing Form ST-18B 
Line 1 � Total of Purchases Subject to New 

Jersey Use Tax 
Enter the amount of all purchases of taxable tan-
gible personal property or services used by you 
within New Jersey during the calendar year for 
which you have paid no sales or use tax to New 
Jersey or to any other state or to the District of 
Columbia. If you have paid sales tax at a rate 

lower than 6% and the other state has sales tax 
reciprocity with New Jersey, you owe the differ-
ence to New Jersey. 

Line 2 � Use Tax Due  
Multiply the amount on Line 1 by the use tax 
rate of 6% (.06) and enter the total tax due. Sub-
tract the amount of credit allowed for sales tax 
paid in another jurisdiction (see instructions for 
completing Form ST-18B) and enter the net 
amount of use tax due. 

Line 3 � Penalty and Interest  
Compute any penalty and interest charges in-
curred for late payment and/or late filing and 
enter the amount on Line 3 (see Penalties, Inter-
est, and Collection Fees on page 11). If you owe 
penalty and interest and are unable to calculate 
this amount, leave this line blank and you will 
receive a bill. 

Line 4 � Total Amount Due  
Add the amounts on Lines 2 and 3. This is the 
amount you must remit with your return. 

Example 
Marcia Campbell, a dentist, owed an average of 
$860 in use tax due over the prior three calendar 
years. During 2000, Dr. Campbell bought 
$32,300 worth of taxable equipment and sup-
plies from an Ohio vendor and paid no sales tax 
on the purchases. Dr. Campbell completed an 
ST-18B as shown below and submitted it with a 
payment of $1,938 by May 1, 2001. 
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ST-18B 
01-01 

State of New Jersey 
Annual Business Use Tax Return  

 This return is due May 1, 2001 for the tax year ending December 31, 2000  
   

 222-444-999/000  

1) Total of Purchases 
 Subject to New 
 Jersey Use Tax 

 3 2 3 0 0
! 

0 0
 

   

 MARCIA A. CAMPBELL, DDS  
 MACDENTISTS, INC.  2) Use Tax Due 

  1 9 3 8
! 

0 0  

 2333½ SHADY BRANCH CIRCLE  
 BERLIN NJ 08323 3) Penalty & Interest 

     ! 

 

 
4) Total Amount Due 

  1 9 3 8
! 

0 0  

Make Check or Money Order Payable to: New Jersey Use Tax 
 Mail to: Division of Taxation 
  Revenue Processing Center 
  PO Box 999 
 Trenton, NJ  08646-0999 

  

 

NOTE: Only nonvendor businesses may qualify to use the Annual Business Use Tax Return (Form ST-18B). Businesses 
that are required to collect and remit sales tax, or lessors of taxable property must report and remit their sales tax 
and use tax on Forms ST-50 and ST-51. 

Accrual Method of Accounting 
The accrual method of accounting must be used 
when reporting gross receipts and sales tax. 
Under this method, all receipts are reported in 
the period in which the sale took place, no mat-
ter when or if payment is actually received from 
the customer. 

Example 
A store sells a suite of bedroom furniture to a 
customer. The customer signs an agreement of 
sale and accepts delivery of the furniture in 
March. However, the customer does not make a 
payment until May. The store must include the 
full amount of the sale in its gross receipts for 
March and remit the sales tax due with its quar-
terly return (Form ST-50) due April 20, even 
though payment was not received until the fol-
lowing quarter. (This transaction will not be re-
ported at all in the second quarter.) 

Informal Returns 
Failure to receive the required forms does not 
relieve you of the obligation to file a return and 
remit any tax when it is due. File informally if 
you do not have the proper forms. Penalties and 
interest are imposed for filing a late return. 

