STATE OF NEW JERSEY
Department of the Treasury
Division of Taxation

Procedure for Dissolution, Cancellation, or Withdrawal

Step 1
Corporations ending business in New Jersey can dissolve, cancel, or withdraw online. Go to njportal.com/dor/annualreports and select
“Close a Business.” Businesses that choose to complete a paper application must submit all of the following:

e Appropriate dissolution/withdrawal/cancellation form. The corporate structure determines the proper form; and
e Application for Tax Clearance Certificate (Form A-5088-TC); and
e Payment of $120 ($95 dissolution fee and $25 tax clearance certificate application fee); and

e Estimated Summary Tax Return (Form A-5052-TC) with schedules completed on an estimated basis for the current period,
along with the required affidavit and a separate payment for any taxes due (see Estimated Summary Tax Return below).

Corporations filing by paper have the following options for submitting documents and payments:

By mail: New Jersey Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services
Business Liquidations
PO Box 308
Trenton, NJ 08625-0308

Over-the-counter or by courier:
New Jersey Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services
33 West State Street, 5th floor
Trenton, NJ 08608
Attn: Business Liquidations

Estimated Summary Tax Return (Form A-5052-TC). For Schedule | of the Estimated Summary Tax Return, estimate entire net
income from the day following the last accounting period for which the return is required to be filed to the proposed date dissolution,
cancellation, or withdrawal will be completed. Include all profits from the sale or exchange of capital or other assets if required to be
reported for federal income tax purposes. If certain gains or income are not recognized for federal income tax purposes, submit proof of
compliance with federal requirements. Submit copies of federal Forms 966, 1120, and any other required schedule or data. In addition,
provide a copy of corporate minutes authorizing dissolution with liquidation and distribution of assets or a copy of the plan of liquidation
if not included in the corporate minutes.

The Estimated Summary Tax Return must be accompanied by a deposit payment unless the application is submitted with an Assump-
tion of Tax Liability for all taxes due. The Assumption of Tax Liability must be executed by a domestic corporation or a foreign corpora-
tion authorized to do business in New Jersey that meets one or more of the following requirements:

1. A corporation that owns 50% or more of the applicant’s outstanding shares of capital stock; or
2. A corporation that has purchased or is about to purchase all, or substantially all, of the applicant’s assets; or

3. A corporation that has a net worth not less than 10 times the amount of all taxes paid by the applicant corporation during the last
complete year in which it filed tax returns with the State of New Jersey. The assuming corporation must attach to the assumption
a balance sheet as of the end of its last accounting period along with a notarized statement that there has been no subsequent
decrease in the assuming corporation’s net worth.

Note: The assumption of liability by a corporation qualifying under 1 or 2 above must be accompanied by an opinion by an
attorney-at-law of the State of New Jersey, who states they are familiar with the facts of the transaction and that the require-
ments for the exception have been met.

Step 2
The corporation must file returns for all years and/or periods for all its taxes (Corporation Business Tax, Sales and Use Tax, Gross
Income Tax withheld, etc.) for which returns were due but not filed, and pay any amounts due.

Step 3

If all tax obligations have been satisfied, the Division of Taxation issues a Tax Clearance Certificate for the corporation to the Division
of Revenue and Enterprise Services. The effective date of the dissolution is the date the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services
receives the Tax Clearance Certificate.

Step 4

Final returns (Corporation Business Tax, Sales and Use Tax, Gross Income Tax withheld, etc.) must be filed within 30 days of the date
of dissolution or withdrawal. The returns will show actual figures and cover the current accounting and/or reporting periods to the legal
date of dissolution or withdrawal.

FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THE ABOVE WILL RESULT IN FORFEITURE OF ALL FEES.
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https://www.njportal.com/dor/annualreports
https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/revenue/dissforms.shtml
https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/current/cbt/5088tc.pdf
https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/current/cbt/5052tc.pdf
https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/current/cbt/5052tc.pdf

Procedure for Merger or Consolidation
(Required Only When Survivor is a Foreign Nonauthorized Corporation)

When the survivor is a foreign nonauthorized corporation, the merger or consolidation can be completed online at njportal.com/dor/
businessamendments. Businesses that choose to file by paper must complete the following steps:

Step 1

Corporations merging or consolidating must submit the following:

e Application for Tax Clearance Certificate (Form A-5088-TC) for all corporations (including the nonauthorized survivor, merging
nonsurvivors, and merging nonauthorized corporations) involved in the merger; and

e Application fee of $25 for each certificate requested; and

¢ An affidavit, duly signed and sworn to by an officer of the corporation, for each nonauthorized corporation, including the survivor,
stating whether the applying corporation at any time maintained an office, conducted business, employed or owned capital in
New Jersey, or derived income from any source within New Jersey; and

e For foreign corporations that have already merged in their State of domicile, a certified or true copy of the Certificate of Merger
issued by the Secretary of State of the state of domicile; and

e Estimated Summary Tax Return (Form A-5052-TC) with schedules completed on an estimated basis for the current period,
along with the required affidavit and a separate payment for any taxes due (see Estimated Summary Tax Return on page 1) for
each corporation.

Mail documents and payments to:

New Jersey Division of Taxation
Corporate Services Audit Group A
PO Box 269

Trenton, NJ 08695-0269

Step 2
File returns for each corporation for all years and/or periods for all taxes (Corporation Business Tax, Sales and Use Tax, Gross Income
Tax withheld, etc.) for which returns were due but not filed, and pay any amounts due.

Step 3
File Tax Clearance Certificates and Agreement of Merger, together with requisite fees, no later than the expiration date indicated on the
Tax Clearance Certificate in order to complete the merger.

By mail: Hand delivery (in person or by express delivery service):
New Jersey Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services New Jersey Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services
PO Box 308 33 West State Street, 5th floor

Trenton, NJ 08625-0308 Trenton, NJ 08608

For additional information regarding this aspect, contact the New Jersey Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services, Business Liqui-
dations, PO Box 308, Trenton, NJ 08625-0308.

Step 4

Final short-period returns (Corporation Business Tax, Sales and Use Tax, Gross Income Tax withheld, etc.) must be filed for each
corporation involved in the merger within 30 days from the date the Certificate of Merger or Consolidation is filed with the Office of the
Treasurer. The returns will show actual figures and cover the current accounting and/or reporting periods.

Procedure for Reauthorization of a Revoked Certificate of Authority

A revoked Certificate of Authority can be reauthorized online. Go to njportal.com/dor/annualreports and select “Reinstate a Business.”
To apply by paper, submit an Application for Tax Clearance Certificate (Form A-5088-TC) along with the application fee of $25 to:

New Jersey Division of Taxation
Corporate Services Audit Group A
PO Box 269

Trenton, NJ 08695-0269

Once all taxes are satisfied, a Tax Clearance Certificate will be issued. Annual Reports should be updated with the Division of Revenue
and Enterprise Services, PO Box 302, Trenton, NJ 08625-0302.

File the Tax Clearance Certificate and the Application for Certificate of Authority with:

New Jersey Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services
PO Box 302
Trenton, NJ 08625-0302

If the Application for Certificate of Authority is already filed, the Tax Clearance Certificate will be forwarded directly to the Division of
Revenue and Enterprise Services.
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