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Introduction The Atlantic City luxury tax is imposed on certain rentals, sales and services. Some items may be subject
to both the New Jersey sales tax and the Atlantic City luxury tax.

Taxable Status The following chart will serve as a guide to illustrate the taxable status of various transactions that are
subject to Atlantic City luxury tax, New Jersey sales tax, or both taxes.
Item AC Luxury NJ Sales Total
Tax Tax Tax
Sales of alcoholic beverages by the drink, including bottles of 3% 6% 9%
beer, wine, etc. opened and consumed On Premises .....ooveeeeveeruveenne
Sales of food and nonalcoholic beverages intended for - 6%
CONSUMPLION ON the PIEIMISES ...cuveerrieriieeiiiesieeeieerieeeieesbeesseeeeanes 6%

Rentals of apartments (except hotels or motels):
o for less than eight WeeKs ......ccocvevviecieiienieiieieecieeee e 9% - 9%

o for eight Weeks OF MOTe ......ccoiuiiiiiiiiniiniieiieeieeee e - - -

Rentals of rooms, apartments or other facilities in hotels, motels,
bed and breakfast inns, rooming and boarding houses or similar
establishments (see Note 1):

o for less than ninety days.........cceceervieeriieiniieeniiiiieeniee e 9% 3% 12%
e for ninety days or more, but for less than one year ................... 9% - 9%

e under a lease for one year Or MOTe........cccveervueerrieeriueenieenseeennns - - -

Cover charges, minimum charges, entertainment or similar charges
in a restaurant, cafe, cabaret, hotel or similar establishment............ 9% 3% 12%

Admission charges to any theater, moving picture exhibition or 9% 3% 12%
show, pier, exhibition or place of amusement (see Note 2) .............

Charges for rolling chairs and tram rides, horoscope machines, and
fortune tellers .......ccoiviiiiiiiiiiiiiic 9% - 9%

Charges for amusement and sightseeing rides and rentals of beach 9% 3% 12%
chairs, cabanas and biCyCles.........ceceirviiriiiiiiieiiieieeeeeeee e

NOTE 1: Rentals of conference rooms, banquet rooms and other places of assembly are exempt from
sales tax.

NOTE 2: Admissions charges of $0.75 or less, and charges for admission for participant sports or to
sporting events where other State tax is collected are exempt from sales tax.

Guest Check The charges for the Atlantic City luxury tax and New Jersey sales tax must be separately stated on the
check, or the vendor is liable for combined luxury/sales taxes on the entire bill.
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Example: Two visitors order dinner and a bottle of wine in an Atlantic City restaurant. The cost of the
meals is $27.00, and the charge for the wine is $13.00. The guest check given to the customers must
separately state the charges for the food and drink and the taxes as follows:

Food $27.00
Beverage 13.00
NIJ Sales Tax ($40.00 x 6%) 2.40
AC Luxury Tax ($13.00 x 3%) .39
TOTAL $42.79

If the guest check shows only a total charge of $42.79 with no breakdown of items purchased and tax
collected, the vendor is liable for a combined luxury tax/sales tax on the entire bill.

Registered exempt organizations may issue a valid Exempt Organization Certificate, Form ST-5, to a
hotel and be exempt from payment of the 3% New Jersey sales tax, but are still liable for the 9% Atlantic
City luxury tax. Their exempt status applies only to the tax imposed under the New Jersey Sales and Use
Tax Act, and does not apply to any other tax. They remain subject to the Atlantic City luxury tax.

Any New Jersey State agency, political subdivision of the State of New Jersey, or Federal agency is
exempt from paying both sales tax and luxury tax. In this case, an exempt organization certificate or
number is not required to make tax exempt purchases or secure tax exempt lodging in this State.
Purchases must be made on official letterhead or official purchase order signed by a qualified officer.
Payment must be made by the agency’s check or voucher for the exemption to apply. If payment is made
from an individual’s account, regardless of method of payment, i.e., personal check, credit card, cash,
etc. and regardless of the intent of the agency to subsequently reimburse him, such purchase is subject to
both sales and luxury tax.

Federal employees are also exempt if payment is made by a U.S. SmartPay credit card having a 0, 6, 7, 8
or 9 as the sixth digit of the account number (funds are paid from government account). If payment is
made with a SmartPay card having a 1, 2, 3 or 4 as the sixth digit, the bill is paid by the employee and
the Federal government exemption does not apply.

Tourism Promotion Fee in Hotels, Etc. A tourism promotion fee of either $1 or $2 per day is charged
for each room rental in a hotel, motel, inn, rooming house, etc. This fee applies to each room either
occupied or possessed by guests, other than as a place of assembly. The fee is also due with respect to
“no charge” occupancies. The rate of $2 per day applies to each occupied room in the case of hotels
which provide casino gambling. The $1 per day rate applies to each occupied room in all other facilities.
The fee is only includible in a taxable receipt for either sales tax or luxury tax purposes if passed along
to the customer as part of the room rent. Separately stating the fee to the customer will not make it
deductible from the taxable receipt.

Casino Parking Fee. There is a minimum charge of $2 a day for the use of a parking space for parking,
garaging or storing motor vehicles on property owned or leased by a casino hotel licensed under the
“Casino Control Act.” For more information request Technical Bulletin TB-22, Atlantic City Casino
Parking Fees.

For more information on Atlantic City luxury tax and New Jersey sales tax, contact the Division’s
Customer Service Center at 609-292-6400, e-mail us at taxation @tax.state.nj.us, or write to:

NEW JERSEY DIVISION OF TAXATION
INFORMATION AND PUBLICATIONS BRANCH
PO Box 281

TRENTON NJ 08695-0281

Many State tax forms and publications are now available, both by fax and through the World Wide Web.
Call NJ TaxFax at 609-826-4500 from your fax machine’s phone, or access the Division’s home page
via your computer’s modem at: http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/