Informal returns should be typed or legibly 
printed, preferably on business letterhead sta-
tionery and must include: 

• Your New Jersey taxpayer identification 
number 

• The business name and address 

• Type of return and the period covered by the 
filing (e.g., sales and use tax for July 2001) 

• Amount of taxable receipts (quarterly returns) 

• Amount of tax due 
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To ensure that your payment is properly cred-
ited, write your New Jersey taxpayer identifica-
tion number, the name of the tax, and the tax 
period on your check. Send returns to: 

NJ  DIVISION  OF  REVENUE 
PO  BOX  999 
TRENTON  NJ  08646-0999 

Obtaining Forms 
To order a replacement sales and use tax coupon 
booklet or to request that your business be 
placed on a nonreporting basis, obtain informa-
tion about filing consolidated returns for multi-
ple locations, or notify the State that you will 
begin to collect sales tax, contact the Division of 
Taxation�s Customer Service Center at 609-292-
6400 or write to: 

NJ  DIVISION  OF  REVENUE 
PO  BOX  252 
TRENTON  NJ  08646-0252 

NOTE: Blank copies of Forms ST-50 and 
ST-51 are not available. These forms 
are preprinted and issued only to busi-
nesses registered with New Jersey. 

Information Changes 
To notify the State of a change in your identifi-
cation information (identification number, name, 
business address, mailing address, etc.) com-
plete Form NJ-C, Change of Tax Information, 
which is located in the back of your sales and use 
tax return coupon booklet, or Form REG-C-L, 
located in the NJ REG business registration 
package. Changes will only be made from these 
forms. Do not make corrections on the Sales 
and Use Tax Monthly Remittance Statement or 
Quarterly Return. When notifying the State of a 
change in ownership or the incorporation of a 

business, the �new� business must complete a 
registration form (Form NJ-REG) in addition to 
Form NJ-C or Form REG-C-L. A Public 
Records filing may also be required depending 
upon the type of business ownership. Certain 
changes to business registration information can 
now be made online at: www.state.nj.us/njbgs/ 

Tax Held in Trust for the State 
Anyone who collects New Jersey sales tax from 
customers does so as trustee on behalf of the 
State. All tax collected, including amounts in 
excess of the required tax (calculated by multi-
plying the amount of the taxable receipts by the 
sales tax rate), must be periodically remitted to 
the State accompanied by an appropriate sales 
and use tax return or remittance. Under the law, 
business owners, partners, corporate officers, 
and some employees may be personally liable to 
the State for failure to collect sales tax when re-
quired or to file a return and remit any tax when 
due. Penalties and interest are imposed for such 
violations. 

Postmark Date 
Returns postmarked on or before their due date 
are considered to be filed on time. Returns post-
marked after their due date are considered to be 
late and are recorded as being filed on the date 
they were actually received, not the postmark 
date. Interest and penalties, if any, are assessed 
from the due date of the return. 

Penalties, Interest, and 
Collection Fees 
When a return is filed after its due date or tax is 
paid late, penalties and interest will be assessed 
as follows: 
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• Late Filing Penalty: 5% per month (or frac-
tion of a month) up to a maximum of 25% of 
the amount of the underpayment when a re-
turn is filed after the due date. A penalty of 
$100 for each month the return is late may 
also be imposed. 

• Late Payment Penalty: 5% of the outstand-
ing tax balance may be imposed. 

• Interest: 3% above the prime rate for every 
month (or fraction of a month) the tax is un-
paid, compounded annually. At the end of 
each calendar year, any tax, penalties, and 

interest remaining due (unpaid) will become 
part of the balance on which interest is 
charged. 

• Collection Fees: In addition, if your tax bill 
is sent to our collection agency, a referral cost 
recovery fee of 10% of the tax due may be 
added to your liability. If a certificate of debt 
is issued for your outstanding liability, a fee 
for the cost of collection of the tax may also 
be imposed. 

 

 

For More Information 

By Phone 
• Call the Division of Taxation�s Customer 

Service Center at 609-292-6400 
• TTY equipment users call 1-800-286-6613 

(within NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD) or  
609-984-7300 (anywhere) 

Online 
• Division of Taxation Web site: 

www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ 

• E-mail: taxation@tax.state.nj.us  

 In Writing 
New Jersey Division of Taxation 
Information and Publications Branch 
PO Box 281 
Trenton, NJ 08695-0281 

 

Order Forms and Publications 
• Call the Forms Request System at  

1-800-323-4400 (Touch-tone phones within 
NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD) or  
609-826-4400 (Touch-tone phones anywhere) 

• Call NJ TaxFax at 609-826-4500 from your 
fax machine�s phone 

• Visit the Division of Taxation�s Web site: 
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ 

 
 


