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Introduction  Sales of newspapers, magazines and periodicals (as defined in the New Jersey Sales and Use Tax Act) 

are not subject to New Jersey sales tax.  
 

Newspapers  In order for a publication to be considered a newspaper and be exempt from sales tax, it must: 

• Be published (printed or written form) periodically at least 50 times a year; 
• Be available for public circulation (whether or not through paid subscriptions); 
• Contain general interest information or reports of current events, original or reprinted articles 

on a variety of topics, photographs, illustrations, advertising matter, legal notices, comic strips, 
cartoons, editorial comment, or other such subject matter; 

• Contain no more than 90 percent of its printed area as advertising; 
• Have continuity as to title and the general nature of its content from issue to issue; and 
• Not constitute a book, either alone or when successive issues are put together. 

Another factor that will be taken into consideration in determining if the publication is a qualified 
newspaper is whether it has been (or would be) classified as having second class mailing privileges 
from the United States Postal Service. 

The following are some examples of qualified newspapers: 
• The Asbury Park Press • The Star-Ledger • The Wall Street Journal 
• Burlington County Times • The New York Times  • USA Today 
• Camden County Courier Post • The Philadelphia Inquirer • Barron’s 
 

Magazines & 
Periodicals 

 In order for a publication to be considered a magazine, it must: 

• Be published (printed or written form) periodically at least four times a year; 
• Be available for public circulation (whether or not through paid subscriptions); 
• Contain a variety of articles or other information; 
• Contain no more than 90 percent of its printed area as advertising; 
• Have continuity as to title and the general nature of its content from issue to issue; and 
• Not constitute a book, either alone or when successive issues are put together. 

Another factor that will be taken into consideration in determining if the publication is a qualified 
magazine or periodical is whether it has been (or would be) classified as having second class mailing 
privileges from the United States Postal Service. 

The following are some examples of qualified magazines and periodicals: 
• National Geographic (monthly) • TV Guide (weekly) 
• People Magazine (monthly) • Superman (comic books) 
• Reader’s Digest (monthly) • Newsweek (news magazine) 
 

Taxable 
Publications 

 Publications that do not qualify as a newspaper, magazine or periodical are taxable. The following are 
examples of taxable publications: 
• Advance sheets of court reports • Business reports for employees 
• Annual reports • Guides or handbooks 
• Books or novels • Catalogs 
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Collectibles  Sales of newspapers, magazines, and periodicals that sell for more than the original selling price are 
deemed to be sales of collectible items and are subject to sales tax. If the newspaper, magazine, or 
periodical sells for the same price or less than it did when new, then sales tax would not be due provided 
the item was exempt when originally sold. For example, a first edition of a Superman comic book, sold 
for more than the original price, would be subject to sales tax as a collectible. 

Sales and 
Giveaways 

 Publishers sometimes offer subscribers the opportunity to purchase items in connection with their 
subscription. For example, the publisher provides the subscriber with the option to buy a company sports 
bottle. If stated separately on the bill, the charge for the sports bottle itself is taxable, but the subscription 
is exempt. When purchasing merchandise intended for resale, the publisher issues a New Jersey Resale 
Certificate, Form ST-3, to the supplier and does not pay sales tax. The publisher collects sales tax from 
the subscriber on sales of taxable items and remits the tax to the State. 

When a business purchases taxable items to be used as promotional items and/or giveaways, the business 
must pay sales tax on those items. For example, if the publisher gives the subscriber a coffee mug with 
the publisher’s logo on it free of charge which the subscriber gets to keep after the subscription runs out, 
no sales tax is due. The publisher pays sales tax on the coffee mugs when they are purchased.  

If the business purchases items with a New Jersey Resale Certificate (Form ST-3) which later are used 
as promotional items and/or giveaways, the business owes use tax on the purchase price of the item(s). 
For more information, request ANJ-7, Use Tax in New Jersey, and Tax Topic Bulletin S&U-6, Sales Tax 
Exemption Certificates. 
 

Display Racks/ 
Cases 

 When the publisher provides a retail vendor with the use of a taxable item (e.g., a display rack) which 
must later be returned, the sales and use tax treatment depends on whether or not there is a charge for 
using the item. For example, if the publisher does not charge the vendor for the use of the display case or 
rack, the publisher does not charge the vendor sales tax. However, the publisher owes sales or use tax on 
the cost of a display case or rack delivered to a location in New Jersey. If there is a separate charge for 
the use of the display case or rack, then the tax due on this transaction depends upon whether the 
transaction is a lease or a rental. For more information, request Tax Topic Bulletin S&U-12, Leases and 
Rentals. 
 

Other  Advertising. The sale of advertising material to be published in newspapers is exempt. Charges for the 
sale of the advertising space are also exempt from sales tax.  

Printing and Publishing. The sale of machinery, apparatus, or equipment used directly and primarily in 
publishing newspapers is exempt from sales tax. This exemption also applies to the sale of such ma-
chinery, apparatus, or equipment used by a commercial printer in the production of tangible property 
such as periodicals, books, forms, and cards. However, charges for installation or maintenance contracts 
for such machinery and equipment are taxable. The printer’s exemption also applies to supplies used 
with the machinery as well as wrapping equipment and supplies. Printers and publishers purchase these 
items without paying sales tax by issuing a New Jersey Exempt Use Certificate, Form ST-4. 

For more information, request Tax Topic Bulletin S&U-9, Business Purchases, and ANJ-18, Printing & 
Publishing Industries & New Jersey Sales Tax. 
 

For More 
Information 

 For more information on newspapers, magazines and periodicals and New Jersey sales tax, contact the 
Division’s Customer Service Center at 609-292-6400, e-mail us at nj.taxation@treas.state.nj.us, or write 
to: 

NEW  JERSEY  DIVISION  OF  TAXATION 
INFORMATION AND PUBLICATIONS BRANCH 
PO  BOX  281 
TRENTON  NJ  08695-0281 

Many State tax forms and publications are now available, both by fax and on our Web site. Call NJ 
TaxFax at 609-826-4500 from your fax machine’s phone, or access the Division’s home page at: 
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/ 
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